English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 March 2018, 22:24   #3021
8 Bit Dreams
Retro maniac

8 Bit Dreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: near Munich / Germany
Posts: 358
@ Stephen:
Finally found time to solder up a Rev.3 PCB i got from You - runs nice @50Mhz on A500, however, has same gitches on A2000 like mine Rev.2 boards tested before..

Have also tried Rev.3 with some Zorro II cards i have here:
AT Bus Clone 2008 (IDE Board)
4MB RAM Card
both Zorro II cards are not working with TF - 4MB RAM card is shown as defective
if i add IDE Card - both Zorro cards are ignored.

All tests was done with and without CDIS jumper mounted..

Waiting on 74F139 demultiplexers now, to be able to build 2.5 Slow RAM GARY adapter, however, i got a feeling, it will not work with RC2 for same reason.. Can You, please, take a look at it some day?

Actually, A2000 firmware is urgently needed as many users are asking for it..

Will test both rev's TF530 with A1000 tomorrow and post my results here
regards,

-Viktor
8 Bit Dreams is offline  
Old 31 March 2018, 03:06   #3022
alenppc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Age: 38
Posts: 764
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8 Bit Dreams View Post
Waiting on 74F139 demultiplexers now, to be able to build 2.5 Slow RAM GARY adapter, however, i got a feeling, it will not work with RC2 for same reason.. Can You, please, take a look at it some day?
I've been meaning to build one of these and send it to Stephen to help him reproduce the issue but I keep having trouble finding working ram chips. (The Chinese ones are very much a hit and a miss.) I am hoping to be able to do this soon... it's a long weekend and the kid has being exhausting me, but hopefully I can do this on Monday.
alenppc is offline  
Old 31 March 2018, 10:48   #3023
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 2,636
Quote:
Originally Posted by alenppc View Post
I've been meaning to build one of these and send it to Stephen to help him reproduce the issue but I keep having trouble finding working ram chips. (The Chinese ones are very much a hit and a miss.) I am hoping to be able to do this soon... it's a long weekend and the kid has being exhausting me, but hopefully I can do this on Monday.


Yeah I am aware people are waiting on stuff. I haven’t even been able to set foot in the lab for a week due to other stuff going on. It’s setup to debug the TF534 at the moment.

I’ve not even had time to play with my new logic analyser... so much going on.

As many will be aware I went to sit my instrument rating test and wasn’t able to due to a missing bit of paper (actually a date on the last page of a bit of paper I had was out) so I’ve been rebooking everything, getting a new visa, looking after my child because my wife has been going crazy with me away and trying to catch up at work from all the time I’ve been off.

I’ve built the TF534 but there is an issue with the FPU .. not sure if it’s a soldering or logic issue yet.
plasmab is online now  
Old 31 March 2018, 12:32   #3024
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 2,636
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8 Bit Dreams View Post
@ Stephen:

Actually, A2000 firmware is urgently needed as many users are asking for it..
I've never officially supported the A2000 with the TF530. Its aimed at the A500 and Atari STFM. I'm happy to try and tweak things for the 2000 but I dont intend to spend months on it. This is what the 534 is aimed at fixing.
plasmab is online now  
Old 31 March 2018, 15:34   #3025
8 Bit Dreams
Retro maniac

8 Bit Dreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: near Munich / Germany
Posts: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmab View Post
I've never officially supported the A2000 with the TF530. Its aimed at the A500 and Atari STFM. I'm happy to try and tweak things for the 2000 but I dont intend to spend months on it. This is what the 534 is aimed at fixing.
I know, mate,
first thing i do - i warn about it all single person obtaining a board from me. Also everyone was warned it is rather a hobby than a commercial project done by one single person in free time between work and family. So users should accept it or free to go for commercial products.. So it's totally ok. I just asked about with hope that You take a look at it some day, especially, after that pre-RC firmware is working otherwise fine except been a bit picky to CF cards. That's it..

There is one more thing about RC2 firmware i have noticed by myself and also some users have reported to me. Wanna share it here, maybe someone else had same problems. Maybe it is indeed what's causing crashing on 534:

I'm building 50Mhz boards only, so my further experiments was done on 50Mhz boards only.. Since i started to use 1k resistor array's - i have noticed that almost all cards have problems at boot. LED light flashes for 2-3 seconds, then reboot follows, LED flashes, Amiga reboots (again) till finally Software Guru message appears, after pressing left mouse button - board loads fine and works without any issues. I can load WHDLoad games and software without any issues..till i do soft reboot. then that all repeats... Boards with 2k2 or 4k7 resistor array's are not affected with this issue.. i have to admit 1k resistence is a bit too low..
Did anyone had same issues here?

