English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.Maptapper

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 June 2013, 15:42   #1
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 41
Posts: 5,800
Lost Vikings - The Challenge

This is a challenge for Amiga crackers and coders!

I'm trying to create maps for The Lost Vikings. However, I'm unable to locate the level map tiles.

Codetapper thinks that the tiles are compressed. Is anyone able to work out how to decompress them?

Last edited by CodyJarrett; 14 June 2013 at 15:50.
CodyJarrett is offline  
Old 14 June 2013, 17:51   #2
Retro1234
Bo Bo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 3,988
You can find them in the WinUae savestate? as a starting point?

Once you view the maps uncompressed you can maybe make a guess as to where the compressed data is stored - one approach.

;Think I read this wrong you mean you cant locate GFX tiles in both Raw and Raw inter in uncompressed winuae savestate then i have no idea

Last edited by Retro1234; 14 June 2013 at 18:34.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 14 June 2013, 19:03   #3
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 41
Posts: 5,800
Yes, I can't find them in the uncompressed savestate and it looks like a more advanced technique is required.
CodyJarrett is offline  
Old 20 June 2013, 04:21   #4
clenched
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Gainesville U.S.A.
Posts: 639
Tiles from four levels to try. It looks like this game can manage over a thousand tiles and that doesn't even show everything on the screen. Stuff like doors, switches, keys, force fields are blit after the main map is drawn. It needs to be established that these work before many more are done.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	LV_STRT.png
Views:	985
Size:	32.7 KB
ID:	35665   Click image for larger version

Name:	LV_LLM0.png
Views:	376
Size:	36.4 KB
ID:	35666   Click image for larger version

Name:	LV_FL0T.png
Views:	382
Size:	27.2 KB
ID:	35667   Click image for larger version

Name:	LV_QCKS.png
Views:	539
Size:	31.6 KB
ID:	35668   Click image for larger version

Name:	LV_JLLY.png
Views:	807
Size:	29.8 KB
ID:	35672  

Click image for larger version

Name:	LV_NFL8.png
Views:	288
Size:	10.1 KB
ID:	35673   Click image for larger version

Name:	LV_WKYY.png
Views:	341
Size:	27.1 KB
ID:	35674   Click image for larger version

Name:	LV_TRAIN.png
Views:	293
Size:	16.4 KB
ID:	35677  

Last edited by clenched; 21 June 2013 at 02:34. Reason: upload even more tiles
clenched is offline  
Old 20 June 2013, 08:40   #5
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 41
Posts: 5,800
Looks good, thanks! I've ripped level 1 using your tiles and Codetapper's Maptapper tool.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Level 1.png
Views:	369
Size:	37.5 KB
ID:	35671  
CodyJarrett is offline  
Old 20 June 2013, 08:56   #6
clenched
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Gainesville U.S.A.
Posts: 639
Fine. I'm skipping levels where I recognize tiles from a previous level. Right now I'm about two thirds down the password list.
clenched is offline  
Old 20 June 2013, 10:07   #7
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 41
Posts: 5,800
Thanks very much. Which method did you use to rip the tilesets?
CodyJarrett is offline  
Old 21 June 2013, 00:02   #8
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 41
Posts: 5,800
The only tileset that is missing is one from the tutorial level at the start. If you could extract these tiles too it'd be great. Thanks!
CodyJarrett is offline  
Old 21 June 2013, 01:22   #9
clenched
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Gainesville U.S.A.
Posts: 639
Quote:
Originally Posted by CodyJarrett View Post
The only tileset that is missing is one from the tutorial level at the start. If you could extract these tiles too it'd be great. Thanks!
I will get started on it.
clenched is offline  
Old 21 June 2013, 22:38   #10
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 41
Posts: 5,800
Excellent, thanks clenched! Here are the maps: http://hol.abime.net/925/gamemap
CodyJarrett is offline  
Old 21 June 2013, 23:07   #11
Asman
68k

Asman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 646
Slightly off topic but about Lost Vikings.

As far as I remember first level has code STRT.
Asman is offline  
Old 21 June 2013, 23:15   #12
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 41
Posts: 5,800
Thanks Asman. I've updated the level comments.
CodyJarrett is offline  
Old 22 June 2013, 02:08   #13
clenched
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Gainesville U.S.A.
Posts: 639
Maptapper must be quite a tool to rip those maps so fast. I was somewhat amazed that with a four level head start ripping tiles (never mind the levels I got to skip), you were already asking for more tiles yesterday. Good job.
clenched is offline  
Old 26 June 2013, 19:34   #14
Joe Maroni
Moderator

Joe Maroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 1,291
Send a message via MSN to Joe Maroni
even if the maps are already finished, i wonder too how you got the tilesets....
Joe Maroni is offline  
Old 27 June 2013, 22:29   #15
Joe Maroni
Moderator

Joe Maroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 1,291
Send a message via MSN to Joe Maroni
after i had half an hour of free time this morning before getting to work i´ve searched my savestate again for the tiles and...yes..i´ve found them...

the game store the tiles as a big one..and then pick out the tiles that it needs for the maps....

download my ini including savestate to have a look at them...

i´ve seen this method used in Lionheart until now...
Attached Files
File Type: zip level1.zip (493.8 KB, 94 views)
Joe Maroni is offline  
Old 27 June 2013, 22:54   #16
Codetapper
2 contact me: email only!

Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Posts: 3,145
If you download Nico's savestate, the latest Maptapper will cause an access violation as there is an incorrect setting saved. The map tab will try and allocate a bitmap about 1 million pixels wide and run out of memory. Make sure you update to the latest version which brings up an alert.

If you are dealing with games like this (with one huge "tile") you need to specify the real actual tile width at the bottom of the Tile Ripper tab. Set it to 16x16 or whatever it should be, otherwise the map tab assumes each tile is 4000 pixels wide or whatever and will run out of memory!
Codetapper is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Music from The Lost Vikings 8bitbubsy request.Modules 6 20 July 2010 15:41
Lost Snowmen, excellent Lost Vikings clone s2325 Retrogaming General Discussion 3 11 November 2008 12:24
The Lost Vikings Asman HOL contributions 1 07 November 2008 13:09
The Lost Vikings longplay laffer Retrogaming General Discussion 2 05 September 2007 12:26
Lost vikings Drake1009 support.Games 25 07 September 2001 00:15

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.36638 seconds with 14 queries