English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. System

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 February 2019, 00:20   #3081
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,174
I renamed picture_datatype.exe and nothing has changed!

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 10 February 2019 at 09:15.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 10 February 2019, 00:33   #3082
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,529
Yes, your Eastern preview icons still have a bad scaling. Did you make a Coldstart of WinUAE? I'm not talking about the scaling of your picture viewer or its window sizes as you showed me in your video.

Did you set the SCALEQUALITY=BEST or SQ=BEST in the Eastern tooltypes?

Last edited by PeterK; 10 February 2019 at 00:44.
PeterK is offline  
Old 10 February 2019, 01:43   #3083
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,174
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
Yes, your Eastern preview icons still have a bad scaling. Did you make a Coldstart of WinUAE?
No on WinUAE I use the default settings A4000

Quote:
Did you set the SCALEQUALITY=BEST or SQ=BEST in the Eastern tooltypes?
Yes, i had "SQ=BEST", but I also had other parameters that I eliminated, they look perfect now.

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 18 February 2019 at 23:11.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 10 February 2019, 01:48   #3084
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,529
Yes, that looks much better now! (with picture_datatype.exe or without it?)
PeterK is offline  
Old 10 February 2019, 01:51   #3085
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,174
Renamed picture_datatype.exe
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 10 February 2019, 21:22   #3086
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,174
Ok also fixed OS 3.1.4, unfortunately with the KickStart 3.1.4 A1200 you can not emulate an A4000 RTG, now I have configured an A1200 RTG, now it is much faster, even Eastern now works well and is fast with OS 3.1.4 standard that with OS 3.1.4 AfA-OS

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 18 February 2019 at 23:11.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 10 February 2019, 23:15   #3087
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,529
I would never use a Quickstart system in my WinUAE setup. I prefer to use the fastest possible 68020+68882 configuration and I don't know why I should emulate particular hardware except for some tests maybe. Most of my systems are installed directly in PC directories, so I don't need any hardware dependent scsi.device either. And why should I use a 68040/60 CPU with a reduced FPU instruction set and the need for 68040/60.library? RTG is uaegfx, of course.

My 3.1.4 Kickstart is for A500/600/2000 and I never had any problems with lower speed yet, not even with a 68040 CPU, but I still don't have replaced all OS 3.9 files with newer 3.1.4 versions, only a few and just step by step.
PeterK is offline  
Old 11 February 2019, 00:04   #3088
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,174
Peter the QuickStart is just starting, then I add what I need, I use CPU 68040/60 + FPU because in the system I have libraries and applications that require that configuration, AfA-OS without FPU does not work.

I know that on WinUAE there is not much difference between 68020 and 68060, but with the 68060 on an RTG system you can see some improvement.

You use 3.1.4 Kickstart is for A500/600/2000 but you can't use an A1200 RTG configuration, try setting the "ChipSet A1200" and you'll see that the Picasso drivers won't work.

Same thing happens if with Kickstart A1200 OS 3.1.4 RTG that doesn't work with a ChipSet "A4000"

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 11 February 2019 at 00:52.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 11 February 2019, 02:26   #3089
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 6,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
Hello Retrofan
nice to see you again. What has happened to your AKReal? There were no news from you for a long time now.
Yep, when you have to separate from your partner it isn't easy. Let's say that I'm not "here" yet again, but I will be, I hope. I just hope that you can understand me.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 11 February 2019, 03:13   #3090
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,529
@Retrofan
I hope you can find a solution to let AKReal stand on your/its own legs (or feet as we say in Germany). Good luck for your project.

----------------

@AMIGASYSTEM
Ok, there are some rare cases where programs are not compiled for a 68020 CPU like the latest ixemul.library which needs a 060.

AfA just runs fine with a 68881/2 FPU, and that is always much better than a 68040/60 FPU.

I'm too lazy to build a new test system (and don't have 3.1.4 A1200) to check what's going wrong with your A1200 or A4000 configuration and the Picasso monitor drivers, but I'm sure there is a solution to fix that under Kickstart 3.1.4.
PeterK is offline  
Old 11 February 2019, 03:22   #3091
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 6,068
Well, now that you mention this, I was thinking about if it could be possible to make a script in the WBStartup to check for every new version of the Icon library if you've got an internet connection, so the updates would walk with their own feet.

