English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 January 2008, 22:52   #1
jaesonk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pennsylvania / USA
Posts: 117
A4000 doesn't see IDE drive in HDToolbox?

I'm assembling a basic a4000, starting with OS3.1 installation. I attached an IDE drive but HDToolbox doesn't list anything. I tried two other drives with the same result. Do I need to change something, perhaps a tooltype, in HDToolbox to get it to see an IDE drive?

Thanks,
Jaeson K.
jaesonk is offline  
Old 20 January 2008, 23:00   #2
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
perhaps... in the device tooltype it should read scsi.device
keropi is offline  
Old 20 January 2008, 23:02   #3
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,717
Make sure the A4000 has Kickstart 3.1. If it has 3.0, press Ctrl-A-A and try again.

Check if there is a tooltype reading SCSI_DEVICE_NAME=scsi.device. If it says anything else but scsi.device, either remove it or change it to scsi.device.

Also make sure that the HDD cable is connected in the right direction. If the HDD LED stays on all time, then the cable is connected upside down. And make sure that the jumpers on the HDD are set to master.
thomas is offline  
Old 21 January 2008, 18:16   #4
jaesonk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pennsylvania / USA
Posts: 117
The A4000 has 3.1 ROMs. I checked the tooltypes and it is set to scsi.device. Cable orientation is correct but I'll hunt around to see if I have an 2nd cable to test with. I tried jumpering the drive as Master and as CS.

I am temporarily using a WarpEngine as the accelerator card. Will the interfere with IDE operation? I know the CSPPC has an option to disable the IDE in the MAPROM settings.

Jaeson
jaesonk is offline  
Old 22 January 2008, 22:44   #5
chiark
Needs a life

chiark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 1,629
No, warpengine has built in scsi which uses a separate device (warpengine.device)

Mine was working fine with a warpengine and IDE drive.
chiark is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A590 - New SCSI Drive not appearing in HDToolBox kire_online support.Hardware 13 31 August 2012 10:38
Sandisk CF 4gb as IDE and HDToolbox settings domleg support.Hardware 21 23 February 2009 16:33
CF<>IDE not recognised by HDtoolbox Smiley support.Hardware 2 26 May 2006 07:27
A4000 IDE Compatiable DVD RW Drive Slayer MarketPlace 10 03 November 2005 13:01

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07026 seconds with 15 queries