English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 April 2016, 10:45   #241
fgh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 673
Good, so it is just the partition size limit of PFS3.

I suppose the small difference can be due to some calculation difference, or perhaps it's possible to reach ~104GiB with higher ('fake') numbers of heads or sectors.

Edit: I'll make a note of the 101,5 GiB limit in the FAQ later. Thanks

Last edited by fgh; 25 April 2016 at 10:51.
fgh is offline  
Old 25 April 2016, 15:16   #242
ShK
Registered User
ShK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Lahti / Finland
Age: 49
Posts: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by fgh View Post
or perhaps it's possible to reach ~104GiB with higher ('fake') numbers of heads or sectors.
Both are under 104 GB:

211331 * 16 * 63 * 512 = 109067083776 B = 101.57664 Gigabytes (Works)
211332 * 16 * 63 * 512 = 109067599872 B = 101.57712 Gigabytes (Fails)
ShK is offline  
Old 25 April 2016, 16:16   #243
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 23,905
Max partition size is 104*253*253*32 = 213 021 952 blocks.

Possible future sizes are (technically only need lots of testing but it is sooo boring..):
- 104*509*509*32 (with 2k blocks) ~411G
- 104*1021*1021*32 (with 4k blocks) ~1.6T
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 25 April 2016, 23:29   #244
fgh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 673
Thanks Toni.

I've replaced 104G with 101G in the FAQ table.
fgh is offline  
Old 12 September 2016, 17:21   #245
-Acid-
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South Shields
Posts: 725
Are these adapters here

www.ebay.co.uk/itm/201327300222

the aforementioned good ones that can take SDHC cards up to 32GB? there seems to be a lot of them on ebay from loads of Chinese sellers.
-Acid- is offline  
Old 12 September 2016, 20:12   #246
fgh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 673
That one looks identical to the SDXC version pictured in the FAQ, and the article text says SDXC support, so no - not the correct type.
(This is a question of firmware though, so who knows if they changed it again)
Look for the older SDHC (non SDXC) capable version and compare the pics in the FAQ. They look slightly different.

Edit: Sorry, I misunderstood. That one will work just fine.
(I thought you wanted the other version - the one that lets you use 32GB SDHC cards without patching scsi.device)

Last edited by fgh; 13 September 2016 at 09:30.
fgh is offline  
Old 12 September 2016, 20:23   #247
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,857
At least it says so.

I ordered one just for the fun of it, even though I despise SD cards as a boot media. Might as well give this a go so that I can tell everyone to run away if it is crap. :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 12 September 2016, 20:33   #248
fgh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 673
Why not
The identical looking SDXC version I bought works perfectly, and report cards as 'fixed', so idefix etc will not be confused.
8gb cards still work without patches/reboots, it should be enough for the most common use cases I would say..
fgh is offline  
Old 13 September 2016, 00:29   #249
-Acid-
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South Shields
Posts: 725
Quote:
Originally Posted by fgh View Post
That one looks identical to the SDXC version pictured in the FAQ, and the article text says SDXC support, so no - not the correct type.
(This is a question of firmware though, so who knows if they changed it again)
Look for the older SDHC (non SDXC) capable version and compare the pics in the FAQ. They look slightly different.
The way I am reading the faq is that the one I linked to will work fine when partitioned on real hardware using 3.0 and then patching scsi.device and will work fine with idefix and 32gb SHDC cards, is that right? if so that's exactly what I want.
-Acid- is offline  
Old 13 September 2016, 08:02   #250
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,035
IDEfix replaces scsi.device, so patching scsi.device has no effect if you use IDEfix at the same time. You might have to patch IDEfix to work with CF/SD cards, though.
thomas is offline  
Old 13 September 2016, 08:53   #251
fgh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 673
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Acid- View Post
The way I am reading the faq is that the one I linked to will work fine when partitioned on real hardware using 3.0 and then patching scsi.device and will work fine with idefix and 32gb SHDC cards, is that right? if so that's exactly what I want.
Ah. If that's what you want you are indeed fine with that one.
I misunderstood when you specifically mentioned 32GB SDHC cards, as that's what makes the OTHER version interesting - it can take 32GB cards WITHOUT patching scsi.device. (It can take SD/SDHC cards only, not SDXC)

And yes - unless they changed the firmware again, the SDXC model will present the card as a 'fixed' drive, so you don't need to patch idefix.
fgh is offline  
Old 13 September 2016, 11:45   #252
-Acid-
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South Shields
Posts: 725
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
IDEfix replaces scsi.device, so patching scsi.device has no effect if you use IDEfix at the same time. You might have to patch IDEfix to work with CF/SD cards, though.
Well I will be using them in systems that will use IDEfix and buffered interfaces but also wedges which will just be using scsi.device.

