English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 June 2017, 23:08   #1
guy lateur
Registered User

guy lateur's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Belgium
Age: 44
Posts: 216
Getting FluffyBunny "demo" *cough* working...

Sorry, slight necro here, but I'm also not really succeeding in using .adf files without having to use disks. Take this example: ftp://ftp.scene.org/pub/parties/2017...mo_-_amiga.zip

Can I use/run this from harddisk? UnADF says 'invalid root block', so what can I do? TIA!
guy lateur is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 19 June 2017, 00:00   #2
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,254
Quote:
Originally Posted by guy lateur View Post
Sorry, slight necro here, but I'm also not really succeeding in using .adf files without having to use disks. Take this example: ftp://ftp.scene.org/pub/parties/2017...mo_-_amiga.zip

Can I use/run this from harddisk? UnADF says 'invalid root block', so what can I do? TIA!
There's actually an .ADF file in the zip archive you linked too. Unfortunately when trying to boot this though, you get an error:



I played around with the rest of the files and have it working from hard drive. It's not very exciting though, it uses "say" to speak "thankyou fluffy bunny" and then scrolls through these 3 screens continuously:







I would offer to create a working .ADF for you but seriously; this is sooooo shite that I don't think it's worth the time
DamienD is offline  
Old 19 June 2017, 01:00   #3
guy lateur
Registered User

guy lateur's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Belgium
Age: 44
Posts: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
I would offer to create a working .ADF for you but seriously; this is sooooo shite that I don't think it's worth the time
Ok, I understand the content is so shite it may not be worth worrying about, but I'd still like to know how you got from the .adf to something that works on HD -- without needing floppy disks, of course..
guy lateur is online now  
Old 19 June 2017, 01:05   #4
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,254
Quote:
Originally Posted by guy lateur View Post
Ok, I understand the content is so shite it may not be worth worrying about, but I'd still like to know how you got from the .adf to something that works on HD -- without needing floppy disks, of course..
Ok then, see attached

Do the following:

a) Extract the slightly reworked archive (where I removed references to DF0) to new folder on your hard drive.
b) Start Shell / CLI and make sure you expand to the full screen size.
c) Change into the above folder.
d) Type "fluffybunnyscript" to see this in all it's glory.
Attached Files
File Type: lha FluffyBunny_Reworked.lha (18.0 KB, 15 views)

Last edited by DamienD; 19 June 2017 at 01:15.
DamienD is offline  
Old 19 June 2017, 01:25   #5
guy lateur
Registered User

guy lateur's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Belgium
Age: 44
Posts: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Ok then, see attached

Do the following:

a) Extract the slightly reworked archive (where I removed references to DF0) to new folder on your hard drive.
b) Start Shell / CLI and make sure you expand to the full screen size.
c) Change into the above folder.
d) Type "fluffybunnyscript" to see this in all it's glory.
Shite, it works! It doesn't work when I run run this script in the Original unzip, though -- so what did you do? It didn't involve that .adf file at all, did it?
guy lateur is online now  
Old 19 June 2017, 01:39   #6
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,254
Quote:
Originally Posted by guy lateur View Post
Shite, it works! It doesn't work when I run run this script in the Original unzip, though -- so what did you do?
Ok then, here are the steps I undertook:

a) Extracted the archive to a folder on my hard drive.
b) Changed into this folder and looked at the file "Startup-Sequence". It runs "fluffyscript".
c) Took a look at the "fluffyscript" file in a text editor. The original looks like this:



d) As I wanted to try running this from hard drive, removed any reference to DF0: and saved the file.
e) Started a Shell / CLI, changed into the directory where I'd extracted the files and typed "fluffyscript". Got an error saying that "fluffyscript: file is not executable".
f) Could have then typed "execute fluffyscript" but decided to add the "script" protection bit to the file "fluffyscript" so that all you need to type is "fluffyscript".
g) All done.

Quote:
Originally Posted by guy lateur View Post
It didn't involve that .adf file at all, did it?
...no, as mentioned in post #10, the .ADF in the zip archive is corrupt and you get the following when trying to boot it:



Anyway, off to bed now
DamienD is offline  
Old 19 June 2017, 01:44   #7
guy lateur
Registered User

guy lateur's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Belgium
Age: 44
Posts: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Ok then, here are the steps I undertook:
<snip>
Anyway, off to bed now
Thank you very much for elaborating and good night!
guy lateur is online now  
Old 19 June 2017, 02:28   #8
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,254
Here's a disk for you

You can run on an A500 (or up)...

If running on an A500 though, you at least need KS 2+ for "say" to work.

