English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 February 2013, 00:08   #1
lukassid
Registered User
lukassid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Surrey
Posts: 390
ECS. Make OS3.1 look like OS3.9 without loosing speed.

I recenlty pimped my A600 with ACA620 etc.
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=66481
I installed Classic Workbench 3.9 which is nice but ECS is strugling with it big time.
[ Show youtube player ]
I tried CW 68k and it's very fast, even on SuperPlus 800x600 it' still as quick, but I hate those icons. I tried to upgrading icon library but some icons are not displaying correctly. I think this is due to magic workbench colour scheme.
Anyway I replaced some Icons and speed was still there.
I decided to start fresh with plain 3.1 install. Can you guys help me to achieve OS3.9 look on my A600 without loosing too much speed?
lukassid is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 February 2013, 00:20   #2
ma693541
Computer Wizard

ma693541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ramberg/Norway
Posts: 647
Follow the links in this thread; http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=52707 maybe that will be to help for you.
ma693541 is offline  
Old 16 February 2013, 00:26   #3
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,299
The instructions in that thread relate only to updating OS3.9.

The OP wants to make Workbench 3.1 look like OS3.9 with minimal impact on the system speed.
prowler is offline  
Old 16 February 2013, 00:28   #4
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,819
Have you tried CWBAdvSp? http://classicwb.abime.net/classicweb/advsp.htm
Retrofan is offline  
Old 16 February 2013, 00:31   #5
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 39
Posts: 1,576
You can use PeterK's awesome icon.library to put the iconset of ClassicWB AdvSp (you can copy these icons from that archive).
In general ECS chipset is rather slow with 16 colors, and the nice iconset from AdvSp or 3.9 looks rather poor with anything less than 16 colors.

I have the exactly opposite... which means an custom ClassicWB 3.9 installation which runs on 8 colors based on MWB palette, on SuperPlus and it's really fast and responsive on my ACA630@30.
mfilos is offline  
Old 16 February 2013, 08:29   #6
lukassid
Registered User
lukassid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Surrey
Posts: 390
I tried CWB AdvSp and it boots fast but behaves same as 3.9.
I will try to install PeterK's icons on clean 3.1 tonight and see what happen.
Thanks for replaying guys.

Mfilos I think that your system is fast due to use of old magic workbench icons.
I tried CW68k with this icons and it was flying around me in both 8 and 16 colours modes.
Of course this icons were designed for 8 colours and looks wrong in 16.
My goal is to have 16 colours and glow or new icons. I don't care about CW features for now, hence I will start with clean 3.1
lukassid is offline  
Old 16 February 2013, 13:33   #7
ma693541
Computer Wizard

ma693541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ramberg/Norway
Posts: 647
@Prowler, Have you forgot this link on the site in the thread i was pointing to? Making AmigaOS 3.1 like 3.9 That link is not for OS3.9.
ma693541 is offline  
Old 16 February 2013, 14:46   #8
lukassid
Registered User
lukassid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Surrey
Posts: 390
Great link ma, before it was linking to BB4 page hence Prowler comment.
lukassid is offline  
Old 16 February 2013, 16:05   #9
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 1,975
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukassid View Post
I tried CWB AdvSp and it boots fast but behaves same as 3.9.
I will try to install PeterK's icons on clean 3.1 tonight and see what happen.
Did you also install my AddOn package ClassicWB30Icons.lha over the CWB AdvSp and the latest icon.library 46.4.271 ? http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=63342

If you want to try a plain OS 3.1 with my icon.library there is the IconDemoADF.lha which can be copied onto a disk and can be booted just to demonstrate how things work together. Of course, loading icons from a floppy is always very slow.
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=64079

But since you already have all OS 3.9 files you will probably want to make use of the WB 3.9 advantages by installing the workbench.library v45.x, too. And then, it's all another story again. You will need a different setup than those for CWB or the plain OS 3.1. You could also use SetPatch v44 in that case to load the icon.library and the workbench.library.
PeterK is offline  
Old 16 February 2013, 21:42   #10
lukassid
Registered User
lukassid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Surrey
Posts: 390
Thanks for info PeterK. Yes I did try it still is too slow on ECS.

Here is what I did so far.

1. Installed OS3.1 on CF card under WINUAE (System is fast)
2. Created 2 new drawers Programs and Temp
3. Installed EasyADF (for LHA etc) reboot
4. Unpacked Installer version 43.3 to C
5. Unpacked SuperPlus to Devs:Monitors and reboot
6. In Prefs/ Screen Mode I select SuperPlus HighResLaced 800x600 16 colours, select save (System is still fast as before!!!)
7. Installed ClassAct 3.3 (just move files to coresponding drawers)
8. Installed Annote 2.0 text editor
9. Installed NewIcons 4.6, edit System Startup as requested by installer, reboot
( oh yes nice icons appears ! )

Now NewIcons installer didn't replaced all the icons. I got some nice NewIcons from Aminet, what program is the best to replace icons under 3.1?
System slowed down just tiny bit, it's still ten times faster than 3.9

