English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 February 2007, 21:26   #41
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
@alexh:

how? tell me an idea! there is a thread on .org with the symptoms... I have no idea what to do to make the atx work with my setup!

EDIT: now there is a person on the amiga.org thread that had the same prob, apparenthy it is caused by the g-rex, he now uses zorro busboard+cvision with atx without probs....!

@CU_AMiGA:
I think it will work on your setup, there must be some strange power draw when the ppc is active together with the voodoo that draws much power...
if you are still interested I have a new mATX psu (250W - +3,3v@16A, +5v@25A, +12v@13A, -12V@0.8A ) that you can have for 20eur shipped to UK (as much as I got it) All Europe electric stuff are 220-230v, only the plug is different in UK , so there are no electric probs !

Last edited by keropi; 26 February 2007 at 21:44.
keropi is offline  
Old 20 March 2018, 04:13   #42
LOU
 
Posts: n/a
This is old and so awesome. The tread that is. I'm a noob to Amiga. Really, just acquired an A4000 for less than nothing. Bought tons of parts and my PSU went right out. Anyone have one they can sell or direct me to putting one together. Thanks * waves to everyone*

Quote:
Originally Posted by keropi View Post
After spending lots for a PPC A4000 , the old, weary 145W original PSU seemed like a ticking bomb to me, so I decided to use a modern ATX PSU for my 4000...
First thing to do was to order the following from amigakit.com , an ELBOX ATX-to-A4000 power converter and an ATX Power Switch for the converter.
I wanted to use the original power on/off button the A4000 has, and I thought: Why don't I use the original PSU's case? both their switches are screw compatible, so it was just a matter of opening the old PSU, removing the stuff inside, and screw the new ATX switch. Also the MINI-ATX PSU I got had the screws on the same place as the old PSU, so I just screw it in place... I did not use the whole A4000 PSU case, only the parts needed to support a 80x80 fan and the switch... with the atx psu screwed in place it is just a matter of inserting the old case in place, you will understand it better after looking at the attached pics... and all work nice, and very easy to mod! I only need to think how to cover the space under the MINI-ATX PSU (last pic) maybe I add a small fan blowing air inside...
 
Old 23 March 2018, 04:12   #43
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,887
Quote:
Originally Posted by LOU View Post
This is old and so awesome. The tread that is. I'm a noob to Amiga. Really, just acquired an A4000 for less than nothing. Bought tons of parts and my PSU went right out. Anyone have one they can sell or direct me to putting one together. Thanks * waves to everyone*

If you're ok with a soldering iron and other tools you have a couple options.
Listed in order from easiest to most difficult:

1) Buy an ATX->A4000 adapter from Amigakit and mount an SFX Power Supply in the A4000. Since you're in the US, a Corsair SF-450 works fine with my pretty heavily loaded desktop. It's much smaller than the original but you have to rig something up for the power button. Also since it's much smaller you'll have a pretty large gap between the top (or bottom) of the power supply and the top of the case.
2) Mount the SF-450 power supply in the A4000 Power supply container. You can still use the ATX->A4000 adapter if you don't want to solder much you can use the old power supply switch. Some drilling or glueing required and two wires to solder.
3) Mount the SF-450 power supply in the A4000 Power supply container and solder all the wires from the old power supply onto the SFX power supply PCB. More soldering required.
4) Mount any old ATX power supply in the A4000 Power supply container and solder old power supply wires onto the PCB. Same amount of soldering as 3).
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 24 August 2019, 06:37   #44
AC/DC HACKER!
Registered User

AC/DC HACKER!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: SCC-NAC-dC-iNT
Posts: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by keropi View Post
After spending lots for a PPC A4000 , the old, weary 145W original PSU seemed like a ticking bomb to me, so I decided to use a modern ATX PSU for my 4000...
First thing to do was to order the following from amigakit.com , an ELBOX ATX-to-A4000 power converter and an ATX Power Switch for the converter.
I appreciate your info. Though I wondered for a bit, and checked the thread, I wondered what king of MINI-ATX. I'd not heard that before. All PSU's have been callled..that, PSU. But I recently bought the Amiga-Kit connector with the switch, I figured I would locate a "Mini" soon enough in 2019.

