English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 March 2008, 19:17   #21
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 42
Posts: 9,769
@Charlie

cool idea with the PC side pannel and spacing for cooling vents !

now just where have you been poking your fingers ?!.... never mind.... i dont need to know....

*Zetr0 backs away from the convo.
Zetr0 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 09 March 2008, 04:43   #22
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,235
Heat shield? Its an RF shield. As for getting cut fingers I'm sick of that too but its better than getting a shit reception on my TV Unshielded computers could possibly also interfere with my wireless network and mobile phone reception.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 09 March 2008, 14:42   #23
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 49
Posts: 1,792
Ok, should have said RF-shield.
I guess mileage with RF interference varies, wouldn't be included for no reason - having said that all but one of our computers (not inc laptops) + router + server(s) are crammed into not quite the smallest room - never had any issues.
Charlie is offline  
Old 09 March 2008, 15:03   #24
adonay
active amiga 1200 user
adonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Either Haugesund /Norway or Vaxj° Sweden
Posts: 192
Send a message via MSN to adonay
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
Wouldn't it be better to use metal gauze?

like speaker gauze ?, you could simply cut a square / circle and then just mount the gauze on the inside for a neat very PRO finish with a bit of colour matched white spray paint!

easy

if you wanted to really make it happen with an added wow factor, make a heat plate from the CPU use a 5v 60watt TEC (thermal electric conductor) to a fan/sink and then just allow the TEC to pump the heat away

for the heat sink + fan, you could easily mod a laptop cooler or low-profile graphics card cooler, getting it to stay together use some decent thermal adhesive pads from M3,

the whole lot should cost less than ú15 including the TEC, TA Pads, Cooler and wiring and spray paint
TEC on amiga accelerators is a no go i used one on a Apollo 040 the problem is the space between the cpu and PCB is a excellent room for condensation. I did end up using silicone there but hurt the 040 in the end. Also a thermal electric conducter require far to many amps to push away heat and often needs a psu of its own. Its great fun though .
I made a few coca cola box freezers with a 20 sec timer had 2 240watt TECs (Peltier) on top one on bottom. If the can did not explode the soda was damn cold ,,, Everyone should play with tecs they are fun ....

Last edited by adonay; 09 March 2008 at 16:07.
adonay is offline  
Old 27 March 2008, 13:23   #25
CU_AMiGA
Banned
CU_AMiGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Exeter
Age: 32
Posts: 959
hey zet wheres my trapdoor?!?!?
CU_AMiGA is offline  
Old 27 March 2008, 14:22   #26
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 42
Posts: 9,769
sitting on my table.... modded....

i wondering if i should spray it.... you want it sprayed.... hey want me to post pics
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 27 March 2008, 14:40   #27
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 42
Posts: 9,769
i think some pics are in order..

I wanted to spray this white, to protect the metal, but i dont have anything other than primer at the moment.

Also my m8 yorkie brought over a damn Slim line 40mm fan, that would work in this mod..... sigh.... i supose next time..

I have to admit, this is the 1 flaw of the Blizzy Mk4... compare it to the Apollo Mk3 (although not as quick) atleast the cpu is up the right way!

anyway.... pics (see attached)

if you want i can pop it in the post this afternoon
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	cutd001.jpg
Views:	133
Size:	43.7 KB
ID:	16279   Click image for larger version

Name:	cutd002.jpg
Views:	143
Size:	40.1 KB
ID:	16280  
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 27 March 2008, 14:52   #28
blade002
Zone Friend
blade002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 43
Posts: 2,443
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
The 1230 doesn't run very hot. I don't have any additional cooling on mine.
Yeah i have ran my Blizzard 030 card since 1996 through some of the hottest summer days here such as an outside temperature of 40 degrees Celcius and the 030 card just kept cruising along in style, and it had everyday use from 96 till 2001.

Although i will need to put a hole in the back of my A1200 to run one of the new type IDE cables through ( the tubed ones ) for my CD Drive. I might need your advice on that one guys...

I will post a pic of the cable i am talking about tomorrow.

Last edited by blade002; 27 March 2008 at 14:57.
blade002 is offline  
Old 27 March 2008, 16:01   #29
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 42
Posts: 9,769
@Blade,

Have you considered an IDE to SATA converter ?

as far as the amiga is concerned it would only bee seen and used as an IDE device, hoever the SATA port itself is very small and easly manageable to put a port on the out side unobtrusively.

theres also plenty of external sata enclosures to choose from too.. including Optical drives


heres some ideas

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/SATA-S-Serial-...QQcmdZViewItem

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/SATA-to-IDE-co...QQcmdZViewItem

it wouldnt take much to mod the end of this for a male connector

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/SATA-TO-IDE-10...QQcmdZViewItem

some sexy dongels

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Brand-New-160G...QQcmdZViewItem

so this
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/2-INTERNAL-SAT...QQcmdZViewItem
combined with this
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/4FT-external-S...QQcmdZViewItem

makes for a perfect little mod... should that it work of course. *it should* i seriously doubt any speed benefit from the sata however..

but with a 4x ide device you could have 2 external sata ports for say removable hdd and or optical drive

i found this... its an SFF optical dvdrw drive that is sata based
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Dell-Optiplex-...QQcmdZViewItem

a bit pricey compared to its larger brothers but.... tasty in the right (modded) external case like

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/External-USB-S...QQcmdZViewItem (replace the cdrom with a dvdrom )

however for an easier mod here is a nice one of the 5.25 enclosure
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/USB-2-Aluminiu...QQcmdZViewItem

Last edited by Zetr0; 27 March 2008 at 16:28.
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 27 March 2008, 18:12   #30
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 42
Posts: 9,769
hmmm i wonder if you could go from Amiga IDE to SATA, and then from SATA back to IDE !? this would be cool
Zetr0 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Atari Handy / Lynx devkit Akira request.Apps 8 31 July 2008 23:23
FS: Pyramid Handy Scanner with Amiga iface + sw Jope MarketPlace 5 02 September 2007 14:14
This may be handy for some ( BIG PIC ) synchro Amiga scene 27 27 June 2004 23:00

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.16033 seconds with 15 queries