English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 November 2009, 18:37   #1
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 4,822
Checking custom registers in a game/demo

Is there a way to check custom register values like modulo, screenmode, blitter regs, displayed copper ptr in the built in monitor in WinUAE while I have my demo running? Will try it now. But I mean, can I rely on the values?
Photon is offline  
Old 23 November 2009, 18:44   #2
pmc
gone
pmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: completely gone
Posts: 1,596
I would've thought this stuff would be accurate as you'll be looking at the exact same values that the emulated "hardware" is using in order to display your demo as you see it...

...or is that too simplistic? Toni will soon tell us I suppose.
pmc is offline  
Old 23 November 2009, 18:47   #3
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 4,822
Hm, tried to invoke it... wasn't it on the pgup or pgdn key?? Also, am I blind or where is the manual? Only found some text files about other things in the docs dir, and no docs on the winuae.net site.
Photon is offline  
Old 23 November 2009, 18:52   #4
pmc
gone
pmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: completely gone
Posts: 1,596
It's Shift-F12 dude.
pmc is offline  
Old 23 November 2009, 18:57   #5
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 4,822
Huh? I distinctly remember accidentally getting some Amiga-screen with text and typing "q" or something. I pressed pgup or pgdn. I think it was in AsmOne or some text editor, and I pressed PGxx accidentally instead of "whatever it used" for 1 screen up/dn... a long time ago. It wasn't that screen, that's for sure

Quando Misterioso...

Where's the documentation for THAT monitor?
Photon is offline  
Old 23 November 2009, 19:00   #6
pmc
gone
pmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: completely gone
Posts: 1,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon
wasn't it on the pgup or pgdn key??
Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon
Huh? I distinctly remember accidentally getting some Amiga-screen with text and typing "q" or something. I pressed pgup or pgdn.
Maybe you were using HRTMon accidentally instead? If you select it in the cartridge ROM pull down in WinUAE option you can then use PgUp to invoke it.
pmc is offline  
Old 23 November 2009, 19:00   #7
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 24,024
Page up activates the freezer (if selected) in WinUAE.
TCD is offline  
Old 23 November 2009, 19:02   #8
pmc
gone
pmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: completely gone
Posts: 1,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon
Where's the documentation for THAT monitor?
HRTMon docs are on Aminet I think...

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid
Page up activates the freezer (if selected) in WinUAE.
This time I beat you to it TCD! I knew my time would come! Muhahhahaaaa! \o/
pmc is offline  
Old 23 November 2009, 19:05   #9
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 24,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmc View Post
This time I beat you to it TCD! I knew my time would come! Muhahhahaaaa! \o/
TCD is offline  
Old 23 November 2009, 19:06   #10
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,589
Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon View Post
Where's the documentation for THAT monitor?
Press "HELP" (Page down in UAE) for help.
StingRay is offline  
Old 23 November 2009, 19:08   #11
pmc
gone
pmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: completely gone
Posts: 1,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay
Press "HELP"... ...for help.
Yep, that'd be the key to go for!

Sorry Stinger - couldn't resist!
pmc is offline  
Old 23 November 2009, 19:13   #12
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,589
Hehe, that's how I wanted to write it at first actually But well, since PC's have no HELP key I added that bit of extra info too =)
StingRay is offline  
Old 23 November 2009, 19:17   #13
pmc
gone
pmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: completely gone
Posts: 1,596
LOL.

What's Photon doing reading the manual anyway? Pah! I thought he was a demo coding guru!
pmc is offline  
Old 23 November 2009, 19:24   #14
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 4,822
Coding is done in an assembler. And the AsmOne debugger is excellent for most things. But not checking current custom chip registers.

I never use/used cartridges for coding/debugging in my life, so EXCUSE ME for asking but asking really has nothing to do with being a demo coding guru, which I ofc am.

Hehe...anyway, found documentation here, so the only question is if the values are reliable, and it looks like they are. So. It's all good
Photon is offline  
Old 23 November 2009, 19:28   #15
pmc
gone
pmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: completely gone
Posts: 1,596
LOL.

Cheers for the link to those docs man - (just don't tell anyone I read manuals too... )
pmc is offline  
Old 23 November 2009, 19:50   #16
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 4,822
Reading manuals is actually good for coding correctly!!! (Maybe you were joking again but why should anyone feel ashamed of reading manuals? It's the other way around damnit! ) But you know how it is... the WinUAE debugger was made decades later, and looking up what single letter commands to use to hexdump really doesn't have anything to do with coding.

Oh, wait! Hmm... Maybe all those single letter commands are standardized for all cartridges/debuggers and stuff? I've never used them, so okay maybe it was a stupid question then, argh
Photon is offline  
Old 23 November 2009, 19:54   #17
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,538
type 'h'
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 23 November 2009, 19:56   #18
pmc
gone
pmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: completely gone
Posts: 1,596
@ Photon - Yeah, I was only joking.

I agree incidentally - in many ways reading, and understanding what you've read, is the most important skill in coding - certainly when it comes to learning both assembler and the Amiga hardware. Once you've done that I'd say ingenuity, creativity and imagination and how you apply that in code comes next. But I don't need to tell you that - there's many routines of yours I've seen that I have no clue how you did, for example, your corkscrew sine scroller () and that demo where there's a scroller but written on a little blue ball that's floating around at the top of the screen. ()

It wasn't a stupid question either, all those carts have their own quirks and ways of doing things - I was just yanking your chain.
pmc is offline  
Old 24 November 2009, 15:44   #19
Jonathan Drain
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sector K240
Posts: 338
I use shift-F12 for the WinUAE debugger. Type '?' for menu, hit the F-keys to go through tabs, and type 'g' to start executing again.

What'd be really cool is something that can show a piece of memory in real-time. You could shoot at a target and work out how much damage each shot does, or something.
Jonathan Drain is offline  
Old 24 November 2009, 17:03   #20
Leffmann
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonathan Drain View Post
What'd be really cool is something that can show a piece of memory in real-time. You could shoot at a target and work out how much damage each shot does, or something.
There is such a tool for Frodo, a C-64 emulator. It would be cool to have for WinUAE as well but it's obviously a lot more complicated and nothing I would hold my breath waiting for.

http://icu64.blogspot.com/2009/09/fi...cu64frodo.html
Leffmann is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using FPU registers? oRBIT Coders. General 16 26 April 2010 14:34
TSGui bad sector checking prowler support.Apps 9 15 February 2010 23:12
Checking my Religion Axxy request.Modules 0 04 July 2005 20:22
Checking a 2.5" hd for errors oldpx support.Hardware 12 28 July 2002 09:17

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10088 seconds with 13 queries