I didn't, locally, so I checked my backlog of WinMachines, and (Not being a Bible person I won't use "Low and Behold" junk..) I found one. I have it connected to the Amiga-Kit converter + switch. So far, 2nd day of testing, it's powering my A4000, CSPCC+060 and Picasso 4 as well a DateFlyer very well. Also, CompactFlash and SCS2SD V6..

My A4000 is outside the case, which allows for a lot of air flow. I haven't noticed any problems so far. But bet your booty I'm keeping aware of any. I'm trusting in 2019 that Amiga-Kit and the makers of the hardware got it right.

I like your case idea for the original case, removing the "guts". I'll do that also if this proves, and no doubt here, successful.
AC/DC HACKER! is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 01:10   #45
macce2
Retro maniac

macce2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 943
Anyone there using that old Elbox ATX- to-A4000 power converter ?! I bought one years ago, but forgot the power switch adapter part.
I just bought a new Silverstone Atx power supply, and would like to use that on my A4000D.
Because I want to use the original A4000 power button and prefer the easy way, I guess I' ll need the power switch adapter, too ?!
Is that still available as new ?!
macce2 is offline  
Old 01 September 2019, 02:41   #46
macce2
Retro maniac

macce2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 943
How could one without much experience in electronics, open the original A4000D power supply case safely ?
macce2 is offline  
Old 01 September 2019, 10:59   #47
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,401
First make sure it is not connected to the wall outlet. Then open the screws and admire the insides. It is still not a good idea to poke at the legs of the large capacitors, even though mains power is not connected..
Jope is offline  
Old 01 September 2019, 14:29   #48
macce2
Retro maniac

macce2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 943
Would it be better to use rubber gloves ?
It would be nice to have some kind of picture of the contents...
macce2 is offline  
Old 01 September 2019, 15:52   #49
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,401
You don't need to use rubber gloves. :-)

But what do you want to do? Swap the ATX power supply into the A4000 power supply case?
Jope is offline  
Old 01 September 2019, 17:26   #50
macce2
Retro maniac

macce2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 943
Yes, just that I planned to do. If I dare..
And maybe cut the psu casing a little from the frontside, to make more room for my old scsi cd- r drive & cables.
- Any tips ?

Last edited by macce2; 01 September 2019 at 17:38.
macce2 is offline  
Old 02 September 2019, 08:30   #51
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,401
I recommend looking at SFX power supplies so that the circuit board will be easier to fit inside the A4000 PSU.

An SFX supply can actually be installed directly with a 3d-printed bracket.
https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:2792761

I've been meaning to print this for ages, so actually now put the printer to work here at the office. :-D

Last edited by Jope; 02 September 2019 at 08:45.
Jope is offline  
Old 02 September 2019, 12:48   #52
macce2
Retro maniac

macce2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 943
Cool! I d like to have one of those !? So I won' t have to open my original psu !?

Price ?
macce2 is offline  
Old 02 September 2019, 14:11   #53
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,401
In .fi Jimm's PC store has a crapton of SFX power supplies. Most are under 100e.

Unfortunately I can't print stuff for others with company filament, but perhaps a library near you has a 3d printer you can reserve. With 20% infill this one takes about 100g of filament on our printer/slicer.
Jope is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga A4000 ATX PSU Adapter Cable with Switch amigakit.com MarketPlace 13 15 December 2013 03:22
A4000 PSU Fan mod alexh Hardware pics 15 01 January 2013 15:31
Atx Psu biuro74 Hardware mods 10 24 July 2012 00:53
What ATX PSU to use with Amigas? multivac support.Hardware 2 06 October 2008 23:07
For Sale: A4000 ATX PSU adaptor keropi MarketPlace 0 23 January 2007 12:39

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08207 seconds with 16 queries