English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 June 2009, 23:53   #1
Paul_s
Stuck in the 80s

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 41
Posts: 3,232
Adding a Zorro II port to an A1000 via CPU slot

Sure I've read somewhere this can be done

Fwiw I'm wanting to use an A2000 Zorro spec ram card on my 1000. The 1000 ram cards are rare/bloody expensive when they crop up Plus this gives me more scope for breaking out the soldering iron and melting my skin

The only things I have a feeling that will be hard to get hold of are the actual slots themselves that the 1000/zorro card will require... or I could get hold of some ISA slots if necessary.


Thanks
Paul_s is offline  
Old 15 June 2009, 02:00   #2
salax54
Registered User
salax54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Athens Greece
Posts: 147
Not sure if what you heard of is about a Zorro II or just Zorro, but anyway, the side port of the A1000 is actually a Zorro socket, that requires an adapter to take advantage of it. My first (Oktagon 2008) IDE interface was just a regular A2000 card just hanging from the side of the case.. The adapter as i recall was made by bsc and had female receptacles on both sides. If at all interesting, (may give you some ideas) the January 1998 issue of Amiga Format had a similar article concerning a DIY project to add a Zorro slot to a plain A500.. http://amr.abime.net/issue_262
salax54 is offline  
Old 15 June 2009, 05:03   #3
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 53
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
There is two versions of Zorro hacks available on Aminet.

A1000 have the very same expansion slot of A500, just it is on the right side, instead of left. So any product for the A500 will work on the A1000, only "backwards".
rkauer is offline  
Old 15 June 2009, 05:05   #4
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 9,768
hmmm pity page 20 is missing
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 15 June 2009, 10:44   #5
salax54
Registered User
salax54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Athens Greece
Posts: 147
@Zetr0: i'll try asap to scan the pages related to the project, just can't say exactly when..
salax54 is offline  
Old 15 June 2009, 12:34   #6
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,228
If you can wait a while the creator of the IDE68K (an IDE controller that plugs into the 68K socket) is re-working the design to include RAM.

It will add 8Mbytes of RAM + IDE to A1000 (and A500/+, A2000, CDTV etc)

http://www.students.tut.fi/~leinone3/ide/ide68k.html
alexh is offline  
Old 19 June 2009, 16:06   #7
AB Positive
kachou ON!
AB Positive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Hampshire, US
Posts: 192
I'm down for one instantly when it comes out. Woooow.
AB Positive is offline  
Old 20 June 2009, 04:47   #8
Kristian95
A4000T owner :)
Kristian95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: California, USA
Age: 44
Posts: 498
I wonder whether this would work in a Phoenix board??
Kristian95 is offline  
Old 16 October 2009, 19:06   #9
salax54
Registered User
salax54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Athens Greece
Posts: 147
I have already provided links to the scans i promised, on a newer similar thread: http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=48080
salax54 is offline  
Old 16 October 2009, 23:00   #10
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 53
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kristian95 View Post
I wonder whether this would work in a Phoenix board??
What?

A Zorro II slot for A1000 Phoenix or a IDE68k with RAM? The second is pretty much useless on 030 CPU + IDE controller built-in machine.

The Zorro adaptor is ready for Phoenix if it have the very same 86-pin expansion connector the former A1000 have.
rkauer is offline  
Old 16 October 2009, 23:03   #11
Paul_s
Stuck in the 80s

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 41
Posts: 3,232
Quote:
Originally Posted by salax54 View Post
I have already provided links to the scans i promised, on a newer similar thread: http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=48080
Interesting scan from AF. I may take this up if I can source the zorro/female ISA type slots

I was thinking of all sorts of cool names I could use for a PCB design tonight.. I'm turning into Zetty! Next will be the Visio drawings!
Paul_s is offline  
Old 01 November 2009, 20:03   #12
Kristian95
A4000T owner :)
Kristian95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: California, USA
Age: 44
Posts: 498
any news on whether the IDE + RAM card is being made??
Kristian95 is offline  
Old 01 November 2009, 20:04   #13
Kristian95
A4000T owner :)
Kristian95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: California, USA
Age: 44
Posts: 498
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkauer View Post
What?

A Zorro II slot for A1000 Phoenix or a IDE68k with RAM? The second is pretty much useless on 030 CPU + IDE controller built-in machine.

The Zorro adaptor is ready for Phoenix if it have the very same 86-pin expansion connector the former A1000 have.
I was thinking of the IDE + RAM card...
Kristian95 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: Micronik Zorro II slots 6860 rev 5.44 with video slot enabler stachu100 MarketPlace 3 28 October 2010 09:48
single/seven slot zorro busboard or mediator which do you think lambrettadave support.Hardware 9 12 October 2010 22:59
What sound card (zorro slot) is the best ?? Kristian95 MarketPlace 13 15 September 2007 19:37
Dragon1200 busboard with Coldfire in cpu slot Effy News 6 19 April 2005 23:05
Zorro II Card - Zorro III Slot ? THX1138 support.Hardware 4 03 May 2003 12:03

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07792 seconds with 15 queries