English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 May 2006, 09:20   #1
motorollin
 
Posts: n/a
MacOS 8.0

Hi guys, I've got a boxed copy of MacOS 8.1 which I have been trying to get working in Basilisk/Shapeshifter on my 060 A1200. I have been having a lot of problems with the emulation hanging when booting from the MacOS8.1 CD. I have been told that booting to 8.1 can be problematic under emulation, and that I should try 8.0 and then upgrade it to 8.1. So, I'm looking for a copy of 8.0. Does anyone have any idea where I can get one?

Cheers

--
moto
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 11 May 2006, 10:06   #2
z00mba
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Fr
Age: 38
Posts: 185
It's not legal to distribute MacOS 8.0/8.1 you know? Only System 7.x is allowed to distribute by Apple (in fact you can download it from their ftp).

Anyway I have MacOS 8.1 running under Basilisk II 0.8 (Windows version) without any problem. I had to boot with a System 7.x floppy disk image, then install System 8.1 from there. I hope it will help...
z00mba is offline  
Old 11 May 2006, 10:23   #3
motorollin
 
Posts: n/a
Since I have a boxed original copy of MacOS 8.1, I'm sure Apple won't be crying over me using 8.0 instead

I have tried booting from a 7.5.3 hardfile and then installing MacOS 8.1 from my CD to another hardfile, but I had the same problem when booting the newly installed system.

I know it works in Basilisk for Windows as I have already tried this, but I want to run it on my Amiga.

--
moto
 
Old 11 May 2006, 11:57   #4
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
I don't know anything about Macs or Mac emulation and not sure if this will help but, I've found this text looking on google

Quote:
12. I have an 060 and MacOS crashes on it?

The last 68k processor used with MacOS was the 68040. The 68060 has new features which MacOS cannot deal with such as the SuperScalar mode which you need to turn off with the CPU060 command. If using Netscape and that crashes, turn off FPU Exceptions as well.
Also moved to Prb.Apps as you are not allowed to request for MacOS 8.0 here.
Paul is offline  
Old 11 May 2006, 11:59   #5
motorollin
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks Paul. I have set tooltypes for the emulators to account for the 060. Also, the emulator only emulates an 040 so it shouldn't matter anyway. Will have to keep looking for 8.0
 
Old 11 May 2006, 13:55   #6
z00mba
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Fr
Age: 38
Posts: 185
I you find anything I'd like to hear about it too

Anyway I'll keep an eye open for MacOS 8.00 or any usefull hint and if I find anything that may help I'll post here.
z00mba is offline  
Old 11 May 2006, 19:02   #7
motorollin
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks. I spoke to Apple who told me it is no longer available. I did find a download, but the archive was corrupt. I tried again but it was still corrupt, so it must be the file :-(
 
Old 12 May 2006, 00:56   #8
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 46
Posts: 1,792
I had much the same problem.
I never did find a proper fix & never got basilisk to work on my 'amiga' ( amithlon )
ShapeShifter works fine with 8.1 on my setup
The work-around I used was as follows:
Install 8.1 on Windoze Basilisk -> maybe 7.5.3 first if 8.1 won't play fair. Then copy the HF to your amiga & use it directly with whatever emu you use on that. Some renaming may be needed.
I know the docs for the different emus on both platforms say the hf's aren't compatible but I've never had any trouble doing this in both directions.
The transfer is easy for me because of shared hdd's - I don't know how practicable for you.

I hope this helps.

PS
What ROM image? - I've found the amiga-side emulation can get very flakey with 8.1 even when the rom should work.
I get the least trouble with a Quadra 650 rom. (F1ACAD13)
Some others have missing features/incompatabilities with higher processors - esp in conjunction with 8.*. As far as I can tell not necessarily roms from low-end 68k macs!
The Quadra 700/900 rom (420DBFF3) is reputed to cause most problems.

Last edited by Charlie; 12 May 2006 at 01:21.
Charlie is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MacOS dock for AmigaOS 3.9 Leandro Jardim request.Apps 14 18 May 2013 14:35
MacOS X 10.8 F12? dJOS support.FS-UAE 7 18 February 2013 12:04
FS-UAE MacOs issues fnap support.FS-UAE 2 02 October 2012 21:27
WinUAE 2.3.0.0 on MacOS X/Crossover Clark Kent support.WinUAE 0 03 October 2010 13:51
ClassicWB for MacOS Anakirob project.ClassicWB 7 15 October 2009 07:50

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14888 seconds with 11 queries