English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 June 2019, 16:59   #1
FLiP79
Registered User

FLiP79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Turin, Italy
Posts: 12
Wide resolutions for Workbench

Don't know where to post this question, let's say I'm talking about hardware

I have an Amiga 1200 with a Viper Expansion (16MB RAM + Coprocessor, no GPU extensions). I tried it with my Dell 16:9 (not 16:10) monitor that is capable to run 15khz resolutions. So I can use Workbench in "productivty" not-interlaced VGA mode and also games at their "TV" native resolution. Amazing.

I'd love to take another step and run Workbench in wide mode. I don't expect the native resolution of the monitor (1600x900) but a 1280x720 (not interlaced) would be amazing. Is it possible without additional graphic cards? Is there a way to achieve this, maybe with a custom Monitor file?

Thank you in advance
FLiP79 is offline  
Old 22 June 2019, 20:21   #2
debiani386
New generation Amiga user

debiani386's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 29
If its of any help, BoingBag 4 (http://lilliput.amiga-projects.net/BestWB.htm) includes the monitor driver for the XTREME mode and that should give you something near a 16:9 compatible resolution.

Maybe there are better monitor drivers out there that someone else can mention? I only use 800x600 in NTSC Interlaced on my Indivision scandoubler.
debiani386 is offline  
Old 22 June 2019, 20:41   #3
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,820
http://aminet.net/driver/moni/HighGFX40_6.lha

Has a 1024x768 and 1280x720 mode. But your monitor has to sync really low to run these.
thomas is offline  
Old 22 June 2019, 20:49   #4
FLiP79
Registered User

FLiP79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Turin, Italy
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by debiani386 View Post
If its of any help, BoingBag 4 (http://lilliput.amiga-projects.net/BestWB.htm) includes the monitor driver for the XTREME mode and that should give you something near a 16:9 compatible resolution.
Thank you! I didn't know about these drivers. I run BetterWB and it doesn't include them, I hope I can simply copy the Monitor files on my system and try.
Even if the description says "New monitors drivers for native Amiga chipset" I looked on the web and seems that everyone talks about Xtreme and HD720 setups along with Indivision AGA (that I don't own)
FLiP79 is offline  
Old 22 June 2019, 20:50   #5
FLiP79
Registered User

FLiP79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Turin, Italy
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
http://aminet.net/driver/moni/HighGFX40_6.lha

Has a 1024x768 and 1280x720 mode. But your monitor has to sync really low to run these.
1280x720 would be perfect. What do you mean with "Sync really low"? The horizontal refresh? My Dell supports 15Khz
FLiP79 is offline  
Old 22 June 2019, 23:00   #6
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 3,083
You could just use PAL Super-High Res Laced, that gives a max of 1440×566 pixels with overscan (1280×512 without). Stretched to 16:9 the pixels will be slightly taller than they are wide, so fonts & icons will look less "squished" than with square-ish pixels.
mark_k is offline  
Old 23 June 2019, 22:24   #7
debiani386
New generation Amiga user

debiani386's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by FLiP79 View Post
Thank you! I didn't know about these drivers. I run BetterWB and it doesn't include them, I hope I can simply copy the Monitor files on my system and try.
Even if the description says "New monitors drivers for native Amiga chipset" I looked on the web and seems that everyone talks about Xtreme and HD720 setups along with Indivision AGA (that I don't own)

It should be as simple as extract the monitor driver from the boingbag file and put it in DEVS:Monitors, making sure to add the DEVS:Monitors/<monitor driver name> to your S:Startup-Sequence and reboot.

The HighGFX driver syncs at 55hz vertical, 22.22khz horizontal. Most VGA monitors won't sync at this frequency, but if yours syncs at 15khz, I would expect this to work (though it may not, it may be that your monitor only syncs at 30khz/15khz and no where in between). Worth a try though.

