English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 February 2016, 20:41   #1
Overdoc
Commodore Collector
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Austria
Age: 48
Posts: 835
X-Copy and Cyclone dongle versions - some questions

Hi,

I have some originals of X-Copy including the Cyclone hardware dongle.
Now I have been thinking about keeping only the latest version of them, but I got some questions which hopefully someone here can answer:

1)
My latest version is X-Copy TNG from 1995.
Does this version include at least everything which was present in older versions as well ?

2)
I heard there exist at least 2 different versions of the Cyclone hardware dongle.
Is there any way to find out which is which without opening them ? (most of mine are sealed with some sticker, so opening them might not be seen with much joy in some collector's eyes... )

3)
Is there any info which version came with which dongle version (maybe even revision ?)
Ville Jouppi's X-Copy Shrine lists the Cyclone software version included in each X-Copy release, but I cannot find anything about the Cyclone hardware version...?

Thanks for your help!
Overdoc is offline  
Old 07 February 2016, 22:28   #2
scuzz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: New Forest
Posts: 153
Hi

I have numerous copies of the disk and both of the dongles. See below. The latter one is from a box dating from 1990 and has inside updated disks 11.31, 11.35 and 12.01. Note that 11.35 is not on that Shrine list. The dongle shown in the very early version has no plastic outer casing.

Not sure that helps, but given that the plastic cased dongle worked from the 1990 version up to the 12.01 release, I doubt there was a later dongle. But don't quote me on it.


http://www.commodore-amiga-retro.com...z_jun12_04.jpg

http://www.commodore-amiga-retro.com...r_0410_112.jpg

Disk Utilities Page

http://www.commodore-amiga-retro.com...a_scuzz143.htm

Whole Site

http://www.commodore-amiga-retro.com...ga_inframe.htm

I am scuzz of commodore amiga retro. Check out my latest blog I have a bigger image of the dongle. If anyone needs a copy of the instructions I can load a pdf onto the website.
scuzz is offline  
Old 10 February 2016, 09:45   #3
kneehighspy
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: cerulean / usa
Posts: 75
i have been looking for a sybil or an amia and all my tries have gone unfulfilled, but i was wondering if anyone has either one or perhaps schematics to them?

any help is greatly appreciated!

//kneehighspy
kneehighspy is offline  
Old 16 February 2016, 18:05   #4
Overdoc
Commodore Collector
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Austria
Age: 48
Posts: 835
Thanx Scuzz.
I have now checked all my X-Copy originals, and all of them are later versions, which include the dongle in plastic case.
I have April. '93, September '93, and April '95.

Now I have opened 2 of the 3 dongles cases (one is still shrinkwrapped, so I didn't want to open it), and both of them have an identical pcb from 02/02/92, which includes a GAL chip.

Now, my only question is if there may be certain revisions of this GAL chip ? Or are all of them identical ?
From what I know the GAL chip is there so that you can leave the dongle plugged in all the time, also when not copying with Cyclone. But I have also heard that the reason for the GAL chip is some sort of copy-protection, so it cannot be reproduced that easily ?
Overdoc is offline  
Old 16 February 2016, 19:30   #5
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,551
Probably same as the later versions of Syncro Express, the switch just did dongle on/off .
zipper is offline  
Old 16 February 2016, 21:47   #6
Overdoc
Commodore Collector
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Austria
Age: 48
Posts: 835
These later ones don't have a switch.
I think the GAL automatically detects when Cyclone is run, and switches the dongle on ?
Overdoc is offline  
Old 16 February 2016, 22:01   #7
SkulleateR
Registered User

SkulleateR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 243
Wasn´t these dongles just to make sure both drives use the same spinning speed to make a 1:1 copy ?

Later versions as I remember used a programmable chip to make clones harder to produce ....
SkulleateR is offline  
Old 17 February 2016, 00:22   #8
Overdoc
Commodore Collector
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Austria
Age: 48
Posts: 835
Yes, basically the dongle only routes the read line of the internal drive to the external drive's write line.
The GAL chip is there to automatically swith the dongle off/on, afaik. (normally, it is switched off, so you can just use the external drive like normal without the need to remove the dongle)
Later Cyclone version will automatically switch on the dongle for copying (and then switch it off again for verifying)

However, my interest is if there is more than one revision of the GAL chip which runs on the 02/02/92 pcb version ?!
Overdoc is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
X-Copy / Cyclone Hardware Dongle mr.vince MarketPlace 10 02 July 2019 17:33
Unknown Copy-Dongle [SOLVED: Siegfried-Copy 1.9SE] TheZock support.Hardware 4 26 November 2013 01:23
Xcopy pro & Tools with Cyclone Dongle teamhack22 request.Apps 5 14 September 2010 21:52
X-Copy Dongle Eclipse support.Hardware 13 28 April 2009 00:32
Cyclone / copy issues Bernd support.Hardware 2 07 October 2002 11:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12065 seconds with 15 queries