English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 March 2008, 18:02   #1
klx300r
Registered User
klx300r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 47
Posts: 701
Question which power supply is better?

I have two A500 power supplies and was wondering if the older much heavier model is better or worse than the newer much lighter model :?: i.e which one do you think has better parts or dissipates heat better/ is generally better built etc....
klx300r is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 27 March 2008, 18:11   #2
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
Switch mode supplies, ie the lighter one can be more efficient.

It's a case of power requirements..

I've recently switched to the lighter type because if you check out the Current outputs (underneath the PSU)
The new is rated at 4.5Amps for 5V against the older one at 3 Amps.

Which suits my upgraded A1200 much better.

The older type probably gets warmer too due to the transformer.
But at the end of the day if it works!
TheCorfiot is offline  
Old 27 March 2008, 18:24   #3
klx300r
Registered User
klx300r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 47
Posts: 701
hey great points The Corfiot

was asking cause I now use the lighter one for my A1200 with my much adored Blizzard 030@50 & @ 2 GB CF
klx300r is offline  
Old 27 March 2008, 18:49   #4
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 42
Posts: 9,769
@klx300r

wow, you get around more than me , strange... i am thinking of lemon pie.... wierd... OH yes...

the CF card will draw a LOT LESS POWER than the original HD's so you have saved some there!
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 27 March 2008, 20:01   #5
klx300r
Registered User
klx300r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 47
Posts: 701
@ Zetr0

hehe some days more than others
klx300r is offline  
Old 27 March 2008, 20:36   #6
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,315
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
The heavier psu will usually be able to provide more current.

But why ask us? Use your eyes and eyeball the type plates on the bottom of the power supplies. They clearly tell you how many amps each power rail can provide. Take the one which does more.
Jope is offline  
Old 27 March 2008, 20:54   #7
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
The heavier psu will usually be able to provide more current.

But why ask us? Use your eyes and eyeball the type plates on the bottom of the power supplies. They clearly tell you how many amps each power rail can provide. Take the one which does more.

Jope believe it or not the lighter type does 4.5A @ 5V, the Heavier old type 3A @5V.
But as you quite rightly say Read the underneath Spec on the PSU
TheCorfiot is offline  
Old 27 March 2008, 23:14   #8
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,315
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
You started off in the wrong track there by assuming that there are only two kinds of A500 PSU.

Heavy psu (this one came with my first A500 that was smuggled from the UK, came without a power plug as your appliances often tend to):
Made 4-89
+5V 4.3A
+12V 1.0A
-12V 0.1A
PN: 312503-02
Singapore

Another PSU, this one doesn't have it's innards left so I can't tell whether it's heavy or light (moulded shuko plug, bought in Finland):
12-87
+5V 2.5A
+12V 1.0A
-12V 0.1A
PN: 312503-03
Singapore

And I found another heavy one, same PN as before but this has the power switch in the corner instead of in the middle. (also moulded shuko/Finland)
21.Feb.1991
+5V 2.5A
+12V 1.0A
-12V 0.1A
PN: 312503-03
W.Germany

I used to have more, but I've given them away with many A500s.

There are at least 4-5 different 220V A500 PSUs, so come on everyone, read out those specs from your PSUs and mention whether they're heavy or light.
Jope is offline  
Old 28 March 2008, 00:05   #9
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
Jope...

You learn something everyday........

Cheers
TheCorfiot is offline  
Old 28 March 2008, 00:30   #10
ganralf
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 97
I was suprised by the low ratings of the last two PSUs you mention, grabbed the A500's PSU and noticed that I have the same made in Singapore type except that it's made in 1-88.
The A1200's PSU (actually A600) seems to be heavier, here its data:
+5V 3.0A
+12V 0.5A
-12V 0.1A
PN: 365212-03

So much for the idea of the A500's PSU as a perfect replacement when the A1200's will not suffice anymore.

BTW the A1200's PSU has enough power to drive my A1200 with an Apollo 1230@40Mhz+FPU, 32 MB Fast RAM, internal SD/FF, 6GB 2,5" HD and sometimes an external FD with no problems at all
ganralf is offline  
Old 28 March 2008, 02:00   #11
Stedy
Registered User

Stedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 40
Posts: 578
Hi,

My list is here:
http://www.ianstedman.co.uk/Amiga/am...Supply_ratings

The lighter, switchmode ones are best and should be more efficient than the transformer based ones. Then again power factor correction (PFC) may not have been around back then. I'll have to get out the Watt/power factor meter!

Ian
Stedy is offline  
Old 28 March 2008, 02:57   #12
Chain
A-Collector, repairments

Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 43
Posts: 1,506
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
PSU table:
http://chain.3dgrafika.cz/joomla/ind...geda&Itemid=89

data collected from our board members

Last edited by Chain; 28 March 2008 at 03:37. Reason: made a proper table
Chain is offline  
Old 28 March 2008, 03:00   #13
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 42
Posts: 9,769
@Stedy

those power ratings are damn handy!!!

I also like the current draw with the adapter cards (blizzy 030 and apollo 040) comparison... very interesting
Zetr0 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: A500 power supply or A1200 power supply (USA model) CMA Death Adder MarketPlace 7 01 October 2010 16:10
A1200 Power tower case with Power supply Floppy drives and cables. paul773car MarketPlace 0 31 May 2009 16:55
can i use a 1200 power supply to power a 500? boing_1000 support.Hardware 5 16 August 2006 03:34
Power Supply? Mick_AKA support.Hardware 2 19 July 2003 20:59
power supply Amb support.Hardware 2 30 January 2003 02:27

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.30471 seconds with 14 queries