English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 June 2019, 14:13   #1
CDTV1991
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wales
Posts: 254
Would I benefit from 3.1.4 ROM?

I have an A1200, with a ACA1230-28 accelerator with 64mb RAM, 8GB card HDD and a 1081 CRT monitor.

I have ClassicWB (Full) running on an 8GB CF card.

I use it mainly for WHDload games, watching demos and generally just fiddling with Workbench, DPaint, Octamed and other bits for nostalgia purposes, no real application work. No interest in network or online stuff on the Amiga.

The machine has 3.0 ROM as standard. The Accelerator can map a ROM file, but I don't use that function.

Would I see any benefit at all by using 3.1.4 ROM based on my uses and the fact that the HDD is already set up and working?
CDTV1991 is offline  
Old 28 June 2019, 14:18   #2
cloverskull
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: California
Posts: 62
If you have things working well, I see no real benefit.
cloverskull is offline  
Old 28 June 2019, 14:35   #3
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 41
Posts: 5,423
Send a message via ICQ to Predseda
Overscan windows is a nice feature.
Predseda is offline  
Old 28 June 2019, 17:13   #4
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,184
Yeah, if you have a system already set up and working, the benefits will be relatively minor I guess. Personally though, some of the small improvements are quite important to me. There are lots of small improvements in Workbench that were carried over from 3.9, such as new keyboard shortcuts, new sorting options, cancel option for lengthy file operations, an ARexx port and so on. And the new Intuition feature for dragging windows out of the screen is nice too.

Of course, if you were to set up another drive from scratch, the built-in >4GB support is a big bonus.
Daedalus is online now  
Old 28 June 2019, 19:23   #5
nogginthenog
Amigan

 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London
Posts: 838
I like the idea of supporting the development of classic Amiga software in 2019. Hopefully this will continue.

As for overscan windows, I think Thor released the improved layers.library on Aminet some years ago.
nogginthenog is offline  
Old 28 June 2019, 19:52   #6
Thomas Richter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 255
Quote:
Originally Posted by nogginthenog View Post
As for overscan windows, I think Thor released the improved layers.library on Aminet some years ago.
While layers V45 is certainly necessary for out-of-screen dragging, it is not sufficient. Intuition also has to use the feature.
Thomas Richter is offline  
Old 28 June 2019, 20:47   #7
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 988
I migrated one of my A1200s from ClassicWB 3.9 to a 3.1.4 ROMed system with this http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?...ight=classicwb and I must say it feels a bit less sluggish than the 3.9 install. But apart from that there is no real reason to switch, or you have to be very curious
spudje is offline  
Old 29 June 2019, 14:15   #8
Mark sealey
Registered User

Mark sealey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 269
I used 3.1 on my A600 furia for a long time....Then upgraded to 3.1.4....there is a speed increase....more software works....i even use Shadowrom now....Could never get it to work with 3.1.

For me 3.1.4 was like a magic wand....well worth it...even more so if you burn a Rom.
Mark sealey is offline  
Old 29 June 2019, 20:02   #9
CDTV1991
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wales
Posts: 254
Thanks for the advice, very helpful.

There's a fair bit I don't fully understand about ROM versions and workbench versions. It seemed to make sense back in the day, when you had a set of workbench disks to match the version of the ROM that the computer came with.

I understand that 3.1.4 is a version of the ROM, which is on chips, but do you need a 3.1.4 version of workbench to make use of any of the updated functionality?

Would a 3.1.4 ROM without a version of workbench just not do anything or would another version of workbench just not work

In my original Amiga days I just had 2.04 on an A500+ then 3.0 on my A1200 and the workbench that was used just matched those versions.
CDTV1991 is offline  
Old 29 June 2019, 21:51   #10
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard

indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 37
Posts: 735
If you buy 3.1.4 you get both, a ROM and the matching OS disks - it's a complete package. Essentially both are part of the operating system, it's just that some components are in ROM rather than loaded from disk (and are thus available from power on).

Historically, the only time that there was disparity was with the release of 3.5 and 3.9. These needed you to have the 3.1 ROM and then they patched in updated system components in memory as the machine booted, stealing some of your RAM but providing updated functionality.
indigolemon is offline  
Old 10 July 2019, 12:20   #11
derSammler
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 927
Quote:
Originally Posted by indigolemon View Post
Historically, the only time that there was disparity was with the release of 3.5 and 3.9.
Actually, there were many more times. Workbench 3.1 worked with 3.0 ROMs, as Kickstart 3.1 was not released yet when Workbench 3.1 came out.

Kickstart 1.4 / V35 with Hedley/A2024 monitor support only existed in the form of newer modules loaded at run-time (like with 3.1.4 if you don't install the 3.1.4 ROM).

And then there was Workbench 2.1, which had no corresponding Kickstart. That being said, all 2.x subversions did not require or often not even had parity between ROM and Workbench. The number of versions in which Kickstart and ROM must match is actually easier to count.
derSammler is offline  
Old 10 July 2019, 16:54   #12
Puggsy
Registered User

Puggsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Toronto
Posts: 144
No benefit.
Puggsy is offline  
Old 10 July 2019, 21:42   #13
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 47
Posts: 1,466
Would I benefit from 3.1.4 ROM?

Just get Kickstart 3.1 ROMs to use with your classic WB. It has more features.
TjLaZer is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any real benefit to use Kickstart 2.0 on A500 (not plus)? nobody support.Hardware 8 31 August 2018 11:12
Games that benefit from an Accelerator Card. keito Amiga scene 36 05 June 2016 10:46
Benefit of 3.9 roms? desantii support.Hardware 38 09 October 2013 08:36
New project for the benefit of all classic computing! TheRogue News 53 29 November 2012 07:04
Benefit's of a Real Amiga vs Emulation Ian Retrogaming General Discussion 41 29 December 2004 22:36

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07843 seconds with 13 queries