Last edited by Retrofan; 11 February 2019 at 03:31.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 11 February 2019, 03:29   #3092
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,529
In principle a very good idea, but pretty much unrealistic, since I have no plans for further updates yet.
PeterK is offline  
Old 11 February 2019, 03:32   #3093
kolla
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,899
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
Well, now that you mention this, I was thinking about if it would be possible to make a script in the WBStartup to check for every new version of the Icon library if you've got an internet connection, so the updates would walk with their own feet.
I do this already, allthough from a menu entry and not wbstartup.
kolla is offline  
Old 11 February 2019, 03:34   #3094
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 6,068
Please tell how you're doing it, it's very interesting. PeterK will be releasing some more updates as we all know. He is making such a great job for the miggy that he can't finish upgrading it till it is impossible for him. You know that a bit saved is always a success.

Last edited by Retrofan; 11 February 2019 at 03:42.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 11 February 2019, 03:35   #3095
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,529
Scroll down to the last sentence in my Readme ...
PeterK is offline  
Old 11 February 2019, 03:59   #3096
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 6,068
Uuuufff. I know about what you've told, but ... now/so near?. Really?

Then you've got to know that I love what you've done, your hard work on it and all of what you've offered to everyone interested.

Keep the faith, it isn't never ended, you'll keep on working somewhere else, that's my idea. I send you my biggest hug and a kiss . You're actually a legend in the Amiga software and I just couldn't had ported AmiKit to AKReal without your library as you may know. But of course it's every Amiga user that has to be grateful and proud of such an "Amigan" like you've always been.

Keep posting here as long as you can; every post you make will be remembered.

Retrofan is offline  
Old 11 February 2019, 04:16   #3097
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,529
Of course, I will always release fixes for any bugs reported here, but there were ~1500 downloads of build 511 and no complaints about anything going wrong. And I think I can't make speed twice as fast again as in build 506, I have no hope or any ideas on how to repeat that. I'm losing more and more cells of my brain every day by drinking too much red wine, just like now ... not the best condition for brilliant ideas in the future ...
PeterK is offline  
Old 11 February 2019, 04:24   #3098
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 6,068
Do not worry about brain cells. This is totally offtopic but if you read Michael Talbot's book http://users.unitz.ca/napalm/The_Hol...ael_Talbot.pdf
you'll see that the experiments with rats cutting parts of their brains couldn't stop them from finding the cheese in the labyrinth. So the information you've learned keeps stored somewhere else.

BTW you know that you've got my email and we can talk in private about whatever.

Last edited by Retrofan; 11 February 2019 at 04:32.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 11 February 2019, 05:17   #3099
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,174
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
I'm too lazy to build a new test system (and don't have 3.1.4 A1200) to check what's going wrong with your A1200 or A4000 configuration and the Picasso monitor drivers, but I'm sure there is a solution to fix that under Kickstart 3.1.4.
No Kickstart 3.1.4 A1200 with A1200 all right, you can't just use an A4000 configuration.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 12 February 2019, 18:59   #3100
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,529
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
No Kickstart 3.1.4 A1200 with A1200 all right, you can't just use an A4000 configuration.
A similar problem and a comment from Toni:
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=96289

@Retrofan
Poor rats! ... but it's similar with me, I can still find my red wine.

Last edited by PeterK; 12 February 2019 at 19:04.
PeterK is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 members and 1 guests)
bni
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ClassicWB Full and icon.library 46.4 Retroplay project.ClassicWB 8 05 August 2018 13:57
WB library conflict/versions Akira support.Apps 3 22 July 2010 18:47
PNG Icon to Color Icon Converter? Leandro Jardim request.Apps 1 24 May 2010 04:39
What's the latest version of icon.library for OS3.9? NovaCoder support.Apps 3 30 June 2009 15:43
Requesting icon.library v44+... nikvest request.Other 2 16 September 2007 01:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.19027 seconds with 16 queries