English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.WHDLoad

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 June 2007, 16:08   #1
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,034
Big grin New feature implementation: screen shot capture

Would it be possible?

The function would be activated by pressing a key, configurable globally/individually, just like the quitkey.
File format would be IFF (uncompressed), so no lossy picture and/or long delay times would be present.



Might be *very* useful for all the gaming compo's, here on EAB, on LA, and maybe in a few other cases, too.

Please?!
Shoonay is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 24 June 2007, 16:23   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,785
Technically impossible without emulating display hardware..
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 24 June 2007, 16:24   #3
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,034
Shoonay is offline  
Old 24 June 2007, 18:05   #4
mrbob2
Registered User

mrbob2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: sheffield
Posts: 329
erm cant use just use a windows screen capture tool?, such as hypersnap OR if you want to capture it within WINUAE i think the best bet is to use the action replay MKIII rom? As that had a screen capture tool built in which of course saved in IFF format? hope ive helped
mrbob2 is offline  
Old 24 June 2007, 18:08   #5
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,729
or printscreen key+irfan view?
s2325 is offline  
Old 24 June 2007, 18:13   #6
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,034
Nope, I'm talking real A1200 here, without such tools as ActionReplay...
Shoonay is offline  
Old 24 June 2007, 18:18   #7
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,729
sorry then
s2325 is offline  
Old 24 June 2007, 18:21   #8
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,034


OK. I forgive you...
Shoonay is offline  
Old 24 June 2007, 18:48   #9
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shoonay
Would it be possible?

The function would be activated by pressing a key, configurable globally/individually, just like the quitkey.
File format would be IFF (uncompressed), so no lossy picture and/or long delay times would be present.
Does anyone read the WHDLoad docs these days? Something similar has been available for quite a while:

http://www.whdload.de/docs/en/sp.html (Save Picture tooltype)

http://www.whdload.de/docs/en/opt.html (resume games where you left off after ripping a screen from the coredump)

It's not as user-friendly as perhaps one would like, but I think it's probably as good as it's going to get due to the technical limitations that Toni speaks of. It won't rip every gfx screen, but then again an Action Replay can't either.

Last edited by DrBong; 24 June 2007 at 19:06.
DrBong is offline  
Old 24 June 2007, 18:52   #10
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrBong
Does anyone read the WHDLoad docs these days?
Not me surely
Only did this a few times at the very start of my journey with WHDLoad

Thanks for that DrBong, but it looks too tricky for me.
I'll just forget about screenshots under WHDLoad, and pray that only games with hiscores savable will be chosen.
Shoonay is offline  
Old 24 June 2007, 19:05   #11
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,210
@Shoonay
Give it a try.....it's not as difficult as it reads. I use it occasionally to rip AGA screenshots for HOL as it's the easiest way on real hardware with games that don't multitask (and coz I don't emulate). For OCS/ECS games, I use an Action Replay cart as it's more convenient.

If only someone would make an Action Replay cart/card for AGA machines with the bugs removed and enhanced features like they did for the C64 with the Retro Replay cart. Are you reading Cyberpunx and Jens? Wanna do a proper A1200 Action Replay cart?
DrBong is offline  
Old 24 June 2007, 19:12   #12
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrBong
Wanna do a proper A1200 Action Replay cart?
You mean by me very own retarded hands...?

Nah, thanks... the hardware pieces would cost a fortune probably here in my place, and my soldering was never good with things the size of an ant's finger

Last edited by Shoonay; 24 June 2007 at 19:23.
Shoonay is offline  
Old 24 June 2007, 19:19   #13
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,210
@Shoonay
I was (wishfully) asking the makers of the Retro Replay (Cyberpunx, Jens Schoenfeld) if they could make one However, I'm sure there are people here and in the wider Ami community who could do it. Cyberpunx are mostly C64 sceners and they managed it with the Retro Replay. They were going to produce it themselves at cost before Jens offered to manufacture it more cheaply in volume and ease the financial burden for them and potential buyers.
DrBong is offline  
Old 24 June 2007, 19:33   #14
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrBong
... on real hardware with games that don't multitask (and coz I don't emulate). For OCS/ECS games, I use an Action Replay cart as it's more convenient.
that's great
how would you like to join the anti-emu_whores amiga movement?
Amigaz is a founding member too!
keropi is offline  
Old 24 June 2007, 19:49   #15
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by keropi
that's great
how would you like to join the anti-emu_whores amiga movement?
Amigaz is a founding member too!
OMG!!! AMIGAZ is el presidento of the anti-emu_whores amiga movement??!! We should plot to overthrow that fascist and take all his Amiga gear for ourselves!!!
DrBong is offline  
Old 24 June 2007, 19:59   #16
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
mouhahahahahah!
keropi is offline  
Old 24 June 2007, 20:00   #17
AMIGAZ
Amiga-Mad
AMIGAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 1,286
Send a message via ICQ to AMIGAZ
You will never catch me! *exit, stage left...GONE!*
AMIGAZ is offline  
Old 24 June 2007, 20:01   #18
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,034
Shoonay is offline  
Old 24 June 2007, 20:04   #19
Graham Humphrey
Global Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 31
Posts: 10,960
You really worry me Shoonay, what with your sudden obsession with cat-related images
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 24 June 2007, 20:08   #20
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,034
It's caturday :]
Shoonay is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
e-uae screen capture key? r0ber7 support.OtherUAE 2 30 April 2011 14:36
1084s RGB screen zooming shot Anemos Hardware pics 3 30 October 2009 19:22
Conversion screen shot Galaxy HOL suggestions and feedback 1 29 August 2004 19:19
Feature implementation: Internal recording/playback Echo support.WinUAE 3 22 March 2003 21:21
Screen capture Mangar support.WinUAE 4 25 May 2001 20:27

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.39301 seconds with 12 queries