Last edited by lukassid; 16 February 2013 at 21:51.
lukassid is offline  
Old 16 February 2013, 22:07   #11
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,299
Quote:
Originally Posted by ma693541 View Post
@Prowler, Have you forgot this link on the site in the thread i was pointing to? Making AmigaOS 3.1 like 3.9 That link is not for OS3.9.
I can confirm what lukassid said.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lukassid View Post
Great link ma, before it was linking to BB4 page hence Prowler comment.
prowler is offline  
Old 16 February 2013, 23:48   #12
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 1,975
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukassid View Post
...
9. Installed NewIcons 4.6, edit System Startup as requested by installer, reboot..... I got some nice NewIcons from Aminet, what program is the best to replace icons under 3.1?
Try out booting from IconDemoADF. There, you will find everything that you need for OS 3.1 with support for all icons like CopyIcon, SwazInfo, DefIcons, AutoUpdateWB etc.

Just compare the ADF structure with your installation and have a look into the startup-sequence. Of course, you won't need the Echo ON instruction and you can also try to comment out the "Run >NIL: Wait x +" line above LoadWB or just reduce the Wait x delay time as long as you don't get 4-color icons.

Don't use the NewIcons command twice. I think usually it's located in the User-Startup, but I installed it in the startup-sequence.

Last edited by PeterK; 17 February 2013 at 00:09.
PeterK is offline  
Old 17 February 2013, 17:50   #13
lukassid
Registered User
lukassid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Surrey
Posts: 390
After updating icon library and moving files from your ADF drawers to hard drive and editing Startup Sequence as you said system boots to Low resolution in winuae and doesn't boot at all on real Amiga.
I must done something wrong I have to start again.
I don't realy understand how to upgrade to your icon library.
Moving icon.library and C contest from LHA doesn't made any difference in icon appereance. When I boot from your floppy all icons display correctly.
So I moved all the files from floppy to corresponding drawers on hard drive and modified startup as you suggested.

I will stick to newicons only for now.
lukassid is offline  
Old 17 February 2013, 20:02   #14
lukassid
Registered User
lukassid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Surrey
Posts: 390
After replacing all icons to NewIcons it is as slow opening drawers as 3.9.
It's safe to finish this excersise now. Back to CW 3.9.
lukassid is offline  
Old 17 February 2013, 21:02   #15
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,178
I've never really looked into newicons, but apparently it's a commodity that automatically converts the newicon icon (which is apparently usually 32-colors) into the color format you are using...

I'm guessing that conversion is where the slowdown is...

Would be better for a low end machine (and a LOT of work) to convert those icons manually into standard Amiga icons.
(Using something like PPaint to grab a screenshot (with newicons enabled) and then grab each icon and save it?? (turning newicons back off after for speed))

(Unless there is a program to convert the icons to a standard format already)
Of course you still need to swap them all out, which will be a lot of work.

In the end tho, you should be able to have an iconset that looks similar and runs well on 3.1.
You just won't be able to use the programs that convert icon formats on the fly (newicons, glowicons) and not have a performance hit..

desiv
desiv is offline  
Old 17 February 2013, 23:03   #16
Cammy
Registered User
Cammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Age: 33
Posts: 1,134
In Dreamscape all the icons are standard Workbench icons, all pixelled in the same 16 colour palette for maximum speed and best appearance on OCS/ECS machines.



But who cares?
Cammy is offline  
Old 18 February 2013, 00:02   #17
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,819
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cammy View Post
...But who cares?
Come on Cammy, you know who cares

I got bored of waiting to betatest a downloadable copy. It's hard to contact you and more Rebel.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 18 February 2013, 00:27   #18
lukassid
Registered User
lukassid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Surrey
Posts: 390
Cammy that looks perfect!!!
lukassid is offline  
Old 18 February 2013, 17:49   #19
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 1,975
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukassid View Post
After replacing all icons to NewIcons it is as slow opening drawers as 3.9.
It's safe to finish this excersise now. Back to CW 3.9.
To be honest, I've never expected that your system is fast enough for displaying more than 8 colors. I say that because I once had an Amiga 2000 with the A2620 card which uses the 68020 @ 14 MHz (+ FPU @ 24). All I could really use with that system was just a 4-color screenmode.
PeterK is offline  
Old 18 February 2013, 21:27   #20
lukassid
Registered User
lukassid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Surrey
Posts: 390
Sure is fast enough hehe
It just needs icons done in 16 colours as Cammy said.
Old school stuff is extremely fast on lightly accelerated a600.
It's slow when you trying to run stuff made for high end AGA machine.
lukassid is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Os3.9 or 4.1? Dr. Dude support.Apps 14 10 November 2012 15:13
Os3.5 JohnnyD request.Apps 13 02 June 2010 19:39
Os3.9 alewis support.Apps 15 11 August 2006 03:08
I need to make the os3.9 screenmode a PAL one, where can I change it manually? keropi support.Apps 4 06 July 2006 12:24
How to make OS3.9 prettier? keropi Amiga scene 4 09 August 2005 16:24

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08933 seconds with 13 queries