English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 April 2019, 22:33   #1
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,195
WinUAE: Emulation Amithlon

Hi Toni, will there ever be Amithlon emulation on WinUAE?
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 03 April 2019, 00:35   #2
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,308
amithlon is an amiga emulation based on some amiga emulator running on linux.
emulated operating system within amithlon is simply amigaos 3.9, nothing exotic.
so what's the point of emulating an emulator to simply run amigaos at the end?

running emulation within emulation would make sense regarding mac emulation.
in this case one would first emulate amigaos using winuae as amiga emulator.
and then within emulated amiga run fusion/shapeshifter emulator to run macos.

but emulating linux first in order to emulate amigos absolutely makes no sense...
linux is able to run on pc hardware natively, there is no reason for emulating it.

Last edited by honx; 03 April 2019 at 00:43.
honx is offline  
Old 03 April 2019, 00:57   #3
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,195
No honx is not really a real emulator, Amithlon uses the host hardware through special drivers that are not compatible on an Amiga Standard or WinUAE.

I added the Amithlon Drivers on my AFA-OS and it started quietly from VirtualBox Amithlon. My AFA-OS system once modified for Amithlon, unless modified, will no longer boot correctly on WinUAE.

VirtualBox Amithlon AfA-OS

VirtualBox-WinUAE HardFile Creation and Sharing

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 03 April 2019 at 01:48.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 03 April 2019, 05:45   #4
SnkBitten
Amithlon Fanatic

SnkBitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lexington, SC / US
Posts: 646
WinUAE is 68k emulation on x86 hardware. Amithlon is 68k emulation on x86 hardware. Trying to run Amithlon inside WinUAE would be a useless effort.

Amithlon boots a stripped down linux kernel with a stripped down UAE embedded inside. It uses some hacking to interface the PCI bus hardware of the PC to the Amiga OS. This allows direct talking with the I/O (keyboard/mouse/video/audio/etc..) but it is still an emulator. It is great for non-hardware hitting OS friendly Amiga software as you get to throw out all the timing limits of the Amiga's custom chips and get direct I/O from the attached hardware. But it is still using a JIT based UAE for emulating 68k code. You can also have x86 code making Amiga calls and switch back and forth in your programs...though there wasn't a lot of this type written/developed.
SnkBitten is offline  
Old 03 April 2019, 09:52   #5
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,308
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
No honx is not really a real emulator...
as i said before and as snkbitten explained even more accurate, amithlon is an emulator.
anyway, i'm out. for me it makes no sense to participate in this topic any longer...
honx is offline  
Old 03 April 2019, 10:44   #6
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,195
@honx
I don't know how you translated, I meant "kind of" or "species of" emulator.

@SnkBitten
In my opinion the emulation could be important because it would allow to create and configure comfortably an Amithlon system also in perspective of the possible hardware incompatibilities that it meets amithlon on the various PCs.

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 03 April 2019 at 10:59.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 03 April 2019, 11:07   #7
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 53
Posts: 1,746
Quote:
Originally Posted by honx View Post
as i said before and as snkbitten explained even more accurate, amithlon is an emulator.
anyway, i'm out. for me it makes no sense to participate in this topic any longer...
Could you please learn how to use capitals in your sentences. I find it almost like dyslexia when reading it. I struggle to comprehend what you are trying to say.

I'm out now, too!
Methanoid is offline  
Old 03 April 2019, 11:27   #8
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 1,323
Yeah, I agree he needs to get off his London and Paris up his posts a bit - y'know, really get all Berlin on them so that we're more able to Madrid when we need to.
Dunny is online now  
Old 03 April 2019, 11:28   #9
nobody
Registered User

nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 42
Posts: 1,308
Lol, you would need to emulate x86 inside x86 on a 68k emulator (that runs on x86). Crazy? There are other emulators that do this like virtualbox etc. Better ask them to emulate amithlon compatible hardware.
nobody is offline  
Old 03 April 2019, 11:35   #10
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 2,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by nobody View Post
[...] Better ask them to emulate amithlon compatible hardware.
I think this is what AMIGASYSTEM is asking : If a configuration could be implemented in WinUAE which make available the best "environment" for Amithlon.
Like a "Quickstart" config.
malko is offline  
Old 03 April 2019, 11:43   #11
nobody
Registered User

nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 42
Posts: 1,308
You would need specific amithlon compatible hardware emulated, and then after spend a HUGE CPU power slice to emulate them you'll run AmigaOS that already runs in 68k emulated Amiga. Emulators like pcem on powerful hardware have a hard time to emulate an old P1@200

nobody is offline  
Old 03 April 2019, 12:49   #12
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 2,278
I don't know... How much "power" would it require to "virtualize" an old PC config since WinUAE now has PCem core ?
A test made without the best config was showing quite good result on my old PC. Idea is maybe not so bad ?..
After, it all depend on the amount of work needed to implement such a "Quickstart" config.
Maybe @SnkBitten could list the "best hardware" considering the latest Amithlon "kernels" (lazy to check in the guide ) and then Toni could agree or disagree on the feasibility of this idea.
malko is offline  
Old 03 April 2019, 13:09   #13
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,195
Maybe you could also get something more powerful, Amithlon from my tests is faster than WinUAE, acclaimed in the vision of the videos, in the speed open windows but also on some full-bodied games.

Quake II GL on Amithlon VM on PC DualCore Win7 32Bit
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 03 April 2019, 17:52   #14
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 1,323
So you want to run WinUAE as a PC emulator on your PC which is then used to emulate the Amiga?

Did I get that right?
Dunny is online now  
Old 03 April 2019, 18:00   #15
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,308
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
So you want to run WinUAE as a PC emulator on your PC which is then used to emulate the Amiga?

Did I get that right?
yeah, i think that's exactly what he's asking for...
honx is offline  
Old 03 April 2019, 18:04   #16
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,195
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
So you want to run WinUAE as a PC emulator on your PC which is then used to emulate the Amiga?

Did I get that right?
Try copying an Amithlon system to a HardFile and then try booting it from WinUAE.
The Amithlon system starts quietly on WinUAE as a normal OS Amiga Standard Amithlon applications and its devices are ignored.

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 16 April 2019 at 19:58.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 03 April 2019, 18:17   #17
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,268
This makes no sense whatsoever. No.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 03 April 2019, 18:37   #18
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,195
Toni mine was just a simple request for information, I did not want to create controversy, maybe I would have learned something new about Amithlon
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 03 April 2019, 19:57   #19
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,268
It should have been 110% obvious that your question can't make any sense
It would have been similar if you had asked for WinUAE config to run AROS x86 (or any other non-m68k/ppc aros).

Also I have never used and will never use Amithlon. I am not interested.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 03 April 2019, 20:58   #20
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 2,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
[...] Also I have never used and will never use Amithlon. [...]
Do you mean used or tried ? (I know you wrote "used", but not sure about the exact meaning here as in FR we use one for the other on many situations).
If never tried, well, regarding your knowledge of the Amiga's subject, that's surprising... just out of curiosity, you should try it at least once .
(AmigaOS XL is not worth it though - well, my two-penny opinion )
malko is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga (pUAE, WinUAE, AmigaXL/Amithlon) on Linux (or VirtualBox)? Weasel support.OtherUAE 2 19 September 2014 10:00
Amithlon speed in WinUAE? zevs support.WinUAE 4 18 May 2012 18:11
Amithlon, AROS, X-Amiga or Winuae Mangar Amiga scene 6 14 January 2008 20:17
WinUAE & Amithlon bug ?? Sasquatch support.WinUAE 0 20 April 2002 18:48
Amithlon eldiablo10 support.WinUAE 6 20 September 2001 20:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09172 seconds with 15 queries