English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 April 2018, 11:58   #3041
8 Bit Dreams
Retro maniac

8 Bit Dreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: near Munich / Germany
Posts: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmab View Post
I have the issue with or without the FPU. I have the issue anytime the cpu is running at any frequency above 12mhz. .
maybe we need a ferrit on the clock line to keep clock signal clear?
8 Bit Dreams is offline  
Old 07 April 2018, 17:33   #3042
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 2,670
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8 Bit Dreams View Post
maybe we need a ferrit on the clock line to keep clock signal clear?


It could be many things.

I have not been putting JTAG terminator pull ups on. Going to try that. It’s not the clock itself. It’s when the cpu is running at 12mhz or above.. if it’s in a double bus error state it programs without issue. I suspect the bus buffer is causing the issue somehow but I am struggling to imagine why.
plasmab is online now  
Old 07 April 2018, 21:00   #3043
keith
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Eastbourne
Posts: 86
Hi Just wonder is it not something strange making the other triggers not to be left floating...
keith is offline  
Old 08 April 2018, 01:26   #3044
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 2,670
Quote:
Originally Posted by keith View Post
Hi Just wonder is it not something strange making the other triggers not to be left floating...


I don’t understand what this means.
plasmab is online now  
Old 08 April 2018, 02:11   #3045
keith
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Eastbourne
Posts: 86
Hi Plasmab, with the above^ was just wondering on the the buffer ic that some thing might be affecting the latching or clock, but I might be way off here so please forgive me.

Last edited by keith; 08 April 2018 at 03:12.
keith is offline  
Old 08 April 2018, 10:42   #3046
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 2,670
Quote:
Originally Posted by keith View Post
Hi Plasmab, with the above^ was just wondering on the the buffer ic that some thing might be affecting the latching or clock, but I might be way off here so please forgive me.


Well yes. It’s the only major change between this board and the last revision so the buffer IC is going to be the obvious cause.

It doesn’t latch anything though. It’s just a buffer.
plasmab is online now  
Old 08 April 2018, 12:08   #3047
elenachen
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Nürnberg
Posts: 79
Maybe the rise/fall time of the buffer ic is the culprit? To fast a edge, to slow a edge for the rest of the circuitry?
elenachen is offline  
Old 08 April 2018, 17:10   #3048
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 2,670
Quote:
Originally Posted by elenachen View Post
Maybe the rise/fall time of the buffer ic is the culprit? To fast a edge, to slow a edge for the rest of the circuitry?
I think the issue is more along the lines of crosstalk between the JTAG lines and data bus.
plasmab is online now  
Old 08 April 2018, 19:21   #3049
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 2,670
Ok i think i'm fighting about 3-4 issues at the same time.

1. DiagROM has an autoconfig bug in it with ZIII cards in the ZII space.
2. I have a jtag crosstalk issue.. not a problem now i know but it means i cannot reflash while the cpu is running.
3. I have a bus overlap issue occurring between fast ram and the buffer.

Basically can all be sorted in firmware i think.
plasmab is online now  
Old 09 April 2018, 03:32   #3050
alenppc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Age: 38
Posts: 767
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8 Bit Dreams View Post
Since i started to use 1k resistor array's - i have noticed that almost all cards have problems at boot. LED light flashes for 2-3 seconds, then reboot follows, LED flashes, Amiga reboots (again) till finally Software Guru message appears, after pressing left mouse button - board loads fine and works without any issues. I can load WHDLoad games and software without any issues..till i do soft reboot. then that all repeats... Boards with 2k2 or 4k7 resistor array's are not affected with this issue.. i have to admit 1k resistence is a bit too low..
Did anyone had same issues here?
I haven't experienced any of that.

I have however just built 4 TF530s running at different speeds and using ISSI ram to experiment with. RC1 fixed the ISSI ram support, however I am noticing that these boards start to crash on Frontier after 15 mins running, which is odd because they don't crash on anything else so far. I am going to try to go back to 10k resistor networks to see what happens.
alenppc is offline  
Old 09 April 2018, 09:00   #3051
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 2,670
Terrible Fire Accelerators

Quote:
Originally Posted by alenppc View Post
I haven't experienced any of that.

I have however just built 4 TF530s running at different speeds and using ISSI ram to experiment with. RC1 fixed the ISSI ram support, however I am noticing that these boards start to crash on Frontier after 15 mins running, which is odd because they don't crash on anything else so far. I am going to try to go back to 10k resistor networks to see what happens.


A crash after ten mins might be CPU temp. Or at least that’s worth keeping an eye on.

EDIT.. another random thought if you have a reproducible crash is to try a pull-up on DTACK ... 2.2K should be perfect.

