English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 September 2019, 21:50   #41
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by meynaf View Post
You don't need to access a dungeon to save the game. You can try this right out from start (but oddly, the game will ask you to choose a character before as this is in the "camp" option).

It might be something to do with the save dir. Maybe it doesn't work when empty, i'll do more tests.
Using a WB 3.1 .HDF with "68030 / AGA / KS 3.1 / 2MB Chip & 4MB Fast".

"RealSave" directory is exactly the same as in the archive:



Tried deleting everything under "RealSave" but then the game crashes before starting.

If you want to take a look at my self-booting / bare bones .HDF to see if you can work out the issue is then grab it from here: Evil's Doom AGA HDF.rar
DamienD is online now  
Old 23 September 2019, 21:54   #42
meynaf
son of 68k
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon / France
Age: 46
Posts: 3,605
You must have a "DIR" file in sub-dir "SAVE". Do you have it ?
There must also be several single-letter dirs in here.
meynaf is offline  
Old 23 September 2019, 21:59   #43
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by meynaf View Post
You must have a "DIR" file in sub-dir "SAVE". Do you have it ?
There must also be several single-letter dirs in here.
Yes, here's another screenshot



Also as mentioned, the "RealSave" folder contains everything that in the archive.
DamienD is online now  
Old 23 September 2019, 22:01   #44
Muadib
Registered User

Muadib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Posts: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by meynaf View Post
The game doesn't crash ? What was that "HALT3" indicated by winuae then ?

Sorry, the HALT3 is on UAE, yet the 'non-crashing' behaviour I mentioned above is on my real A1200.
Muadib is offline  
Old 23 September 2019, 22:05   #45
meynaf
son of 68k
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon / France
Age: 46
Posts: 3,605
Got it ! HALT3 !
So no, i doubt everything present in the archive is in your game.
At least, not the empty directories. There must be one per save slot. Be sure you use the relevant options when extracting the game somewhere !
meynaf is offline  
Old 23 September 2019, 22:12   #46
meynaf
son of 68k
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon / France
Age: 46
Posts: 3,605
Ok, to be more precise, you have to create single-letter dirs from A to P.
Dir Y is already here and seems to contain original game state. It MUST be here and contain its normal files otherwise the game doesn't start.
In my version there was an empty X dir but it doesn't seem necessary.
meynaf is offline  
Old 23 September 2019, 22:14   #47
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by meynaf View Post
So no, i doubt everything present in the archive is in your game.
At least, not the empty directories. There must be one per save slot. Be sure you use the relevant options when extracting the game somewhere !
Is this a comment directed to me?

It's been quite sometime since I created this .HDF... definitely extracted the contents from an archive; possibly this "Here's v1.9 with Meynaf patch" or one by "dlfrsilver" in WinUAE.

Do you have another archive or is the above yours?

Edit: just seen your new post... Can you please provide "your" archive my friend?
DamienD is online now  
Old 23 September 2019, 22:26   #48
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by meynaf View Post
Ok, to be more precise, you have to create single-letter dirs from A to P.
Ok, created empty "dirs from A to P" fixes this. Thank you

...but I now don't trust the archive that I used originally.

Would be great if you could post your original v1.9 archive somewhere meynaf
DamienD is online now  
Old 23 September 2019, 22:32   #49
Muadib
Registered User

Muadib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Posts: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by meynaf View Post
Ok, to be more precise, you have to create single-letter dirs from A to P.

So you mean that the SAVE dir must have 16 empty directories, aside from Y and the 'dir' file?
Muadib is offline  
Old 23 September 2019, 22:39   #50
Muadib
Registered User

Muadib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Posts: 250
YES! BY CROM, IT WORKED!
Thank you, Meynaf!

Then the archives should be updated or they are omitted by the decompressor somehow...
Muadib is offline  
Old 23 September 2019, 22:44   #51
meynaf
son of 68k
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon / France
Age: 46
Posts: 3,605
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Is this a comment directed to me?
Not in particular. But someone must have made a mistake some day...
(And it can't be me )


Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
It's been quite sometime since I created this .HDF... definitely extracted the contents from an archive; possibly this "Here's v1.9 with Meynaf patch" or one by "dlfrsilver" in WinUAE.

Do you have another archive or is the above yours?
It's certainly not mine. I don't archive Amiga stuff in ZIP format.


Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Edit: just seen your new post... Can you please provide "your" archive my friend?
I don't seem to have an archive anymore. I could remake one i guess, but as you know how to fix the problem it does not seem necessary.


Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Ok, created empty "dirs from A to P" fixes this. Thank you

...but I now don't trust the archive that I used originally.

Would be great if you could post your original v1.9 archive somewhere meynaf
It's just some archiver which removed empty dirs. Nothing to worry about, just redo some archive and verify everything is there.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Muadib View Post
So you mean that the SAVE dir must have 16 empty directories, aside from Y and the 'dir' file?
Yes, exactly.
One empty directory per letter, which gives one directory per save slot.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Muadib View Post
YES! BY CROM, IT WORKED!
Thank you, Meynaf!

