English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 March 2008, 13:07   #1
blade002
Zone Friend
blade002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 43
Posts: 2,443
Holy Shit !!

Wow!!.. I don't believe it! Where do i start? Ok i bought a Scan Doubler for my A1200 something like 2 years ago and only really started using it full on until now. Anyway, throughout that time, Interlace modes were all zig zaggy and extremely fuzzy, so the text on screen and icon clarity was barely recognizable. But at the back of the SD was a little knob i could turn to tune the SD in. Well way back then i tried to play around with it and it NEVER did anything!..

But TODAY !!!!.. I thought i would turn the little sucker over and over and over again, resulting in at least 50 rotations in either direction ( clockwise & anti-clockwise ) until the screen went black!... so when that happened, i thought "oh shit!, have i screwed it?", but i thought to myself... oh well, i will just keep turning it, and after about 4 or 5 more rotations i now have!!

A FLICKER FREE WORKBENCH RUNNING ON MY DIAMOND VIEW 17 INCH CRT AND ITS AS CLEAR AS DAY !!!.. Here are some lovely pictures





blade002 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 28 March 2008, 13:36   #2
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,235
Grab your self some Caig Labs "ProGold" man, treat the pot with it and you'll be set!

In fact, CaiLube would do the trick too...Caig used to send free sample tubes upon request from the website!

If they don't anymore, let me know

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 28 March 2008, 13:40   #3
T_hairy_bootson
Workbitch 1.3

T_hairy_bootson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 2,027
Let me be the first to say.....


I TOLD YOU SO!!!!!!!
T_hairy_bootson is offline  
Old 28 March 2008, 13:46   #4
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,034
Great stuff, aint it?
Now go check some hires games!

The mouse cursor look anorectic...
Shoonay is offline  
Old 28 March 2008, 13:46   #5
blade002
Zone Friend
blade002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 43
Posts: 2,443
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fingerlickin_B View Post
Grab your self some Caig Labs "ProGold" man, treat the pot with it and you'll be set!

In fact, CaiLube would do the trick too...Caig used to send free sample tubes upon request from the website!

If they don't anymore, let me know

PZ.
Yeah those serial ports are going to get a serious workout !!!...
blade002 is offline  
Old 28 March 2008, 13:48   #6
blade002
Zone Friend
blade002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 43
Posts: 2,443
Quote:
Originally Posted by T_hairy_bootson View Post
Let me be the first to say.....


I TOLD YOU SO!!!!!!!
Well i knew it was there to begin with and had already given it a good 20 turns in either direction when i first got it but i gave up and thought it was just a novelty piece to sucker someone, but when i really gave a good 5 minutes of constant twisting getting RSI from it all, i almost gave up again .. until !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
blade002 is offline  
Old 28 March 2008, 13:49   #7
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
Well Done Blade
TheCorfiot is offline  
Old 28 March 2008, 13:56   #8
blade002
Zone Friend
blade002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 43
Posts: 2,443
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5h00n4y View Post
Great stuff, aint it?
Now go check some hires games!

The mouse cursor look anorectic...
Yeah don't worry i already have! and that anorexic pointer is beauty to behold

Actually the pictures i took look nowhere near as clear as it is in person!
blade002 is offline  
Old 28 March 2008, 13:57   #9
blade002
Zone Friend
blade002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 43
Posts: 2,443
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCorfiot View Post
Well Done Blade
Cheers
blade002 is offline  
Old 28 March 2008, 14:07   #10
Galaxy
Registered User
Galaxy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 39
Posts: 1,418
I had a multisync 3D, but now all it gives me is a black screen when I power up, so it's back to the 1084S

Those Mitsubishi monitors are nice. I have one sitting in the spare room...
Galaxy is offline  
Old 28 March 2008, 15:22   #11
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,895
Who here reckons you broke the variable resistor and that is what fixed it?
alexh is offline  
Old 28 March 2008, 15:44   #12
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Who here reckons you broke the variable resistor and that is what fixed it?
Yep, either chock full of dust, worn, or oxidised...hence my first reply as the possibility of wear being the cause in such a seldom-used pot is very unlikely

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 28 March 2008, 16:40   #13
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,451
This reminds me of a diary by Martin Walker from 1986 or so
Photon is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Did shit = got banned from whdownload wlcina Retrogaming General Discussion 4 30 December 2009 14:34

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.18802 seconds with 14 queries