English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 November 2007, 19:26   #1
Merlin
AmiBay MegaMod
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Manchester, UK
Age: 58
Posts: 1,163
Help needed with a video fault on an A600

Hi,

I need help from a Miggy surgeon please. One of my A600s has suddenly developed a video fault as per the attached pictures, I suspect a video sync fault but I can't pin it down.

The pictures are the output from the Composite Video socket, i haven't tested the tuner yet.

Can anyone help me bring this ailing A600 back to full life again?

Thx

Merlin
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	600_1.jpg
Views:	253
Size:	128.1 KB
ID:	15268   Click image for larger version

Name:	600_2.jpg
Views:	243
Size:	123.9 KB
ID:	15269  
Merlin is offline  
Old 18 November 2007, 20:05   #2
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
@Merlin

still pondering m8y
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 18 November 2007, 23:25   #3
Merlin
AmiBay MegaMod
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Manchester, UK
Age: 58
Posts: 1,163
Thanks Zet, once I have figured it out I will post the solution so that others can fix theirs.

We need a Haynes manual for Miggys..........

Merlin
Merlin is offline  
Old 18 November 2007, 23:53   #4
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
I have the schematics
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 19 November 2007, 00:18   #5
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 46
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Merlin View Post
Hi,

I need help from a Miggy surgeon please. One of my A600s has suddenly developed a video fault as per the attached pictures, I suspect a video sync fault but I can't pin it down.

The pictures are the output from the Composite Video socket, i haven't tested the tuner yet.

Can anyone help me bring this ailing A600 back to full life again?

Thx

Merlin
Check one of the pins on the video port hasn't been pushed in.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 19 November 2007, 03:37   #6
elmasta
Registered User
elmasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Uruguay
Age: 37
Posts: 38
I have a similar video problem. Although it happens only when there are moving sprites and scrolling is involved. What happens is that every frame the palette changes somewhat producing a flashing effect, and the scrolling stutters.

Maybe it's a capacitor leaking related problem. In the past my A600 wouldn't boot because of this, but now I fixed it changing some of the caps, but there are those video problems. It runs stably though. Maybe if I change all of them the problem goes away, but, because I haven't, I can't confirm the problem is related to the caps.

Is any capacitor leaking problem in the motherboard?
elmasta is offline  
Old 19 November 2007, 09:31   #7
Merlin
AmiBay MegaMod
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Manchester, UK
Age: 58
Posts: 1,163
@ Zetr0

So do I

@ elmasta

I've arrived at the same conclusion you have, I am going to change C236 and C237 on the board, these link to the Composite Video out and also the TV tuner, they are radial electrolytics and are the most likely suspects to be knackered. There isn't much else downstream of the decoder chip that could go South, as far as I can tell.

I need to take the board out and I haven't examined it closely yet, I will be giving it a good clean and examination before I start changing components.

Merlin
Merlin is offline  
Old 19 November 2007, 10:38   #8
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 40
Posts: 17,789
Your drive is chewing your floppy disk (look at tiny white dots on second picture).
s2325 is offline  
Old 19 November 2007, 13:28   #9
elmasta
Registered User
elmasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Uruguay
Age: 37
Posts: 38
Have you tried RGB output? RGB output would allow you to see the video before the encoder (which is what converts an RGB analog signal to a PAL/NTSC standard video signal). The caps you mention are after the encoder, and the effect of of them failing would not look like this imho.

I think it happens before (up in the chain) and it's related to flipping bits somewhere. Just look at the delicious floppy "crumbles" , they are single pixels.
elmasta is offline  
Old 19 November 2007, 13:28   #10
Merlin
AmiBay MegaMod
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Manchester, UK
Age: 58
Posts: 1,163
@ s2325

Erm, that helps a lot... NOT.

@ elmasta

Thanks for that, I will take another look at the schematics upstream from the encoder and check the output from RGB to Scart.

Merlin

Last edited by Merlin; 19 November 2007 at 13:44.
Merlin is offline  
Old 19 November 2007, 13:54   #11
elmasta
Registered User
elmasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Uruguay
Age: 37
Posts: 38
I am no amiga expert, but looking at page 5-4 of the service manual it seems it's some problem with Denise's inputs.

Maybe there are flipping bits in RGA (register address bus). But I think that would make the machine crash, which is not happening.

The other possibility would be flipping bits in DRD (DRAM data bus) but I discard that because that would mean every chip would be reading garbage instead of reading from ram and of course we wouldn't be seeing anything and the machine would have crashed long before the floppy appears.

Other possibilities are on the other inputs CCK _CSYNC _CDAC , etc..

any ideas?

(maybe denise is dying but I don't want to think that)

Last edited by elmasta; 19 November 2007 at 14:02.
elmasta is offline  
Old 19 November 2007, 18:26   #12
Merlin
AmiBay MegaMod
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Manchester, UK
Age: 58
Posts: 1,163
Maybe it's the _CSYNC_B line from the Denise chip? That may explain the patterned nature of the corruption.

Merlin
Merlin is offline  
Old 19 November 2007, 19:07   #13
elmasta
Registered User
elmasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Uruguay
Age: 37
Posts: 38
CSYNC is "composite sync" which is the same that CSYNC_B except the latter is buffered.

If CSYNC_B was wrong I imagine the TV wouldn't sync to the composite signal, since it's this "clock" which is used to generate the analog composite signal by the encoder.

What I think is that this error lies in the digital domain. Denise seems to be constructing the picture erroneously. Is it because her inputs are wrong or because she doesn't do her job well, I don't really know.
elmasta is offline  
Old 19 November 2007, 21:47   #14
Merlin
AmiBay MegaMod
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Manchester, UK
Age: 58
Posts: 1,163
Ok, here's an update....

Put my ailing Miggy on a Scart lead and the picture is absolutely A1

This is telling me that Denise is alive and well and leads me down my original thought of something after the decoder chip having gone South.

At least I am making progress at last, I thought I might have to borrow an oscilloscope to track back the ripple on the signal; I am going to change C236 and C237 as I originally planned and report back.

Merlin
Merlin is offline  
Old 19 November 2007, 22:23   #15
elmasta
Registered User
elmasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Uruguay
Age: 37
Posts: 38
Nice!
Definitely a good sign.

I was wrong before telling you that looking at the RGB output we are looking before the encoder. Actually it's after, because what we see in the monitor are the AR,AG,AB signals and not R,G,B as shown in page 5-4 (my mistake)

It seems I was diagnosing my video problem because I think my Denise is broken or something :S

If you have any idea, that does not involve exchanging Denises , about what is causing these sync issues, pallette changes, and flashing sprites let me know please
Video Here

Last edited by elmasta; 20 November 2007 at 02:09.
elmasta is offline  
Old 20 November 2007, 22:55   #16
elmasta
Registered User
elmasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Uruguay
Age: 37
Posts: 38
any news?



Denise
elmasta is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A600 Obscure Fault Of The Day, Takes 15 Minutes To Switch On Loedown support.Hardware 6 02 January 2013 09:55
Bastard Fault A600 Composite Video Loedown support.Hardware 17 14 November 2012 11:55
Help needed with A1200 fault. Amigafanboi support.Hardware 3 10 April 2011 18:26
a600 video fault elmasta support.Hardware 14 03 January 2009 14:34
Video Toaster Needed jkpitzer MarketPlace 1 31 May 2002 20:41

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10195 seconds with 14 queries