Quote:
Originally Posted by fgh View Post
Ah. If that's what you want you are indeed fine with that one.
I misunderstood when you specifically mentioned 32GB SDHC cards, as that's what makes the OTHER version interesting - it can take 32GB cards WITHOUT patching scsi.device. (It can take SD/SDHC cards only, not SDXC)

And yes - unless they changed the firmware again, the SDXC model will present the card as a 'fixed' drive, so you don't need to patch idefix.
Great i'll order a couple of them then.
-Acid- is offline  
Old 13 September 2016, 21:32   #253
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,035
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Acid- View Post
Well I will be using them in systems that will use IDEfix and buffered interfaces but also wedges which will just be using scsi.device.
I am referring to software only. Once you run the IDEfix software, the original scsi.device is gone, no matter if it has been patched or not.
thomas is offline  
Old 14 October 2016, 19:38   #254
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,857
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
At least it says so.

I ordered one just for the fun of it, even though I despise SD cards as a boot media. Might as well give this a go so that I can tell everyone to run away if it is crap. :-)
It finally arrived the other day and today I had some time, so I tested it.

A 4GB SDHC card worked fine and was also detected in the Amiga. I used WinUAE to prepare the card and installl 3.1.
Jope is offline  
Old 15 October 2016, 10:16   #255
fgh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 673
Good. If you feel like it, you could check 'read configuration' in hdtoolbox on a real machine.
If you get no 'Error 7 in drive definition' message it still reports as a fixed drive type.
If you have a >8gb card you can also check if it still does not provide 'illegal' CHS values, (like the SDHC version does, allowing larger than 8gb cards without scsi patches)
For that you need to check if 'read configuration' detects 7,8gb or the full size without os3.5/3.9 or scsi.device patches.

I tested the same adapter a few years ago, but they could have changed the fw again..
fgh is offline  
Old 15 October 2016, 17:35   #256
Gyro
C64 / Amiga Nut
Gyro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Louisville, KY USA
Posts: 47
Hello everyone, this is a continuation of this thread - http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=84451, but here is the scoop

I have a Amiga 500 with a GVP A530 running 1.3.3 WB and I am attempting to use HDInstTools to format a 4 GB CF Card. With some help, the tool now recognizes the 4 GB CF, but even partitioning the card down to 400 meg, I still get a "Format Failed 212" error when attempting to format it. I also got a very old 1998 digi camera with a 20 meg CF that I borrowed and tried and got the same error. Any help will be much appreciated.
Gyro is offline  
Old 15 October 2016, 22:32   #257
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,035
212 means "object is not of required type". This might mean everything. Maybe the Sys:System/Format program is not there or not the right one?

Did you make the partition FFS and did you install FFS into the RDB?
thomas is offline  
Old 16 October 2016, 01:18   #258
Gyro
C64 / Amiga Nut
Gyro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Louisville, KY USA
Posts: 47
I was trying to format before rebooting. Now it just says Format Failed with no number, but thanks for that info of what it meant.
Gyro is offline  
Old 16 October 2016, 12:34   #259
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,035
Like I said, make sure that the partition has FFS assigned as FileSystem and that FastFileSystem is stored in the partition table.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	partition.png
Views:	112
Size:	15.8 KB
ID:	50465   Click image for larger version

Name:	filesystem.png
Views:	109
Size:	9.9 KB
ID:	50466  
thomas is offline  
Old 16 October 2016, 20:44   #260
Gyro
C64 / Amiga Nut
Gyro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Louisville, KY USA
Posts: 47
Yes, it is set to FFS. Didn't mean to hijack this thread, feel free to check out the screenshots and thread at http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=84451&page=2 . I'd like to get your thoughts on what I am experiencing.
Gyro is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 members and 1 guests)
bvh2k
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Large Hard-Drives (over 4gb) keitha1200 support.Hardware 4 20 April 2012 08:09
GVP 4.15 Roms & Large Hard drives... Info-Seeker support.Hardware 21 09 August 2010 12:06
What sort of Filemaster to use with large drives? Ebster support.Apps 4 08 February 2009 17:53
replacing amiga floppy drives with hard drives Gordon support.Hardware 2 06 March 2007 00:44
Large hard drives and WB3.0... darkwave support.Hardware 3 05 July 2004 03:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10970 seconds with 16 queries