Last edited by 8 Bit Dreams; 31 March 2018 at 15:42.
8 Bit Dreams is offline  
Old 31 March 2018, 15:43   #3026
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 2,636
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8 Bit Dreams View Post
I know, mate,
first thing i do - i warn about it all single person obtaining a board from me. Also everyone was warned it is rather a hobby than a commercial project done by one single person in free time between work and family. So users should accept it or free to go for commercial products.. So it's totally ok. I just asked about with hope that You take a look at it some day, especially, after that pre-RC firmware is working otherwise fine except been a bit picky to CF cards. That's it..

There is one more thing about RC2 firmware i have noticed by myself and also some users have reported to me. Wanna share it here, maybe someone else had same problems. Maybe it is indeed what's causing crashing on 534:

I'm building 50Mhz boards only, so my further experiments was done on 50Mhz boards only.. Since i started to use 1k resistor array's - i have noticed that almost all cards have problems at boot. LED light flashes for 2-3 seconds, then reboot follows, LED flashes, Amiga reboots (again) till finally Software Guru message appears, after pressing left mouse button - board loads fine and works without any issues. I can load WHDLoad games and software without any issues..till i do soft reboot. then that all repeats... Boards with 2k2 or 4k7 resistor array's are not affected with this issue.. i have to admit 1k resistence is a bit too low..
Did anyone had same issues here?


Possibly having this issue with TF534 right now. I suspect it’s causing too much current draw for the Amiga power supply.
plasmab is online now  
Old 31 March 2018, 20:17   #3027
Homer79
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Redruth
Posts: 20
Although I only have my board running at 25Mhz at the moment, I've since
had a new 030+fpu rated for 40Mhz delivered. Would i need to tweak the
component values or am I ok to run at 40Mhz once the new crystal is delivered.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 8 Bit Dreams View Post
I know, mate,
first thing i do - i warn about it all single person obtaining a board from me. Also everyone was warned it is rather a hobby than a commercial project done by one single person in free time between work and family. So users should accept it or free to go for commercial products.. So it's totally ok. I just asked about with hope that You take a look at it some day, especially, after that pre-RC firmware is working otherwise fine except been a bit picky to CF cards. That's it..

There is one more thing about RC2 firmware i have noticed by myself and also some users have reported to me. Wanna share it here, maybe someone else had same problems. Maybe it is indeed what's causing crashing on 534:

I'm building 50Mhz boards only, so my further experiments was done on 50Mhz boards only.. Since i started to use 1k resistor array's - i have noticed that almost all cards have problems at boot. LED light flashes for 2-3 seconds, then reboot follows, LED flashes, Amiga reboots (again) till finally Software Guru message appears, after pressing left mouse button - board loads fine and works without any issues. I can load WHDLoad games and software without any issues..till i do soft reboot. then that all repeats... Boards with 2k2 or 4k7 resistor array's are not affected with this issue.. i have to admit 1k resistence is a bit too low..
Did anyone had same issues here?
Homer79 is offline  
Old 31 March 2018, 20:41   #3028
8 Bit Dreams
Retro maniac

8 Bit Dreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: near Munich / Germany
Posts: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by Homer79 View Post
Although I only have my board running at 25Mhz at the moment, I've since
had a new 030+fpu rated for 40Mhz delivered. Would i need to tweak the
component values or am I ok to run at 40Mhz once the new crystal is delivered.
You can do a slight overclock of 40Mhz CPU & FPU and let them run @50Mhz, these work nice and stable even without heatsinks, however, i do install passive heatsinks for boards shipped to Australia & Italy as they have more sunny days as usual german summer

What about resistor array's we spoken above - try Your build and let us know if You have any stability issues
8 Bit Dreams is offline  
Old 01 April 2018, 18:17   #3029
Homer79
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Redruth
Posts: 20
It is very annoying, I have a gotek drive which I've reflashed but it only displays F-F
When its powered up. I can do USB updates, but alas it does nothing else.
But the jumpers on this drive are different to all the conversion guides.
I've flashed Diagram and I can do every test fine, its showing the TF530 board.
I did wonder what the 64K memory segment was for though.
Unless there is a way of preparing the compact flash drive in windows I'm stuck
Waiting for my new gotek drive to arrive.
Which of the resistor networks do you need to change for stability?
Homer79 is offline  
Old 01 April 2018, 20:12   #3030
8 Bit Dreams
Retro maniac

8 Bit Dreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: near Munich / Germany
Posts: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by Homer79 View Post
It is very annoying, I have a gotek drive which I've reflashed but it only displays F-F
When its powered up. I can do USB updates, but alas it does nothing else.
did You copied the files necessary to boot into root?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Homer79 View Post
Unless there is a way of preparing the compact flash drive in windows I'm stuck
Waiting for my new gotek drive to arrive.
Use WinUAE and you'll be fine
[ Show youtube player ]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Homer79 View Post
Which of the resistor networks do you need to change for stability?
seems that one beneath the FPU is the bugger

