English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 December 2016, 17:37   #661
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 44
Posts: 1,461
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
It would be awesome if this came in a form factor that would also fit an A600, but one could only dream.

Thanks Jens for the update on this very interesting project!
I seem to remember Jens once commented this and the answer was something like: "compatible with A1200 and A500 cases for sure...while the A600 was in "would be nice/possibly but probably not" -category. So.. unlikely but not totally impossible..
Its not just a matter o making a shorter board though, the trapdoor connector on the A600 is 90 degrees "wrong" so I'm not sure how to solve that in a good way. Remember, the board will ship without CPU so you will *need* some kind of expansion card.

Skickat från min LG-H850 via Tapatalk
eXeler0 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 15 December 2016, 19:55   #662
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
Its not just a matter o making a shorter board though, the trapdoor connector on the A600 is 90 degrees "wrong" so I'm not sure how to solve that in a good way.
You make it 90 degrees "right"?
You don't need to use the trapdoor. Who uses the trapdoor? it's cumbersome, especially on the A1200. I usually just open the whole damn thing when installing/removing something from there.
Akira is offline  
Old 15 December 2016, 20:34   #663
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 44
Posts: 1,461
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
You make it 90 degrees "right"?
You don't need to use the trapdoor. Who uses the trapdoor? it's cumbersome, especially on the A1200. I usually just open the whole damn thing when installing/removing something from there.
Well ok, a600 trapdoor would be impossible to use in any case. But even so. There are other differences in dimensions that make it.. should we say... hard.. the width of the A600 lower edge is 7cm vs 10cm on the A1200 (where the expansion slot is on the A1200). The Floppy on the A600 is at 10cm..
Also, there are issues with the lower metal sheet on the A600. You'd need to cut out a wedge at least. And possibly sandpaper down the edge around the small trapdoor. And there's the awkward placement of the A600 joystick/mouse ports.. they are approximately at a location where the right edge of say a Blizzard 1230 would be ;-)

http://www.exretro.com/galleries/com...2021.49.43.jpg

Im still not saying its impossible but it might lead to some unwanted compromises. ;-)
Ideally there would be a separate version for the A600...

Skickat från min LG-H850 via Tapatalk

Last edited by eXeler0; 15 December 2016 at 21:56.
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 15 December 2016, 20:59   #664
Mick
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: England
Posts: 240
Couldn't there be 2 different PCB sizes? A500/A1200 and A600/PC tower?

The I/O ports could just be routed to the PCI expansion slots via ribbon cables in a PC case? ok I'll stop banging on about it now.

Last edited by Mick; 15 December 2016 at 21:17.
Mick is offline  
Old 15 December 2016, 21:29   #665
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 48
Posts: 1,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
Sure you can, there will be a xmas in 2017 too ;-)

Skickat från min LG-H850 via Tapatalk
Maybe he is just wishing that this does not end up in the growing list of projects that turned in to Vapourware. You know, an expected release date of 2217 or something
whiteb is offline  
Old 15 December 2016, 21:56   #666
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 44
Posts: 1,461
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteb View Post
Maybe he is just wishing that this does not end up in the growing list of projects that turned in to Vapourware. You know, an expected release date of 2217 or something
In the end it will depend on us, the potential buyers. The business model for the Reloaded Model is said to be "binding pre-orders" which means that whatever clever design Jens pulls out of his hat it will only happen if enough of us place orders.
That being said, I doubt anyone would wanna promise a specific date, so Ok, maybe Xmas 2017 isnt a certainty either :-)

Skickat från min LG-H850 via Tapatalk
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 06 April 2017, 10:25   #667
tom256
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Poland
Posts: 122
Any news?
tom256 is offline  
Old 06 April 2017, 11:40   #668
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 718
Any news? Prototype should be done now and preorders should start soon. At least that was a original plan??
utri007 is offline  
Old 06 April 2017, 12:51   #669
Locutus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 831
Amiga product announcements not hitting the timelines, come on you know how this works :-)
Locutus is offline  
Old 06 April 2017, 20:12   #670
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 44
Posts: 1,461
I'm pretty sure this is the sort of news you will hear about when it happens as its future depends on a lot of people knowing about it and placing pre-orders.
As for the original timeline, forget it already ;-)
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 08 April 2017, 15:45   #671
Ffin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Stoke on Trent
Age: 46
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by utri007 View Post
Any news? Prototype should be done now and preorders should start soon. At least that was a original plan??
The wiki page has been updated, the Amiga Reloaded will now include 8MB flash memory for kickstart, DVI video output with built-in RTG modes at an estimated price of 350 Euros. The timescale has also changed, the aim is to have a prototype done this year.

