English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 November 2017, 20:59   #1
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,164
WinUAE: Disable JIT/FPU

Ciao Toni, still a mine stupid question:

There is a way to disable it JIT and FPU "to hot" after starting the system, without going into the winuae setting (F12)

The parameter "uae-configuration" in Toltypes of the Games WHDLoad as mentioned HERE can totally disable it JIT, the system is likely to become unstable?

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 29 November 2017 at 00:24.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 29 November 2017, 10:42   #2
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,164
Ok resolved, what I was looking for HERE
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 29 November 2017, 11:22   #3
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 1,167
My A4000 configurations include "hot-switching" of JIT and CPU speeds, although I was disappointed that at least one Amiga emulation expert said my configuration "makes no sense", or words to that effect.

Last edited by Foebane; 29 November 2017 at 11:53.
Foebane is offline  
Old 29 November 2017, 12:02   #4
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 1,031
Is the source for UAE-Configuration available anywhere?
Dunny is offline  
Old 29 November 2017, 12:26   #5
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 1,167
I don't know about the source, but that file is literally only 340 bytes, and is a special Amiga file that is invisible to the AmigaOS environment but which can control WinUAE emulator functions from within the Amiga emulation, and is really quite versatile with the possibilities.
Foebane is offline  
Old 29 November 2017, 14:19   #6
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 1,031
Yeah, I would like to know how it works because I want to write something that does the same job, but with a UI rather than on the command line.
Dunny is offline  
Old 29 November 2017, 19:05   #7
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,542
They are included with official WinUAE releases, Amiga Programs -> sources.zip

But note that that direct rom jump is obsolete, don't use it. There may be also newer more "lowlevel" method in the future.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 30 November 2017, 01:10   #8
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 1,031
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
They are included with official WinUAE releases, Amiga Programs -> sources.zip

But note that that direct rom jump is obsolete, don't use it. There may be also newer more "lowlevel" method in the future.
Ah, thanks Toni. I'm on Linux so use FS-UAE mostly, didn't think to check the official WinUAE distro

Many thanks. I'll get to work on that this weekend then.
Dunny is offline  
Old 30 November 2017, 08:49   #9
Amiga68k
Registered User

Amiga68k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
Yeah, I would like to know how it works because I want to write something that does the same job, but with a UI rather than on the command line.
That would be awesome. Last couple of weeks I was thinking about the same thing, but unfortunately when it comes to programming I need to start from scratch then... Please let me know if I can help with something (testing, ideas, etc.).

Also for just displaying the values of current settings this would be an ideal tool. When you only want to see certain values a modular kinda setup would be ideal imo.

Did you also think of the type of GUI yet? MUI? Or still too early in the process for that?
Amiga68k is online now  
Old 30 November 2017, 10:01   #10
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 1,031
I'm mainly interested in building an interface for swapping disk images from inside the emulated Amiga, for the Amimlator project - but a more general configuration system will probably grow out of that.

As for the UI - just a general system interface, as MUI is a PITA for basic setups due to needing to be installed by the user first. I'd rather have something that's just click and go.
Dunny is offline  
Old 30 November 2017, 10:12   #11
Amiga68k
Registered User

Amiga68k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
I'm mainly interested in building an interface for swapping disk images from inside the emulated Amiga, for the Amimlator project - but a more general configuration system will probably grow out of that.
If you are only aiming at swapping disk images, then the tool 'uae-control' that is already provided in the Amiga Programs section might be helpful?
Amiga68k is online now  
Old 30 November 2017, 14:10   #12
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 1,031
No, it's not suitable. I want a better UI than that.
Dunny is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
JIT FPU support problem ! amilo3438 support.WinUAE 65 17 December 2016 21:35
Disable Taskswitching in WinUAE-Debugger selco support.WinUAE 2 22 February 2016 13:40
60 FPU disable patch SpeedGeek support.WinUAE 3 25 September 2014 15:38
Does WinUae disable Strokeit? Mclane support.WinUAE 4 16 January 2010 11:49
WinUAE 0.99: how to disable rom scanning at startup ? Leo42 support.WinUAE 6 07 August 2004 14:45

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10015 seconds with 15 queries