English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 March 2010, 02:01   #1
jamespstevenson
Registered User
jamespstevenson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cambridge UK
Posts: 40
Can Full screen modes force 4:3 aspect ratio on widescreen displays?

Hello,

I like to play in full screen but have a widescreen (16:10) dell monitor and the picture always stretches to fit the screen no matter what res mode I set.

Is there anything I can do to play full screen (not in a window) on a black bg but keep the original 4:3 aspect ratio? Thanks!

James
jamespstevenson is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 20 March 2010, 02:15   #2
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,106
Most 16:9 monitors have a 4:3 scale option in the menu.

If your monitor has a SCART input then you can force 4:3 mode using the correct voltage on pin 8 (9.5v->12v)
alexh is online now  
Old 20 March 2010, 02:29   #3
jamespstevenson
Registered User
jamespstevenson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cambridge UK
Posts: 40
Thanks - it's a d-sub input unfortunately, which ghosts any scaling settings on the hardware side. I'll keep playing with the settings...
jamespstevenson is offline  
Old 20 March 2010, 02:39   #4
Maren
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: *
Posts: 567


You could also try finding something like this in your video drivers.
Maren is offline  
Old 20 March 2010, 09:04   #5
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,553
You can also use WinUAE filter panel aspect ratio settings (select your MONITOR aspect ratio from the list)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 20 March 2010, 23:31   #6
jamespstevenson
Registered User
jamespstevenson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cambridge UK
Posts: 40
Thanks! Filter aspect ratio worked, I'd never noticed those settings before so that's a big help. Last question; how do I save these settings so that games open this way by default?

Thanks for your time.
jamespstevenson is offline  
Old 21 March 2010, 17:48   #7
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamespstevenson View Post
Last question; how do I save these settings so that games open this way by default?
Save a config with the name default (default.uae). This should work with the quickstart settings then.
TCD is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga aspect ratio absence Coders. General 31 04 December 2013 17:33
Wrong aspect ratio Leandro Jardim support.WinUAE 5 24 September 2013 04:41
Custom ratio for aspect ratio correction? rsn8887 request.UAE Wishlist 4 16 April 2013 17:49
How to change window border sizes/aspect ratio in ClassicWB Full? mingle project.ClassicWB 4 28 June 2010 14:10
getting screen modes working full screen damo support.WinUAE 1 06 February 2009 22:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06695 seconds with 15 queries