English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.ClassicWB

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 March 2007, 00:03   #41
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0
4. PrePartition CF: 100MB ClassicWB OS installed, remaining partition in FAT.
CC0 mounted from FDD, SYS handed over to CWB partition on CC0!

whoa... lots of cool ways to do it!

I really love option 4. it safe guards OS files from FAT file name limmitations! but one can plug the CF card into the PC and "whoop'der'is!"
Yep, this is definetly the route to take and I'll try to investigate this next although to my utter amazement the second method (HDF on FAT CF card) is quite speedy (on a couple of first tries it was really, really slow but when I started using a properly prepped HDF file it started working like a charm ).
ppill is offline  
Old 09 March 2007, 01:28   #42
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 9,768
so great work ppll!
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 09 March 2007, 03:36   #43
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,777
Mmh, i've done everything you said. The HDF (RDB) with the CWB is lying on my CF card, the bootdisk contains the needed files. But do i need a mountlist entry for DH0? I get a "Device DH0: not found in file DEVS:Mountlist" error message.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 09 March 2007, 10:42   #44
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd
Mmh, i've done everything you said. The HDF (RDB) with the CWB is lying on my CF card, the bootdisk contains the needed files. But do i need a mountlist entry for DH0? I get a "Device DH0: not found in file DEVS:Mountlist" error message.
Patience Retro I'll try to make a step by step guide as it's not that straightforward as it seems. Maybe it'll be ready tonight but I've got some other things to do like prepare some stuff for my university courses so I might fail to find the time today.

You need a mountlist for DH0 in devs:dosdrivers/ and it contents really depends on how you've prepped the HDF (blocks per track, low and end cylinders etc.).

Last edited by ppill; 09 March 2007 at 21:40.
ppill is offline  
Old 09 March 2007, 16:49   #45
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppill
Patience Retro I'll try to make a step by step guide as it's not that straight forward as it seems. Maybe it'll be ready tonight but I've got some other things to do like prepare some stuff for my university courses so I might fail to find the time today.

You need a mountlist for DH0 in devs:dosdrivers/ and it contents really depends on how you've prepped the HDF (blocks per track, low and end cylinders etc.).
No problem, take all the time you need for this stuff.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 12 March 2007, 17:35   #46
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,202
I've created modified ClassicWB packages which you can use to boot from using a special disk for each one (LITE, FULL, ADVSP). I'm uploading them now(this may take a while) and will post links when done.

Here are the links:
CF_ClassicWB_LITE
CF_ClassicWB_FULL
CF_ClassicWB_ADVSP


Check ClassicWB's site to see which one suits your setup.

All you need to do is:
  • Using WinUAE copy the necessary files from the Workbench 3.x to the HDF of your choice (like you would when installing the normal packs -- simply load the ClassicWB config file, add the HDF file in the Hard Drives tab and click Start)
  • Then copy the HDF file to a FAT fromatted CF card's root directory (this is important because the mountlist for the HDF file points there)
  • Transfer the coresponding ADF to a floppy disk
  • Plug in the CF Adapter with the card
  • Insert the boot floppy and wait

Depending on the setup it shouldn't take more than 40 seconds to load up (on my a1240/40 it takes 30 secs to boot up the ADVSP version and 10 secs to reboot). If it fails to boot switch off the amiga, remove the adapter and plug it back in (this should help). If something else should happen get back to me in this thread .

I haven't had the time to create a step by step guide showing exactly how to create an HDF file plus a corresponding mountlist but you can simply modify one of the images included in the packs without changing its name and use that.

/me is off to the another amiga project

Last edited by ppill; 19 May 2008 at 23:07.
ppill is offline  
Old 12 March 2007, 17:38   #47
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,459
Nice work ppill

Now, if only I had an Amiga with a CF card reader and a CF card
DamienD is offline  
Old 12 March 2007, 19:06   #48
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,777
Awesome, ppill, very awesome. I will try this now.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 12 March 2007, 19:13   #49
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd
Awesome, ppill, very awesome. I will try this now.
Let me know how it goes. I'm just as anxious to see whether someone else can get it to work as you are to try it out
ppill is offline  
Old 12 March 2007, 19:59   #50
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppill
Let me know how it goes. I'm just as anxious to see whether someone else can get it to work as you are to try it out
Works like a charm, i've just tested it with the ADVSP package.


My problem is:

I've a M-Tec turbocard, which can use only 4 MB of fast ram, 8 MB deactivates (never tried it with 8MB so far) the PCMCIA slot.

So i'm loosing app 2/4 MB ram, but it works fine. Good work, ppill. I highly appreciate your hard work.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 12 March 2007, 20:19   #51
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,202
Glad to hear it works
ppill is offline  
Old 12 March 2007, 20:33   #52
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppill
Glad to hear it works
You can reboot the OS without the bootdisk, very cool.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 12 March 2007, 20:37   #53
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,202
That's the whole point. You don't even have to remove the disk to do that cuz the VD0: drive (a RAD style device) has a higher Boot Priority than DF0: (6). Rebooting's a breeze

Mind you it only works with ADVSP and FULL versions. With the LITE one the floppy has to stay in the drive when you want to reboot (the drivers needed to mount everything are already taking up a considerable amount of precious memory so using more would be a waste).
ppill is offline  
Old 12 March 2007, 20:43   #54
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,777
What a nice addition for Bloodwych's CWB, i'm pretty sure he will put your packages on his site. A plug & play OS for every Amiga 1200/4000 and well done so smart.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 12 March 2007, 20:49   #55
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,202
Haven't seen Bloodwych for a while. I wonder what's his take on this?
ppill is offline  
Old 12 March 2007, 20:57   #56
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppill
Haven't seen Bloodwych for a while. I wonder what's his take on this?
Maybe you should write a pm to him. It seems he was very pleased about the project.

http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=304792&postcount=3
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 12 March 2007, 22:26   #57
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,202
He hasn't logged on for almost a week now so I guess he'll post his thoughts here when he comes back.
ppill is offline  
Old 12 March 2007, 22:41   #58
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,459
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppill
He hasn't logged on for almost a week now so I guess he'll post his thoughts here when he comes back.
I can guarantee that he will, Bloodwich is very, very good at giving feedback. Always balanced and well thought out after testing

Unfortunately he doesn't visit as much as he used to
DamienD is offline  
Old 30 March 2007, 22:52   #59
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0
so (imma playing cachup ) we have several solutions with vairous problems and bennefits... lets list them
[...]
4. PrePartition CF: 100MB ClassicWB OS installed, remaining partition in FAT.
CC0 mounted from FDD, SYS handed over to CWB partition on CC0!

whoa... lots of cool ways to do it!

I really love option 4. it safe guards OS files from FAT file name limmitations! but one can plug the CF card into the PC and "whoop'der'is!"
I'm sure more people will like it that way (I'm using this at the moment on my A1200 setup). And here's how you do it.
ppill is offline  
Old 30 March 2007, 23:47   #60
Gordon
Settler
Gordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Serf City
Posts: 1,397
i have classic WB adv on my CF boot straight on.
Gordon is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WHDLoad versions of Workbench Djay project.WHDLoad 3 04 October 2011 04:39
Classic Workbench for A4000T fitzsteve project.ClassicWB 5 28 July 2011 10:33
classic workbench versions cosmicfrog project.ClassicWB 0 29 March 2010 08:03
Exoticons with Classic Workbench 68K Versions Kitty New to Emulation or Amiga scene 8 28 October 2009 20:59
Workbench Versions Stigodump New to Emulation or Amiga scene 4 19 July 2005 20:28

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09311 seconds with 13 queries