...but best to run on KS 3+ so you get a full CLI window.
Attached Files
File Type: zip FluffyBunny.zip (56.8 KB, 13 views)
DamienD is offline  
Old 19 June 2017, 23:36   #9
guy lateur
Registered User

guy lateur's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Belgium
Age: 44
Posts: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Here's a disk for you

You can run on an A500 (or up)...

If running on an A500 though, you at least need KS 2+ for "say" to work.

...but best to run on KS 3+ so you get a full CLI window.
Fantastic, that was just what I needed right now: a slow loading version of the shitest demo ever made..

I does boot from an actual disk, though, so well done!
guy lateur is online now  
Old 20 June 2017, 00:13   #10
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,254
Quote:
Originally Posted by guy lateur View Post
Fantastic, that was just what I needed right now: a slow loading version of the shitest demo ever made..
ROFL

...you're telling me; I did mention to begin with that it's not worth it...

I then proceeded to waste too much time on this shite (and only because I'm a helpful guy)

I undertook the following:

a) Analysed / corrected the script to run from hard drive.
b) Explained to you exactly the process I went through.
c) Created an.ADF for you.

Who's the fool; me!!!

...I really need to stop being sooooo helpful
DamienD is offline  
Old 20 June 2017, 00:23   #11
guy lateur
Registered User

guy lateur's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Belgium
Age: 44
Posts: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Who's the fool; me!!!

...I really need to stop being sooooo helpful
Yep, the joke's definitely on you, mate! Just stop being so darn helpful -- I mean, how hard can it be?

Seriously though, thanks a lot for your time!
guy lateur is online now  
Old 20 June 2017, 11:41   #12
Sinphaltimus
Registered User

Sinphaltimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cresco, PA, USA
Age: 47
Posts: 668
Now you've give and done it. I read the posts, I viewed the images, now I'm going to have to download the adf.
Sinphaltimus is offline  
Old 20 June 2017, 11:46   #13
guy lateur
Registered User

guy lateur's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Belgium
Age: 44
Posts: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sinphaltimus View Post
Now you've give and done it. I read the posts, I viewed the images, now I'm going to have to download the adf.
Brace yourself for the ultimate rollercoaster of fun!
guy lateur is online now  
Old 20 June 2017, 12:29   #14
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,254
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sinphaltimus View Post
Now you've give and done it. I read the posts, I viewed the images, now I'm going to have to download the adf.
Nooooo!!! Don't do it, you'll be sorely disappointed and scared for life, possibly needing psychiatric help
DamienD is offline  
Old 20 June 2017, 12:35   #15
Sinphaltimus
Registered User

Sinphaltimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cresco, PA, USA
Age: 47
Posts: 668
Why, why? Because. Fluffy Bunny!
[ Show youtube player ]
Sinphaltimus is offline  
Old 20 June 2017, 12:37   #16
Sinphaltimus
Registered User

Sinphaltimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cresco, PA, USA
Age: 47
Posts: 668
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Nooooo!!! Don't do it, you'll be sorely disappointed and scared for life, possibly needing psychiatric help
Too late, now I want to work on this sucker.

I wish I knew what I was doing, I'd add a machine gun sample between screens.
Sinphaltimus is offline  
Old 20 June 2017, 12:39   #17
guy lateur
Registered User

guy lateur's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Belgium
Age: 44
Posts: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sinphaltimus View Post
I wish I knew what I was doing, I'd add a machine gun sample between screens.
Why not just have it say 'pow!'
guy lateur is online now  
Old 20 June 2017, 13:01   #18
Sinphaltimus
Registered User

Sinphaltimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cresco, PA, USA
Age: 47
Posts: 668
Quote:
Originally Posted by guy lateur View Post
Why not just have it say 'pow!'
YES! - But I have to go AFK for the day. I think I will play with this when I get home. Boy, F.B. hijacked this thread totally.
Sinphaltimus is offline  
Old 20 June 2017, 13:09   #19
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,254
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sinphaltimus View Post
Boy, F.B. hijacked this thread totally.
Agreed, new thread created
DamienD is offline  
Old 20 June 2017, 13:14   #20
guy lateur
Registered User

guy lateur's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Belgium
Age: 44
Posts: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Agreed, new thread created


Good luck and keep us posted, Sinphaltimus!
guy lateur is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Demo not working anymore mai support.WinUAE 10 18 May 2014 11:38
t-zero demo not working... Akira support.WinUAE 5 25 June 2008 00:24
demo nameless not working turrican3 support.WinUAE 3 10 November 2007 16:23
Seven Seas demo not working Leo42 support.Demos 3 08 July 2005 13:14
Cough'em up, people! Walker HOL contributions 26 03 September 2003 19:47

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23084 seconds with 15 queries