English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.ClassicWB

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 October 2013, 12:56   #1
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,834
Post ClassicWB v28 Feedback

I'm sorry but I've just installed the AdvSpv28, copied IBrowse from another CWB and it apears as a dot. Also the icon.library is 40.1, and I also added a Work drawer to WinUAE with some of my stuff and it was hanging when opening. I tried renaming it just in case, but it hangs when opening, don't know why

Last edited by Retrofan; 06 October 2013 at 18:37.
Retrofan is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 06 October 2013, 13:03   #2
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
The icon library isn't installed by default. It has to be enabled in the MyFiles/Install folder first as per release notes and the updated icon thread:

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=32153

These packs have only been tested in WinUAE, so it's unknown how the lib and Scalos patches are going to work on real hardware - therefore they are an optional extra.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 06 October 2013, 13:27   #3
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,834
Notes? Readme? Instructions? What's that?

Lol. Yes, ty now all works . Even my drawer opens now, dunno why.

Edit: BTW I think you should add to storage/monitors the SuperPlus driver, as it's the best for WinUAE.

Last edited by Retrofan; 06 October 2013 at 13:34.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 06 October 2013, 13:49   #4
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Thanks for the suggestion and feedback.

Yes that SuperPlus sounds like a great idea.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 06 October 2013, 14:16   #5
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 39
Posts: 1,576
Awesome news and congratz for the new packs Bloodwych my friend.
I'm always a big admirer of your scripts and the ways you deal stuff on your packs

Despite not updating to the latest version due to HEAVY customization, I already run PeterK's icon.library, TagLife and most (if not all) of the updates of the v28 pack, I think I deserved the v28 logo as well

Click image for larger version

Name:	CWB3.9_v28.png
Views:	300
Size:	94.1 KB
ID:	37068

(Sorry for displaying if with Multiview and a bit smaller and dithered to MWB colors but I liked it better on my noble setup).
mfilos is offline  
Old 06 October 2013, 14:19   #6
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,834
Also IBrowse on programs and a Download drawer for it.

Edit: With SuperPlus it keeps with a great chip mem: http://img46.imageshack.us/img46/9339/6es8.png

Last edited by Retrofan; 06 October 2013 at 14:41.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 06 October 2013, 14:32   #7
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
mfilos, you do indeed deserve a v28. Really no point in you updating that awesome custom job you've done. I'll be looking now at using your icon pack for a FULLSP version or something in the next udpdate, also adding a few of Retrofan's suggestions. Gives me something to chip away at for a few hours each weekend.

I'll move these posts to a new thread as we are now wandering off topic.

Last edited by Bloodwych; 06 October 2013 at 14:43.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 06 October 2013, 15:55   #8
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,834
I wonder how your Scalos manages so well the chip mem, not using CyberbugFix. For me is the best CWB version.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 06 October 2013, 18:18   #9
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 39
Posts: 1,576
I don't use Scalos nor Magellan on my ClassicWB 3.9 and I don't use CyberbugFix
Never actually had a problem with free Chip RAM so I never bothered with it.
I recall I had some problems with some apps in the past, but it might have been something wrong setup by me or I didn't have the patched version.
mfilos is offline  
Old 06 October 2013, 22:17   #10
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
I too prefer the Scalos versions Retrofan (although they are not ones for the purists).

Scalos really adds so many great things to Workbench 3.0/1.

OS35/9 caught up, but still Scalos has a few features not available in even the later Workbench systems. As you said, it does a nice job of saving Chipram when combined with FBlit and now PeterKs icon lib. Feels a bit faster too.

I do like how effortlessly PeterKs icon lib works in OS 3.5/9 however.

I know Amikit uses Magellan, you have posted some breathtaking theme snapshots in your thread - and it's fantastic that all this variety is around today. AIAB, AmigaSYS, BetterWB.... all so different.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 07 October 2013, 00:47   #11
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,834
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfilos View Post
I don't use Scalos nor Magellan on my ClassicWB 3.9 and I don't use CyberbugFix
Never actually had a problem with free Chip RAM so I never bothered with it.
I recall I had some problems with some apps in the past, but it might have been something wrong setup by me or I didn't have the patched version.
Well, if you don't run Birdie and Amidock and using just 8 colors of course you will never find any problem about chip mem...

Scalos doesn't use Birdie on CWBAdvSp and it crashes with Amidock (it should, it happens on AmiKit), but it's really great now with the possibility of new icons, and it runs very fast with almost nothing; hardware & software -just the WB disks-.

BTW I've tried and it runs AmiWolf without problems. Nova said something about problems with Scalos.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 07 October 2013, 15:48   #12
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 39
Posts: 1,576
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
Well, if you don't run Birdie and Amidock and using just 8 colors of course you will never find any problem about chip mem...
If you use 8 colors, then there is no reason to use Birdie, not to mention the memory hog Amidock. Apart from that, all iconset on 8 colors looks like crap on Amidock so... only way is to get rid of it for many reasons lol

On the other hand, CyberBugFix is a nice patch for having extra ram for AGA systems without RTG.

It's all of what resources you have, and what you want to put and look
mfilos is offline  
Old 07 October 2013, 19:35   #13
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,019
ClassicWB Full v28 (I can't live without Scalos ) up and running on real A1200+ACA1232 with PeterK's icon lib enabled.

Great work as usual Bloodwych.
Retroplay is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ClassicWB Feedback & Guestbook Bloodwych project.ClassicWB 220 06 June 2018 08:31
Which OS - ClassicWB 3.1 ADVSP or ClassicWB 3.9? MrGimper support.Hardware 7 06 October 2010 11:10
Multiboot ClassicWB/3.1 and ClassicWB/OS3.9 MrGimper support.Hardware 4 16 September 2010 19:42
Seriously - Can I get some feedback? Turbo2Xs Amiga scene 11 03 December 2005 07:11
Feedback on piccy please !!! synchro Amiga scene 11 24 June 2004 12:44

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07762 seconds with 14 queries