English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 November 2014, 00:02   #1
cartler
 
Posts: n/a
OSX Yosemite 10.10: The application" FS-UAE Laucher.app"can't be opened. [SOLVED]

I have not been able to start FS-UAE. I've tried FS-Launcher and FS-Arcade in both stable and developer versions. But it always comes with the message: The application "FS-UAE Laucher.app" can't be opened. And nothing happens after that.

I've monitored my system log and it always comes up with these four lines.

28-11-14 23:51:55,422 com.apple.xpc.launchd[1]: (org.pythonmac.unspecified.FS-UAELauncher.302492[15992]) Could not find and/or execute program specified by service: 13: Permission denied: /Applications/FS-UAE Launcher.app/Contents/MacOS/FS-UAE Launcher
28-11-14 23:51:55,422 Finder[14731]: spawn_via_launchd() failed, errno=111 label=org.pythonmac.unspecified.FS-UAELauncher.302492 path=/Applications/FS-UAE Launcher.app/Contents/MacOS/FS-UAE Launcher flags=1 : LaunchApplicationClient.cp #1136 LaunchApplicationViaLaunchDJobLabel() q=com.apple.root.default-qos
28-11-14 23:51:55,422 com.apple.xpc.launchd[1]: (org.pythonmac.unspecified.FS-UAELauncher.302492[15992]) Service setup event to handle failure and will not launch until it fires.
28-11-14 23:51:55,422 Finder[14731]: spawn_via_launchd() failed, errno=111 label=org.pythonmac.unspecified.FS-UAELauncher.302492 path=/Applications/FS-UAE Launcher.app/Contents/MacOS/FS-UAE Launcher flags=1


It looks like a permission problem. But I'm not sure how to fix this.
Does anybody have an idea how to fix this? Or does anybody at least experience the same problem?
I could noit find any similar thread.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	FSUAE_Yosemite.png
Views:	160
Size:	22.6 KB
ID:	42341  

Last edited by cartler; 29 November 2014 at 21:40. Reason: Added [SOLVED] to title
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 29 November 2014, 01:35   #2
bcripon
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 68
I am able to run the devel version 2.5.20 on Yosemite without a problem. I have not tried the stable version on Yosemite.

Bob C
bcripon is offline  
Old 29 November 2014, 17:08   #3
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 37
Posts: 3,427
It sounds like the executable has the wrong permission, probably due to the "archiver" used to extract the apps (I've heard of this issue before, and then the problem was due to the program being used to unpack the apps.

Please try to delete the apps manually, and extract them again (re-download the .tar.gz if necessary) by using OS X's built-in unextracter.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 29 November 2014, 21:35   #4
cartler
 
Posts: n/a
Solved

Quote:
Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim View Post
It sounds like the executable has the wrong permission, probably due to the "archiver" used to extract the apps (I've heard of this issue before, and then the problem was due to the program being used to unpack the apps.

Please try to delete the apps manually, and extract them again (re-download the .tar.gz if necessary) by using OS X's built-in unextracter.
That was exactly it! I'm able to start FS-UAE up now! I used B1 Archiver to unpack. I've tried many archivers over the years and recently switched to B1 Archiver. Maybe I need to reconsider!

Thanks a million FrodeSolheim
 
Old 01 December 2014, 12:20   #5
dimfil
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Athens Greece
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by cartler View Post
That was exactly it! I'm able to start FS-UAE up now! I used B1 Archiver to unpack. I've tried many archivers over the years and recently switched to B1 Archiver. Maybe I need to reconsider!
Yes indeed...
Check theUnarchiver. I don't thing you will ever look anywhere else for extracting purposes...
dimfil is offline  
Old 01 December 2014, 23:47   #6
cartler
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by dimfil View Post
Yes indeed...
Check theUnarchiver. I don't thing you will ever look anywhere else for extracting purposes...
Well actually I already have TheUnarchiver installed for some years. And I've used many other archivers but still I prefer B1 Free Archiver.
 
Old 02 December 2014, 00:13   #7
cartler
 
Posts: n/a
I've investigated more on what B1 Archiver does with the permissions. And it seems that B1 doesn't set the x attribute on /fs-uae-suite_2.5.20dev+portable_macosx_Archive Utility/FS-UAE Launcher.app/Contents/FS-UAE.app/Contents/MacOS/fs-uae. So I got it to work after a chmod -R 755 * on ./fs-uae-suite_2.5.20dev+portable_macosx_Archive Utility/.
 
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS-UAE on OSX 10.10 Yosemite esc support.FS-UAE 3 27 October 2014 23:47
"Reminder "Lincs Amiga User Group aka "LAG" Meet Sat 5th of January 2013" rockape News 4 30 January 2013 00:06
CD32 Image-Name-Bug: "...(bla)[!].zip" -> "...(bla)[" / "...[test].zip" -> "...[tes" cfTrio support.WinUAE 8 18 December 2012 16:31
Amiga Forever OSX - "A Raising Priority" roberthazelby Amiga scene 4 23 December 2011 13:12
Application similar to C64 "notemakers" Akira request.Apps 14 23 December 2010 07:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06390 seconds with 14 queries