English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Off Topic > OT - Technical

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 August 2019, 12:38   #1
XsamX1987
Registered User

XsamX1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Oxfordshire
Posts: 195
IMB ThinkPad 390 type 2626 (HELP)

Hello

So I recently was given this lovely laptop

I would like to upgrade 2 things The HDD and Ram

Does anyone know the max capacity Hdd drive I can install

and if I'm correct it can handle 256mb of ram in 2 128mb modules does that sound correct

The Battery is dead but I can live with that

Any help would be great
XsamX1987 is offline  
Old 21 August 2019, 14:53   #2
nobody
Registered User

nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 42
Posts: 1,308
Recommended windows 98 SE
Max memory 256mb sd ram (2x128 sodimm 144pin)
nobody is offline  
Old 21 August 2019, 19:54   #3
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 57
Posts: 2,372
If it's using the older IDE interface, you can still get the notebook 44-pin interface HDD's, both mechanical and ssd.

I got an SSD model for my older P4 based notebook and it works great.

What you have to watch out for is the thickness or height of the drive, many notebooks would only accept up to a certain thickness to fit properly.
jmmijo is offline  
Old 22 August 2019, 00:25   #4
XsamX1987
Registered User

XsamX1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Oxfordshire
Posts: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by nobody View Post
Recommended windows 98 SE
Max memory 256mb sd ram (2x128 sodimm 144pin)
Great thank you.

Lucky enough i have Windows 98 se stored away some where

and for the ram is this ok https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/SDR-SDRAM...YAAOSwvuhdNHRq

Last edited by XsamX1987; 22 August 2019 at 00:30. Reason: More information
XsamX1987 is offline  
Old 22 August 2019, 00:26   #5
XsamX1987
Registered User

XsamX1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Oxfordshire
Posts: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmmijo View Post
If it's using the older IDE interface, you can still get the notebook 44-pin interface HDD's, both mechanical and ssd.

I got an SSD model for my older P4 based notebook and it works great.

What you have to watch out for is the thickness or height of the drive, many notebooks would only accept up to a certain thickness to fit properly.
That's great news and I will watch out for the thickness, question am I limited on what size HDD I can put in is it only capable of let's say 10GB
XsamX1987 is offline  
Old 22 August 2019, 02:26   #6
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 57
Posts: 2,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by XsamX1987 View Post
That's great news and I will watch out for the thickness, question am I limited on what size HDD I can put in is it only capable of let's say 10GB
Yes limited by the CMOS/BIOS and/or chipset, check the IBM or probably now the Lenovo site for the LEGACY specs on this notebook.

But I can say that the 128GB SSD I purchased was pretty cheap.
jmmijo is offline  
Old 22 August 2019, 05:28   #7
XsamX1987
Registered User

XsamX1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Oxfordshire
Posts: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmmijo View Post
Yes limited by the CMOS/BIOS and/or chipset, check the IBM or probably now the Lenovo site for the LEGACY specs on this notebook.

But I can say that the 128GB SSD I purchased was pretty cheap.
That's great thank you for your help, will update as i progress with it
XsamX1987 is offline  
Old 22 August 2019, 06:18   #8
nobody
Registered User

nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 42
Posts: 1,308
Some games:
Age of Empires II: The Age of Kings
Baldur's Gate
Baldur's Gate II: Shadows of Amn
Diablo II
StarCraft: Broodwar

Also many dos games will run directly inside win98.
nobody is offline  
Old 22 August 2019, 18:26   #9
XsamX1987
Registered User

XsamX1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Oxfordshire
Posts: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by nobody View Post
Some games:
Age of Empires II: The Age of Kings
Baldur's Gate
Baldur's Gate II: Shadows of Amn
Diablo II
StarCraft: Broodwar

Also many dos games will run directly inside win98.
Thats Great i was going to look up some older games to play on it

If you think of any more please Add to your list
XsamX1987 is offline  
Old 23 August 2019, 10:37   #10
nobody
Registered User

nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 42
Posts: 1,308
Colin mcRae 2
Sega rally 1/2
Fallout 2
Arcanum...

Depends what you want to play.
nobody is offline  
Old 23 August 2019, 13:53   #11
nobody
Registered User

nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 42
Posts: 1,308
Broken Sword 2: The Smoking Mirror
Dino crisis
Resident Evil 1
Riven
Silent Hill 1
Tomb raider 1/2
Nox
Icewind dale 1
Jagged alliance 2
Command & conquer red alert 2

Last edited by nobody; 23 August 2019 at 14:01.
nobody is offline  
Old 23 August 2019, 20:01   #12
XsamX1987
Registered User

XsamX1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Oxfordshire
Posts: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by nobody View Post
Broken Sword 2: The Smoking Mirror
Dino crisis
Resident Evil 1
Riven
Silent Hill 1
Tomb raider 1/2
Nox
Icewind dale 1
Jagged alliance 2
Command & conquer red alert 2

Thanks And as asked i would say a mix and that's exactly what your giving
XsamX1987 is offline  
Old 04 September 2019, 14:07   #13
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raking Woods...
Age: 47
Posts: 2,811
I would second jmmijo's opinion, put SSD into that sucker will make it fly and run faster than when was originally purchased.

As for games, it can play many good games, such as..

Earlier Civilization Games
Warcraft 1 -3
Master of Orion (1-3)
Master of Magic (Dos under Win98)
X-Com
Syndicate
Star Wars games (X-Wing, Tie Figher, X-Wing vs. Tie Fighter, Dark Force, Dark Force 2....)
Lots of adventure games... (The Dig, Monkey Island series, etc.)


You might have some issues getting some DOS games to run, but if you have any questions, please PM me.

It takes some time to properly setup Win98SE to run without any issues DOS games, as long as you can find correct drivers for sound card and CD-ROM.

I have bunch of old laptops, but none of them support Win98 / dos drivers.

Last edited by Anubis; 04 September 2019 at 16:56.
Anubis is offline  
Old 09 September 2019, 21:18   #14
jlin_au
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Fadden ACT Australia
Posts: 58
Don't bother trying a modern SSD in this laptop; Win98SE lacks the TRIM support required by SSDs.

I'd go for a 44pin IDE to CF adapter card instead with a small capacity (<32 or <64GB) CF card.

This IBM Thinkpad was originally supplied in 1998 with a 3.2GB or 4.3GB IDE HDD; even the latest available BIOS in this Thinkpad may have issues recognizing a HDD of about 100GB.

My more modern original Thinkpad A21p (from late 2000) was originally supplied with a 32GB IDE 2.5" HDD and even the latest BIOS virsion failed to recognize a 100Gb HDD for boot purposes. Believe that the largest HDD it could boot from was 80GB.
jlin_au is offline  
Old 10 September 2019, 12:42   #15
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 3,379
TRIM support is not required, but not having it will certainly reduce the lifespan of the disk.

Using a laptop for DOS is a shame though. You can't put a GUS in a laptop.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 10 September 2019, 15:18   #16
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raking Woods...
Age: 47
Posts: 2,811
You first have to afford and find GUS.

Speaking of sound, has anyone tried using RaspberryPi to emulate Rolland MT-32 for DOS machine?
Anubis is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
R-type albino Retrogaming General Discussion 24 22 June 2017 14:29
R-Type Jerry project.Maptapper 6 01 July 2013 00:13
R-type capa support.Games 1 14 October 2011 04:00
ram for old thinkpad t22 musojon74 MarketPlace 2 11 September 2008 16:13
R-Type 2 sareks support.Games 2 11 October 2005 13:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08351 seconds with 15 queries