English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 August 2019, 08:18   #21
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,209
Quote:
You shouldn't be extracting any of these .LHA archives via Windows as you will definitely run into problems later; due to files / folders that contain non-Windows compliant stuff like "spaces only" or contain hashes / other characters that Windows cannot handle etc.

...not to mention that protection bits are lost.
It should not matter for whdload archives (although sometimes it does).

Since games are burned on WHDLoad xmas CDs for developpers, extra care is done so the files are ISO9660 compliant. That rules out a lot of crap characters.

Most of the time, whdload slaves are usually adapted to run with modified names (Puzznic, and a couple others). I "love" the "a lot of spaces in the end of the name" thing...

Protection bits aren't usually an issue either inside whdload. Having to use Amiga LHA to extract files is a rare exception

Quote:
Only do this extraction process on a real Amiga or inside emulation; hence why they are .LHA archives, and have been created on a real Amiga or via emulation to begin with.
Yes, the other way round is more problematic: lha archiver on windows creates archives with root user (userid 0) and other problematic stuff. When I create a lha archive for Amiga, I always use the amiga side.
jotd is offline  
Old 19 August 2019, 08:47   #22
Solo Kazuki
Registered User
Solo Kazuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 597
Quote:
Originally Posted by leeuwtje View Post
If it does support music, it was a cd32 game that was simply ported from A500 or AGA A1200 in the time. Like CD32 slave 'arabian nights' (You could say the hack in this case was done on the original.) (many of them).
Arabian Nights CD32 have also CD32 joypad support, which is very handful. You can play game with only joypad.

Quote:
Originally Posted by leeuwtje View Post
Some of the whdload slaves have this, some have not. Since there are many games available based on many different versions, it is impossible to find the 2 button modded ones easily.
Really? Did You look on mentioned before list of games supporting two or more buttons? It's nowdays list of almost all games for Amiga supporting this feature.

Quote:
Originally Posted by leeuwtje View Post
What I need to know, is how to use that list and choose the right version among 10 different version of an individual game at the eab server.
Simply look on mentioned list and choose newest available slave version from these.
Solo Kazuki is online now  
Old 19 August 2019, 11:24   #23
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,209
Quote:
It's nowdays list of almost all games for Amiga supporting this feature.
which should be "all good games".
jotd is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Complete Updated WHDLoad Set - How? ProdigalAmigan project.WHDLoad 10 11 July 2019 20:54
Definite CD32 WHDLoad set? HelloBeautiful project.CD32 Conversion 17 17 June 2019 19:49
how to set CD32 pads as inputs from a non-CD32 config jotd support.WinUAE 2 01 November 2017 20:59
Can I set WhdLoad to PAL for good? plankton support.Apps 2 12 November 2009 15:42
WHDLoad Set mrmat2000us support.WinUAE 0 07 June 2003 19:54

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06081 seconds with 15 queries