English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General > Coders. Releases

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 June 2018, 21:28   #241
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 450
Quote:
I use lightmap, not vertex.
If you also use dynamic lights, we have one.

Thing is that the use of altivec could be beneficial on "expensive" effects, like dynamic lights (as the light ball that follow a missile for example) but those are small cases.

On other Q3 engines the use of SSE is on more general functions and that could be interesting to tackle in the future if someone mimic those in altivec.

Then minigl, c functions like memcpy-memset, etc, etc.
Cowcat is offline  
Old 15 July 2018, 23:16   #242
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 450
Test,test,test...
Attached Files
File Type: lha Q3_beta5_wos.lha (669.1 KB, 19 views)
Cowcat is offline  
Old 16 July 2018, 00:04   #243
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,387
Yes, it works again! Great!

Now fix Ifusion to work too.

After testing a bit... GL_Nearest must be the default, GL_Linear does actually smooth some effect like the explosions and blood haze are not blocky any more, walls and floors still seem pretty pixelated. There is a performance decrease but it's only a couple frames and textures on characters are noticeably less blocky.

GL_LINEAR_MIPMAP_LINEAR and GL_NEAREST_MIPMAP_NEAREST I guess are the only other two filters available to Warp3d, if you're really really bored could you try to add them? GL_NEAREST_MIPMAP_NEAREST looks about the same as GL_NEAREST, so that's probably not worthwhile.

I guess Quake3 normally uses GL_Linear_mipmap_nearest is default on PC, I guess the other option is you could just write new Warp3D drivers for us.

Last edited by grelbfarlk; 16 July 2018 at 01:22.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 16 July 2018, 09:07   #244
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 450
Code:
Yes, it works again! Great!
WTF dude: I cannot understand what made this work again without changing a thing discussed in Sonnet thread.

There will be a r2 version due some problems with demo recording, etc.

Some stuff is added like "sys_nostdout" and besides a whole bunch of internal updates, mirror visuals are fixed.

Still working with dll creation: Works with 68k version but warpos have problems. Anyway dll's cannot be used for online playing (it switches to bytecode), but for single playing it is considerably faster in 68k.

Some of those textures settings are supossedly supported by warp3d but don't remember if old minigl has code for it.
Cowcat is offline  
Old 16 July 2018, 10:49   #245
Hedeon
Sonnet Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 781
Isn't CVar_Validate related to the config file? Seeing it is comparing strings and all?
Hedeon is offline  
Old 16 July 2018, 11:12   #246
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 450
Quote:
Isn't CVar_Validate related to the config file?
Could be, but cvar functions are used all over the place and probably Validate is not only used on config file. Maybe some cvar function call has been updated lately or some string check here and there this months: Been doing that as soon a particular fix is done on official ioquake3, spearmint or Quake3e.
Cowcat is offline  
Old 16 July 2018, 13:18   #247
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowcat View Post
Code:
Yes, it works again! Great!
Some of those textures settings are supossedly supported by warp3d but don't remember if old minigl has code for it.

Don't know if this all actually works but I see in MiniGL:

Code:
ULONG tex_GLFilter2W3D(GLenum filter)
{
    switch(filter)
    {
        case GL_NEAREST:                return W3D_NEAREST;
        case GL_LINEAR:                 return W3D_LINEAR;
        case GL_NEAREST_MIPMAP_NEAREST: return W3D_NEAREST_MIP_NEAREST;
        case GL_LINEAR_MIPMAP_NEAREST:  return W3D_LINEAR_MIP_NEAREST;
        case GL_NEAREST_MIPMAP_LINEAR:  return W3D_NEAREST_MIP_LINEAR;
        case GL_LINEAR_MIPMAP_LINEAR:   return W3D_LINEAR_MIP_LINEAR;
    }
     return 0;
Then in Warp3D:
Code:
#define W3D_NEAREST             1       /* no mipmapping, no filtering */
#define W3D_LINEAR              2       /* no mipmapping, bilinear filtering */
#define W3D_NEAREST_MIP_NEAREST 3       /* mipmapping, no filtering */
#define W3D_NEAREST_MIP_LINEAR  4       /* mipmapping, bilinear filtering */
#define W3D_LINEAR_MIP_NEAREST  5       /* filtered mipmapping, no filtering */
#define W3D_LINEAR_MIP_LINEAR   6       /* mipmapping, trilinear filtering */
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 16 July 2018, 14:06   #248
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 450
Checked today this subject:

Both old & newer hyperion minigl call

Code:
W3D_SetFilter(context->w3dContext, tex, minf, magf);
to do the mipmapping & this work is left to the warp3d drivers. Sucess depends on gfx card and the updated W3D. Seems to me we are stuck in year 2001.
Cowcat is offline  
Old 16 July 2018, 15:44   #249
BULI
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Rzeszów
Posts: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowcat View Post
Test,test,test...