Last edited by plasmab; 09 April 2018 at 12:09.
plasmab is online now  
Old 09 April 2018, 22:19   #3052
8 Bit Dreams
Retro maniac

8 Bit Dreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: near Munich / Germany
Posts: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmab View Post
A crash after ten mins might be CPU temp. Or at least that’s worth keeping an eye on
Donno how much sun do You have in Canada currently, Alen, maybe it's indeed overheating?
We have almost summer here: 23° today with lot of sun..ideal weather for retrobright, lol
Have prepared black one on the trip to Italy:

Last edited by 8 Bit Dreams; 10 April 2018 at 00:39.
8 Bit Dreams is offline  
Old 10 April 2018, 14:58   #3053
EzdineG
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by alenppc View Post
I haven't experienced any of that.

I have however just built 4 TF530s running at different speeds and using ISSI ram to experiment with. RC1 fixed the ISSI ram support, however I am noticing that these boards start to crash on Frontier after 15 mins running, which is odd because they don't crash on anything else so far. I am going to try to go back to 10k resistor networks to see what happens.


Alen, I’ve seen the same behavior regardless of RAM. I’ve glued heat sinks to a few of them to see if it was indeed heat related. Sometimes the demo can loop as many as 6 times before locking up. I can’t otherwise crash these repeatably.

Does the release you’re using begin with a hopping bunny cracktro? Perhaps I need to find another version. I haven’t tried 10k resistors.
EzdineG is offline  
Old 10 April 2018, 17:17   #3054
alenppc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Age: 38
Posts: 767
Quote:
Donno how much sun do You have in Canada currently, Alen, maybe it's indeed overheating?
We have almost summer here: 23° today with lot of sun
We had -21°C the other morning, now a bit warmer but still in the negative territory... 2 more weeks of winter and it should be finally done...

Quote:
Originally Posted by EzdineG View Post
Alen, I’ve seen the same behavior regardless of RAM. I’ve glued heat sinks to a few of them to see if it was indeed heat related. Sometimes the demo can loop as many as 6 times before locking up. I can’t otherwise crash these repeatably.

Does the release you’re using begin with a hopping bunny cracktro? Perhaps I need to find another version. I haven’t tried 10k resistors.
I am using an original disk, not a cracked version. The WHDLoad version locks up faster than the floppy version though. The CPU stays lukewarm so it's not overheating, it's something else, but being a parent severely restricts my free time for testing, so I haven't had a chance to investigate further yet.
alenppc is offline  
Old 12 April 2018, 11:43   #3055
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 2,670
I’ve made some progress last night. Have family staying so haven’t streamed.

I got a spi rom chip, soldered it down and flashed it with a pi....



I have started compiling up flashrom for the tf53x series.
plasmab is online now  
Old 12 April 2018, 13:31   #3056
Locutus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 857
Is that intended for in circuit flashing of a onboard Flash ROM?
Locutus is offline  
Old 12 April 2018, 13:54   #3057
alenppc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Age: 38
Posts: 767
I went to replenish my stock of CPLDs just to find out Digikey hasn't got any left, somebody cleaned them out. Oh and they jacked up the price as well. F*ck.

Anybody knows if those from UTSource are any good?
alenppc is offline  
Old 12 April 2018, 14:52   #3058
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 2,670
Quote:
Originally Posted by Locutus View Post
Is that intended for in circuit flashing of a onboard Flash ROM?


Yup.
plasmab is online now  
Old 12 April 2018, 14:54   #3059
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 826
Quote:
Originally Posted by alenppc View Post
I went to replenish my stock of CPLDs just to find out Digikey hasn't got any left, somebody cleaned them out. Oh and they jacked up the price as well. F*ck.

Anybody knows if those from UTSource are any good?
I know mate I bought 20 last week for the TF328 and price was up the barstewards
but these are available
https://www.digikey.co.uk/product-de...982-ND/1957202

hard to keep prices so low with the chancers putting up the component prices when they see them moving
supaduper is offline  
Old 12 April 2018, 15:11   #3060
alenppc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Age: 38
Posts: 767
Quote:
Originally Posted by supaduper View Post
I know mate I bought 20 last week for the TF328 and price was up the barstewards
but these are available
https://www.digikey.co.uk/product-de...982-ND/1957202

hard to keep prices so low with the chancers putting up the component prices when they see them moving
Thanks a lot!
I was buying the C variant so far, I assume the I variant also works?

But yeah, holy crap it's $8.20 per chip now. They were less than $5 originally.
EDIT: also none of the XC9536XL's left, in either C or I variety.
alenppc is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Listening to Amiga music with too much treble makes it sound terrible! Foebane Amiga scene 4 08 October 2016 06:30
Terrible usb drive performance? lovinggames support.FS-UAE 5 11 March 2015 09:06
Broken MASPlayer - Terrible hissing. SS454 support.Hardware 8 17 November 2013 01:41
Accelerators pmc MarketPlace 9 04 November 2009 20:23
Problem with a terrible, simply effect! Camionsauro Coders. General 13 19 April 2009 08:53

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.21005 seconds with 16 queries