PS
totally missed the stream today... There was no notification for it!?
PPS
have tested EzdineG's A1000 adaptor today, i can confirm it works excellent with TF530 accelerator card. Pictures will follow soon

Last edited by 8 Bit Dreams; 02 April 2018 at 00:09.
8 Bit Dreams is offline  
Old 05 April 2018, 09:18   #3031
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 2,636
Started to build another TF534 last night. Update later tonight
plasmab is online now  
Old 05 April 2018, 19:17   #3032
8 Bit Dreams
Retro maniac

8 Bit Dreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: near Munich / Germany
Posts: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmab View Post
Started to build another TF534 last night. Update later tonight
Hope this will give us a lot of answers
8 Bit Dreams is offline  
Old 05 April 2018, 23:40   #3033
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 2,636
Same issue seen with clean build. Even when powered by the 6632B... will investigate further
plasmab is online now  
Old 06 April 2018, 09:50   #3034
8 Bit Dreams
Retro maniac

8 Bit Dreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: near Munich / Germany
Posts: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmab View Post
Same issue seen with clean build. Even when powered by the 6632B... will investigate further
Hmm..Ok, at least we know it isn't hardware related..
8 Bit Dreams is offline  
Old 06 April 2018, 10:15   #3035
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 2,636
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8 Bit Dreams View Post
Hmm..Ok, at least we know it isn't hardware related..


I’m betting I’ve not decoupled the ram cpld enough. However the issue seems to get worse the more caps I put on. Very strange
plasmab is online now  
Old 06 April 2018, 10:21   #3036
elenachen
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Nürnberg
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmab View Post
I’m betting I’ve not decoupled the ram cpld enough. However the issue seems to get worse the more caps I put on. Very strange
[ Show youtube player ]

Dave made an interesting video regarding just that. The decoupling is mostly dependent on frequency. He also shows that in one of his test setups, the second added capacitor makes the bandwidth even worse.
elenachen is offline  
Old 06 April 2018, 11:52   #3037
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 2,636
Terrible Fire Accelerators

Quote:
Originally Posted by elenachen View Post
[ Show youtube player ]

Dave made an interesting video regarding just that. The decoupling is mostly dependent on frequency. He also shows that in one of his test setups, the second added capacitor makes the bandwidth even worse.


Seen. Taught at uni even. In theory I shouldn’t have an issue but I need to measure what’s happening.

Plus I always use X7R multilayer caps which do this pretty much for free. I think I’m just low on caps.

Last edited by plasmab; 06 April 2018 at 12:13.
plasmab is online now  
Old 06 April 2018, 14:31   #3038
keith
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Eastbourne
Posts: 86
@Plasmab just wondering with this @ different lower frequencies under 50Mhz does the behaviour change.
keith is offline  
Old 06 April 2018, 14:35   #3039
8 Bit Dreams
Retro maniac

8 Bit Dreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: near Munich / Germany
Posts: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmab View Post
Seen. Taught at uni even. In theory I shouldn’t have an issue but I need to measure what’s happening.

Plus I always use X7R multilayer caps which do this pretty much for free. I think I’m just low on caps.
@ Stephen,
reWatched last stream and noticed that You have done Your research with FPU istalled..i'm suspecting the FPU can cause some errors, maybe You should try to remove it and look how TF534 works without it?

Another question, why on all retro accelerators the frequency generated from the crystal oscillator is divided to 2? Does it improoves stability in some way?
8 Bit Dreams is offline  
Old 06 April 2018, 14:56   #3040
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 2,636
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8 Bit Dreams View Post
@ Stephen,

reWatched last stream and noticed that You have done Your research with FPU istalled..i'm suspecting the FPU can cause some errors, maybe You should try to remove it and look how TF534 works without it?



Another question, why on all retro accelerators the frequency generated from the crystal oscillator is divided to 2? Does it improoves stability in some way?


I have the issue with or without the FPU. I have the issue anytime the cpu is running at any frequency above 12mhz. The ram cpld will not flash but will run.

The 040 needs a doubled Pclk frequency from the Bclk.... but it’s usually so you can time on half clock steps in the logic.
plasmab is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 members and 1 guests)
amigatomte
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Listening to Amiga music with too much treble makes it sound terrible! Foebane Amiga scene 4 08 October 2016 06:30
Terrible usb drive performance? lovinggames support.FS-UAE 5 11 March 2015 09:06
Broken MASPlayer - Terrible hissing. SS454 support.Hardware 8 17 November 2013 01:41
Accelerators pmc MarketPlace 9 04 November 2009 20:23
Problem with a terrible, simply effect! Camionsauro Coders. General 13 19 April 2009 08:53

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.21042 seconds with 16 queries