The Indivision AGA is a scandoubler, which you may not need if your monitor works with the HighGFX or XTREME modes.
debiani386 is offline  
Old 24 June 2019, 08:56   #8
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 7,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by debiani386 View Post
making sure to add the DEVS:Monitors/<monitor driver name> to your S:Startup-Sequence and reboot.
There should be no modifications needed to the startup-sequence, unless you have removed the bit where it runs all of the monitor drivers automatically.
Jope is offline  
Old 24 June 2019, 11:19   #9
FLiP79
Registered User

FLiP79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Turin, Italy
Posts: 12
I copied the monitor drivers from http://aminet.net/driver/moni/HighGFX40_6.lha ... unfortunately they don't work with my monitor. I think it "only" supports 15/31khz, like Debiani thought :/
I will try also the ones from BoingBag4 but I'm sure it will be the same. At this point, the simplest way is to get a scandoubler... what do you think about this cheap alternative? [ Show youtube player ]
I'm not sure about the input and output resolution it can accept.
FLiP79 is offline  
Old 24 June 2019, 11:32   #10
Steffest
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Antwerp / Belgium
Posts: 105
Those cheap scandoublers are OK-ish for lo-res screens like games but if you aim for hi-res workbench screens they are useless.
As you already noticed: the HighGfx monitor presets are often talked about in combination with an indivision AGA.
That's because the only way you will get a decent video output with those "extreme" resolutions is with a decent internal scandoubler/FlickerFixer like the Indivision.
Not cheap but totally worth it IMHO: I'm running my 1200 with an indivision in 1280x720 video mode and I love it.
Again: this is only for Workbench and application use. I you use you Amiga mainly to play games, this is all overkill. (Allthough ... with your Dell monitor you probably still have some vertical striping on your screen, which will disappear when using a scandoubler)
Steffest is offline  
Old 24 June 2019, 20:40   #11
FLiP79
Registered User

FLiP79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Turin, Italy
Posts: 12
You're totally right: I have that vertical striping, I thought it came from some old capacitor because this Amiga has not been recapped yet. Anyway... I will get the Indivision

My objective is to have a fantastic super-hi-res Workbench to use old and "new" apps, and then to expand it with networking and any other strange ideas hehe. Gaming is interesting and I will be happy to have it working (maybe also with a "random" monitor without particular features, because I currently use this Dell with my home desktop PC and I prefer to keep it where it is), but it will be a secondary use case, just like it has always been with my Amigas in the past.

Thank you very much!
FLiP79 is offline  
Old 24 June 2019, 23:48   #12
debiani386
New generation Amiga user

debiani386's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by FLiP79 View Post
I copied the monitor drivers from http://aminet.net/driver/moni/HighGFX40_6.lha ... unfortunately they don't work with my monitor. I think it "only" supports 15/31khz, like Debiani thought :/
I will try also the ones from BoingBag4 but I'm sure it will be the same. At this point, the simplest way is to get a scandoubler... what do you think about this cheap alternative? [ Show youtube player ]
I'm not sure about the input and output resolution it can accept.

If my understanding is correct, the cheap scandoublers only adjust the horizontal sweep frequency such that it will display on a 31khz monitor. The cheap ones often have issues with colours missing, or the wrong colours being displayed. If I am not mistaken, some of the cheap scandoublers induce a delay, so the frame rate is delayed.

The Indivision MKII is what I have and works a treat for my needs, though I have had the problem on rare occasion where the scandoubler pops off the video chip (and yes, the scandoubler is bolted down), but its pretty uncommon in my experience.


>> There should be no modifications needed to the startup-sequence, unless you have removed the bit where it runs all of the monitor drivers automatically


Yeah I forgot that I removed this from my startup-sequence - I was testing some video drivers for my Voodoo 3 card and forgot to set it back.
debiani386 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS wide gamma correction. Thorham Coders. System 62 26 June 2016 23:10
WinUAEX wide icons for XBMC Retroplay Amiga scene 35 15 September 2008 16:58
Wide Monitor AlfaRomeo support.Hardware 3 25 August 2008 10:19
Workbench 3.0 monitor resolutions thinlega request.Apps 6 23 October 2004 12:59
Wide Stereo Sound xtc request.UAE Wishlist 14 10 July 2004 20:16

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08068 seconds with 15 queries