Then the archives should be updated or they are omitted by the decompressor somehow...
The decompressor, or the compressor, i don't remember which one must have the option. Perhaps both.
meynaf is offline  
Old 23 September 2019, 22:50   #52
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by meynaf View Post
Not in particular. But someone must have made a mistake some day...
(And it can't be me )

It's certainly not mine. I don't archive Amiga stuff in ZIP format.

It's just some archiver which removed empty dirs. Nothing to worry about, just redo some archive and verify everything is there.
Well, I too would never make .ZIP file archives for Amiga games

...it's was dlfrsilver who made this

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muadib View Post
Then the archives should be updated or they are omitted by the decompressor somehow...
Already on it!!!
DamienD is online now  
Old 24 September 2019, 00:01   #53
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,200
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Ok, my bad :/ I should have used LHA then.

Strange
dlfrsilver is online now  
Old 24 September 2019, 01:03   #54
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by Muadib View Post
Then the archives should be updated or they are omitted by the decompressor somehow...
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Already on it!!!
Sorry for the delay, but if you're going to do a job you might as well do it properly

The following has now been done; using dlfrsilver's "Evilsdoom [Evil doom v1.9 packaged].zip" as a base:
  • Created a new folder named "EvilsDoom" that also has an icon file.
  • Extracted everything from under the "Evilsdoom" folder from the archive "Evilsdoom [Evil doom v1.9 packaged].zip" --> the new folder "EvilsDoom".
  • Created folders "A - P" under the folder "EvilsDoom/RealSave/SAVES".
  • From a shell, changed into the new folder "EvilsDoom" and ran "protect all #? +rwed".
  • Created icons for "EvilsDoomFAQ.txt" and "GameKeys.ReadMe".
  • Organised the location of "EvilsDoom" folder; selected "Show --> Only Icons", arranged the icons in the folder nicely and then finally took a "Snapshot":



  • LHA'd everything up.
Have now deleted the old archive "Evilsdoom [Evil doom v1.9 packaged].zip" and reuploaded the new one; grab from here
DamienD is online now  
Old 24 September 2019, 10:25   #55
hexaae
Registered User
hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 43
Posts: 1,385
There is no WHDLoad for the full game (can't quit back to WB)? Only the Demo ATM?
hexaae is offline  
Old 24 September 2019, 13:13   #56
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,498
Not everything needs to be WHDLoad... the full game works fine on many different OSs and setups.

Ok, so you can't quit to WB. Big deal.

If you really want this as a WHDLoad slave then I guess you'll need to log a request on Mantis or something.
DamienD is online now  
Old 24 September 2019, 16:18   #57
hexaae
Registered User
hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 43
Posts: 1,385
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Not everything needs to be WHDLoad... the full game works fine on many different OSs and setups.

Ok, so you can't quit to WB. Big deal.

If you really want this as a WHDLoad slave then I guess you'll need to log a request on Mantis or something.
Yeah it's annoying having to reset the Amiga for me, and the game on fast systems with gfx cards has also issues initializing screen mode and with too much hi-res laced flickering… A WHDLoad would be definitely better.
I'll open a ticket on WHDLoad Mantis
hexaae is offline  
Old 25 September 2019, 13:36   #58
Muadib
Registered User

Muadib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Posts: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Sorry for the delay, but if you're going to do a job you might as well do it properly

The following has now been done; using dlfrsilver's "Evilsdoom [Evil doom v1.9 packaged].zip" as a base:
  • Created a new folder named "EvilsDoom" that also has an icon file.
  • Extracted everything from under the "Evilsdoom" folder from the archive "Evilsdoom [Evil doom v1.9 packaged].zip" --> the new folder "EvilsDoom".
  • Created folders "A - P" under the folder "EvilsDoom/RealSave/SAVES".
  • From a shell, changed into the new folder "EvilsDoom" and ran "protect all #? +rwed".
  • Created icons for "EvilsDoomFAQ.txt" and "GameKeys.ReadMe".
  • Organised the location of "EvilsDoom" folder; selected "Show --> Only Icons", arranged the icons in the folder nicely and then finally took a "Snapshot":



  • LHA'd everything up.
Have now deleted the old archive "Evilsdoom [Evil doom v1.9 packaged].zip" and reuploaded the new one; grab from here
Great work, thanks Damien!
Muadib is offline  
Old 25 September 2019, 13:47   #59
Solo Kazuki
Registered User
Solo Kazuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 648
There is one more ZIPped version of Evil's Doom here, should be also deleted to not made mess in future.
Solo Kazuki is offline  
Old 25 September 2019, 15:15   #60
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solo Kazuki View Post
There is one more ZIPped version of Evil's Doom here, should be also deleted to not made mess in future.
Thanks Solo Kazuki; will remove from the "EAB File Server" when home tonight
DamienD is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Evil's Doom ErikBauer project.aGTW 71 20 February 2009 17:27
Evil's Doom SE tomcat666 request.Old Rare Games 7 27 October 2007 17:11
Evil Doom djcasey request.Old Rare Games 2 24 June 2007 14:30
Evil's Doom ... MazinKaesar support.Games 2 24 May 2004 02:19
All about Evil's Doom dido support.Games 0 01 August 2002 13:37

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09813 seconds with 16 queries