English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. System

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 31 January 2019, 21:44   #3041
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,175
No Pietro, always blame the poor AF-OS, look, i added your icon.library to my old system of the good soul of my A4000/060 (No AfA-OS), and voilĂ  the icons have been saved perfectly, in OS4.1 format without any imperfection

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 18 February 2019 at 23:13.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 31 January 2019, 21:52   #3042
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,529
Read my previous post again.

And no, I can see clearly on your screenshot that all images are displayed in the OS 3.5 ColorIcon format. If you don't believe me, take a Hex-Editor and scan the code for an OS4 "ARGB" chunk. You won't find it.
PeterK is offline  
Old 31 January 2019, 21:57   #3043
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,175
Yes I believe you, you're the teacher, the strangeness was OS4.1 well recognizes this icon and allows you to edit it.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 31 January 2019, 22:07   #3044
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,529
Yes, OS4 can also display OS 3.5 ColorIcons, why not. And they may even look much better in the OS4 32 bit icon editors, because they can display the 255 colors as they really are without mapping them to the screens palette like the stupid OS 3.9 IconEdit always does it, even on TrueColor screens.
PeterK is offline  
Old 04 February 2019, 12:42   #3045
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,175
Hi Peter, I noticed that "OutlineIconText" "ShadowIconText" does not work well on OS 3.1.4 (screen RTG), on my old OS 3.9 they work perfectly as shown in my video, only AMiGA users can access the video

http://eab.abime.net/zone/OS-3.9-Sho...ine%20Icon.avi

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 04 February 2019 at 21:48.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 04 February 2019, 18:07   #3046
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,529
That's a nice FPU that you have in your system, with 7 MHz !!

But OutlineIconText needs a faster FPU
... and please use bitmap fonts and not black on black
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	002.png
Views:	71
Size:	28.8 KB
ID:	61912  

Last edited by PeterK; 04 February 2019 at 18:24.
PeterK is offline  
Old 04 February 2019, 18:34   #3047
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,175
I do not think I have set up an A500, on the video and OS 3.9 the configuration is less powerful

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 18 February 2019 at 23:13.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 04 February 2019, 19:50   #3048
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,175
If you change the font and the size, you can see something, but it is not perfect like on OS 3.9, did you use a standard clean 3.1.4 OS?

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 18 February 2019 at 23:13.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 04 February 2019, 22:45   #3049
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,529
Yes, I used a standard and full OS 3.1.4 Installation with BestWB for my test.

Try the same font settings (topaz 8) or show me your font preferences (which font, which size, which colors) on a screenshot as you can see in my posting.

Last edited by PeterK; 04 February 2019 at 23:44.
PeterK is offline  
Old 04 February 2019, 23:15   #3050
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,175
Peter, if I use the text in White, it greatly improves even if the background black shows little. With the black text the view is not of good quality, with the font Topaz no improvement because even on an RTG screen the Topaz is already ugly to behold.

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 18 February 2019 at 23:13.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 04 February 2019, 23:26   #3051
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,529
The shadow effect looks correct, but maybe you have a poor quality screen scaling. I have a bad scaling with D3D, but much better scaling with Direct Draw.

Last edited by PeterK; 05 February 2019 at 01:13.
PeterK is offline  
Old 05 February 2019, 00:42   #3052
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,175
I tried Direct Draw and it does not change anything, then I do not know if there are particular settings to be made. In any case with the same resolution and the same setting on an AfA-OS system the quality is better even on the "black text" even on AFA-OS I do not like.

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 18 February 2019 at 23:13.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 05 February 2019, 01:12   #3053
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,529
ShadowIconText is very simple and may not look good with every font. It just writes the text in the background color shifted 1 pixel down and right before the foreground text is written over it.

OutlineIconText looks better because it shifts the background text to all 8 directions around the foreground text. There are no gaps left.

Anyway, I won't care much about these visual details as long as I can read the icon title. I don't need eye candy like you. Topic done.


Update to icon.libary 46.4.512:

About 10 % less memory consumption and 3-5 % faster loading of OS4 and PNG icons with the TrueColor versions on Hi/TrueColor screens. The invisible dummy images (to avoid color reduction) are using only 1 real bitplane now and no C2P conversion anymore.
PeterK is offline  
Old 07 February 2019, 09:15   #3054
kolla
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,899
Silly randon suggestion - ilbm (anim) brush as icon - use any paint program to create icons.
kolla is offline  
Old 07 February 2019, 18:29   #3055
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,529
We already have the tool AnimatedIcon coming with OS 3.9, which can load animated GIFs or an image sequence (picture strips) and play them. Similar features are included in AWeb or other browsers as transfer anim. Why should I integrate a 30 kB tool that already exists and is never used by anybody? I think that's a toy for kids.

You can import IFF images or brushes (i.e. from DPaintV) into the OS 3.9 IconEdit:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Import_IFF_brushes_to_IconEdit.png
Views:	36
Size:	34.2 KB
ID:	61956  

Last edited by PeterK; 07 February 2019 at 19:42.
PeterK is offline  
Old 07 February 2019, 19:05   #3056
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,175
Peter, these are here, too:


http://eab.abime.net/zone/Test-Anim2.avi


http://eab.abime.net/zone/Test%20PlayerAnim.avi
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 07 February 2019, 19:52   #3057
kolla
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,899
To rectify an obscurity, because amiga icons should have been ilbm brush files since day 1, instead of various weird custom formats. Then making an icon would be as simple as saving brush as .info and if animbrush, two first frames would be used as normal/selected. That's all
kolla is offline  
Old 07 February 2019, 20:38   #3058
Mark sealey
Registered User

Mark sealey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 270
hi all...awesome work so far....question...is it worth me updating to this test version on my 020/33 ECS A600...? (indivision mk2)

Ive been using the older version for quite a few months now with no problems.
Mark sealey is offline  
Old 07 February 2019, 21:00   #3059
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,529
There was probably not that much new in the 68020 version during the last months, most changes were for the TrueColor versions. Maybe I will upload a new version 46.4.513 to Aminet today or tomorrow. As long as you don't have to update a custom ROM I would always recommend to install the latest version. New bugs make more fun.

@kolla
You can also save ILBM brushes as 1 PNG TrueColor image with the extension ".info" with ArtEffect4. Then they are displayed immediately by my library. For the selected image you need to join a 2. PNG file to it. DPaintV or PPaint can't do that (PPaint uses a PNG palette chunk which is not supported by my lib).
PeterK is offline  
Old 07 February 2019, 23:39   #3060
kolla
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,899
You describe so adequately why I came with my suggestion
kolla is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ClassicWB Full and icon.library 46.4 Retroplay project.ClassicWB 8 05 August 2018 13:57
WB library conflict/versions Akira support.Apps 3 22 July 2010 18:47
PNG Icon to Color Icon Converter? Leandro Jardim request.Apps 1 24 May 2010 04:39
What's the latest version of icon.library for OS3.9? NovaCoder support.Apps 3 30 June 2009 15:43
Requesting icon.library v44+... nikvest request.Other 2 16 September 2007 01:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.23041 seconds with 16 queries