Downloaded and will be test soon Thanx
BULI is offline  
Old 17 July 2018, 01:03   #250
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowcat View Post
Checked today this subject:

Both old & newer hyperion minigl call

Code:
W3D_SetFilter(context->w3dContext, tex, minf, magf);
to do the mipmapping & this work is left to the warp3d drivers. Sucess depends on gfx card and the updated W3D. Seems to me we are stuck in year 2001.

I don't know what's going on, I started the game with GL_Linear_mipmap_nearest and the settings in the menu were for Bilinear, started a demo and switched to GL_Linear, after the demo was completed it's now set to Trilinear in the menus and it looks pretty good. Floors are reasonably smoothed and characters, weapons don't look blocky, so that's good enough for me!

GL_LINEAR_MIPMAP_NEAREST I guess is the default based on what's in Wrangler's cfg, this looks like it sets it to GL_Nearest which is the fastest and worst looking setting. At least when I set it like that it looks like GL_Nearest.

So for people who want to test this for themselves, set r_texturemode=GL_LINEAR , you can do this while the game is running, even when in a map. It's a little slower but looks much better, fair tradeoff to me.

Last edited by grelbfarlk; 17 July 2018 at 01:37.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 17 July 2018, 13:56   #251
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 450
Funny is some (old) "trilinear" check is done against Voodoo cards just to make sure never gets enabled. I assume is pretty old stuff done against some ancient window drivers, but I believe non of it gets disabled: The string checkin for gfx cards don't match what minigl gives, so didn't try to update this part of the game.

Still Q3beta5 OK?: Read that problems still remain for some Sonnet user(s).
Cowcat is offline  
Old 17 July 2018, 20:54   #252
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowcat View Post
Funny is some (old) "trilinear" check is done against Voodoo cards just to make sure never gets enabled. I assume is pretty old stuff done against some ancient window drivers, but I believe non of it gets disabled: The string checkin for gfx cards don't match what minigl gives, so didn't try to update this part of the game.

Still Q3beta5 OK?: Read that problems still remain for some Sonnet user(s).

I have had it throw an exception once when I set some video options and screen was messed up, so I quit and that's the point that it threw the exception. Otherwise I have not played it that much other than to run demos, but that's the only one I've seen.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 21 July 2018, 19:35   #253
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,160
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowcat View Post

Still Q3beta5 OK?: Read that problems still remain for some Sonnet user(s).
beta5 workig ok for me. not sure what my crash was but all working fine now, it hasnt happened again.
trixster is offline  
Old 21 July 2018, 21:58   #254
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 450
Quote:
Originally Posted by trixster View Post
beta5 workig ok for me.
Glad to read that.
Cowcat is offline  
Old 22 July 2018, 01:26   #255
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,387
Working ok for me too.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 22 July 2018, 23:11   #256
BULI
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Rzeszów
Posts: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
Working ok for me too.
For me too.

A have exactly the same result in demo four- 25.7FPS (same file q3config.cfg) as before version with JIT.
BULI is offline  
Old 23 July 2018, 09:18   #257
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 450
Quote:
have exactly the same result in demo four
Although some code is updated, not much has changed JIT-wise. Beta5 was released just to see if worked OK with newer Sonnet library.
Cowcat is offline  
Old 25 July 2018, 01:37   #258
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,387
The crash on exit after changing video settings and "blindly" exiting is actually a bit of a bear, when this happens it doesn't save the q3config.cfg. I was going to turn on Lightmap, what's the config file setting for that? Does anyone know offhand?
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 25 July 2018, 09:25   #259
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 450
Quote:
"blindly" exiting is actually a bit of a bear, when this happens it doesn't save the q3config.cfg
I thought it did. Anyways, launch q3 from shell with +set r_vertexlight 0 ...but you know that already.
Cowcat is offline  
Old 25 July 2018, 18:34   #260
BULI
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Rzeszów
Posts: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by trixster View Post
beta5 workig ok for me. not sure what my crash was but all working fine now, it hasnt happened again.

In my config, I had few crash in new Q3 (freeze screen and looping samples), in earlier versions, especially without JIT, I hadn't it, was more stabille.


Maybe I should something change in my Q3config (I have sound on via 8 bit DMA and dynamic light).

Or, I have not enought memory 192 MB in my Sonnet?

Last edited by BULI; 25 July 2018 at 19:50.
BULI is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quake 2 WorkShop Cowcat Coders. General 165 22 September 2018 00:57
Quake, Quake 2 and Heretic 2 don't run after update to Mediator TX Turrican(AEB) support.Games 14 25 August 2008 21:11
Quake Cosmos support.WinUAE 8 11 February 2007 15:54
Quake 2 DDNI request.Apps 2 06 December 2006 00:47

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11641 seconds with 16 queries