If you read this Jens, please include a header for a L7 NMI, and make sure the ethernet add-on actually gets done.
Ffin is offline  
Old 08 April 2017, 20:43   #672
Cylon
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Europe
Posts: 466
The NMI was suggested a long time ago and i'm quite sure it will be implemented, as Jens already had it done on the ACA630.;-)
Also helpful would be a reset-header and a <multifunc>-Kickstart switch/selector.
Cylon is offline  
Old 08 April 2017, 21:30   #673
Signman
Registered User

Signman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Michigan
Posts: 224
Ok, I'll bite. What's a L7 NMI?
Signman is offline  
Old 08 April 2017, 22:19   #674
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 40
Posts: 1,617
Quote:
Originally Posted by Signman View Post
Ok, I'll bite. What's a L7 NMI?
The "Level 7 interrupt" is also known as the NMI, or "Non-Maskable Interrupt". It is the highest priority interrupt, nothing can interfere with it. On the 68K range, there are several interrupt lines, which have a priority. A level 3 interrupt can be interrupted by a level 4 interrupt for example.

Grounding the NMI line with a switch causes the 68K processor to jump to the NMI exception vector. Normally, this would give you a nice GURU alert, but software can patch into the NMI vector and be jumped to when it is triggered, like Hrtmon.

This is a hardware mechanism completely seperate from the OS.
gulliver is offline  
Old 08 April 2017, 22:19   #675
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 718
OK, one more product to "not to wait", I consider this cancelled. Specks, time and price has changet so much, that this is new product wich I'm not interested.
utri007 is offline  
Old 08 April 2017, 22:35   #676
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 44
Posts: 1,461
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ffin View Post
The wiki page has been updated, the Amiga Reloaded will now include 8MB flash memory for kickstart, DVI video output with built-in RTG modes at an estimated price of 350 Euros. The timescale has also changed, the aim is to have a prototype done this year.

If you read this Jens, please include a header for a L7 NMI, and make sure the ethernet add-on actually gets done.
Hm yes indeed, it seems to have been updated in February this year..
The RTG part is a nice addition I guess..
Quote:
"The Commodore A1200 Reloaded has a DVI-I output as standard. This will allow you to use any modern monitor, and even flat-screen TVs with HDMI output (adapter cable required). The Flicker fixer functionality is the same as our very popular product "Indivision AGA MK2", but there's more: This version of Indivision AGA MK2 includes a graphics card that can be used with the P96 RTG software. "

So.. a new version of Indivision with a further expanded chunky (from ECS version) mode directly on the motherboard?
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 10 April 2017, 06:06   #677
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,450
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
Hm yes indeed, it seems to have been updated in February this year..
The RTG part is a nice addition I guess..
Quote:
"The Commodore A1200 Reloaded has a DVI-I output as standard. This will allow you to use any modern monitor, and even flat-screen TVs with HDMI output (adapter cable required). The Flicker fixer functionality is the same as our very popular product "Indivision AGA MK2", but there's more: This version of Indivision AGA MK2 includes a graphics card that can be used with the P96 RTG software. "

So.. a new version of Indivision with a further expanded chunky (from ECS version) mode directly on the motherboard?
This is very interesting, it sounds like the direct frame buffer mode (chunky) as used by the IndivisionECS which unfortunately was somewhat crippled by the slow ECS bus, an AGA version would be much more useful. The IndivisionECS only had a single game that supported it (Doom) but someone ported P96 over which was really cool. Hopefully Jen's will support it with a proper library and API this time around
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 10 April 2017, 07:55   #678
grond
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 406
Sounds like it's not going to work with a Vampire. AFAIK the Indivision ECS chunky mode doesn't work with the v600 so I'd expect the same thing to happen with the Indivision AGA and v1200. But then you'd already have the Vampire's video out so losing the Reloaded's DVI would probably be a trifle.
grond is offline  
Old 10 April 2017, 09:51   #679
Locutus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 831
Isn't that because some of your saga registers are at the same address as the Indivision's?

If so this would be a fairly trivial fix....
Locutus is offline  
Old 12 April 2017, 23:47   #680
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 44
Posts: 1,461
I'm really interested in this motherboard.. but... I have an Apollo 1260 and I will get a Vampire V1200. If neither one of these two works with the Reloaded, i will have no use for it at all..
If its just a matter of the new Indivision not working with V1200 and you can simply ignore that output then fine. Everyone will be using HDMI from Vampire anyway. If it means it wont work at all, then that would be no good...
Remains to be seen if Jens will be interested in making anything else than a mobo for his own line of accelerators...
eXeler0 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted: Amiga 600 motherboards majsta MarketPlace 6 06 September 2012 19:20
Jens Schoenfeld : XSurf2 Diagnostics help ancalimon support.Hardware 1 30 November 2011 17:46
Update on Jens FlickerFixer for A1200? mfletcher support.Hardware 25 10 July 2008 23:08
Met Jens Schoenfeld :) blade002 Amiga scene 7 10 July 2007 01:31
New from Jens Schoenfeld Methanoid News 20 01 July 2005 20:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.13846 seconds with 14 queries