English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Amix

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 June 2013, 16:40   #61
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 3,333
Does Amix issue a REQUEST SENSE after the first REWIND? If so, are you returning the BOM (beginning of medium) bit set in the request sense data then?
mark_k is online now  
Old 20 June 2013, 16:58   #62
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 49
Posts: 26,502
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_k View Post
Does Amix issue a REQUEST SENSE after the first REWIND? If so, are you returning the BOM (beginning of medium) bit set in the request sense data then?
I don't see any BOM-bits in sense data, only end of media (EOM) bit.

But yes, sequence is:
REQUEST SENSE
REWIND
REQUEST SENSE
REWIND
REQUEST SENSE
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 20 June 2013, 20:40   #63
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 49
Posts: 26,502
I still don't have any ideas.. But here is test version if anyone cares. http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae.zip

Tape emulation works currently strangely, all files must be in single archive (for example zip) and file called tape.index must be also included that contains order of files.

Manually add something like following to config file to add tape drive (uaehf0 = SCSI HD):

uaehf1=tape0,rw,ABC:<path to tape.zip>,0,0,0,512,0,,scsi4
(ABC: is unused device name. Apparently tape drive must use SCSI ID 4)

tape.index contents when using 2.01 install:
Code:
list.cpio
core.cpio
Cdev.cpio
lp.cpio
man.cpio
net.cpio
public.cpio
sysadm.cpio
terminfo.cpio
text.cpio
uucp.cpio
Xcore.cpio
Xbasic.cpio
olcore.cpio
Xtras.cpio
Xdev.cpio
olddev.cpio
conf.cpio
emacs.cpio
games.cpio
amigasrc.cpio
pubsrc.cpio
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 20 June 2013, 21:14   #64
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 3,333
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
I don't see any BOM-bits in sense data, only end of media (EOM) bit.
What if you set the EOM bit when a REWIND is attempted and the tape is already positioned at the start? The SCSI (1) standard doesn't say whether that should definitely happen or not though:
Code:
  The end-of-medium (EOM) bit indicates that an end-of-medium condition (end-
of-tape, beginning-of-tape, out-of-paper, etc) exists on a sequential access 
device or printer device.  For sequential-access devices, this bit indicates 
that the unit is at or past the early-warning end-of-tape if the direction was 
forward or that the command could not be completed because beginning-of-tape 
was encountered if the direction was reverse.
There are a couple of tape drive manuals which might be of use:
Wangtek 5525ES (I think the earlier 5150ES might have worked with Amix, maybe that drive is backward-compatible?)
Archive Viper 2060S/2150S

I remember reading of a patch to Amix to get it to work with the Viper drive. So you probably couldn't use a Viper to install Amix using unmodified boot disks.

It seems the QIC-150 format only specifies 512-byte blocks. Nothing else is allowed.

In the Wangtek 5525ES PDF, see the REQUEST SENSE details starting at page 82. That mentions a BOM bit (byte 9 bit 3 in the request sense data), and also ASC/ASCQ of 00/04 meaning "Beginning of Medium or beginning of partition detected". The drive can also return SCSI-2 extended sense data, where BOM is byte 19 bit 3. Whether the drive is in SCSI-1 or SCSI-2 mode is determined by a jumper on the PCB.

Also note the amigasrc and pubsrc archives should be compressed with the UNIX compress command (as they are on the original tape). So amigasrc.cpio.Z and pubsrc.cpio.Z would be better names for those.
mark_k is online now  
Old 20 June 2013, 21:34   #65
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 49
Posts: 26,502
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_k View Post
In the Wangtek 5525ES PDF, see the REQUEST SENSE details starting at page 82. That mentions a BOM bit (byte 9 bit 3 in the request sense data), and also ASC/ASCQ of 00/04 meaning "Beginning of Medium or beginning of partition detected". The drive can also return SCSI-2 extended sense data, where BOM is byte 19 bit 3. Whether the drive is in SCSI-1 or SCSI-2 mode is determined by a jumper on the PCB.
Setting BOM bit seems to help, now it does not abort immediately anymore but attempts to execute MODE_SELECT command (which is not yet implemented).

I guess these bits are obsolete because "SCSI Stream Commands" document from 2003 does not mention them. (Wangtek manual looks nice, thanks)

Amix only reads 14 bytes of sense data, I guess it means Amix only works with SCSI-1 tape drive.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 21 June 2013, 08:11   #66
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 49
Posts: 26,502
Tape installation works! Winuae.zip updated.

BOM-bit and some fixes in SCSI emulation needed. Wrong data size if command data direction was from Amiga to device and command was not write (MODE SELECT) and WD Select and Transfer was used. Yet another situation that was not used by any other SCSI driver.

EDIT: I only tested 2.01 tape set.

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 21 June 2013 at 13:37.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 24 June 2013, 21:27   #67
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 49
Posts: 26,502
Tape drive emulation is now mostly finished, including GUI support.

Added plain directory support, archives are still supported. Index file renamed to index.tape.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 25 June 2013, 01:13   #68
rhester72
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: New York / USA
Posts: 360
Ho-ly crap.

AGA support, A3000 chipset support, A2024 support, MMU support, and now tape. My life is complete...and so is the A3000UX.

*bows gracefully at Toni*

Rodney
rhester72 is offline  
Old 25 June 2013, 11:58   #69
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 49
Posts: 26,502
Hardware level graphics card emulation is still missing
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 25 June 2013, 17:16   #70
rhester72
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: New York / USA
Posts: 360
I was listing out as complete a list I could remember of things that Toni said he'd never do...and then did anyway, much to our benefit. =)

Rodney
rhester72 is offline  
Old 25 June 2013, 17:19   #71
rhester72
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: New York / USA
Posts: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Hardware level graphics card emulation is still missing
Are you referring to the A3000UX? Did it come with a dedicated card? (I always thought it was "software" out to the A2024 - but have never seen one in real life.)

Rodney
rhester72 is offline  
Old 25 June 2013, 17:29   #72
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 49
Posts: 26,502
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhester72 View Post
I was listing out as complete a list I could remember of things that Toni said he'd never do...and then did anyway, much to our benefit. =)
I am quite sure I never said I'd not emulate AGA because when I started with UAE, AGA was one of the first things I partially implemented

Quote:
Originally Posted by rhester72 View Post
Are you referring to the A3000UX? Did it come with a dedicated card? (I always thought it was "software" out to the A2024 - but have never seen one in real life.)
Amix has drivers for some "real" graphics cards. IMHO A2024 is not a graphics card, more like a hack/workaround for chipset limits. (Graphics board emulation plans: http://eab.abime.net/request-uae-wis...emulation.html)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 06 August 2013, 20:51   #73
Noth
Registered User
 
Noth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
Posts: 184
I've been playing with AMIX for the last dozen days, thanks so much Toni for getting the MMU emulation working! I'm posting here: http://forums.nekochan.net/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=16727870. I'm trying to add a few more tools to update some of the most glaringly outdated programs. Especially for DNS.

Has anyone tried a tape method install ? It's on my todo list.
Noth is offline  
Old 06 August 2013, 21:09   #74
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 49
Posts: 26,502
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noth View Post
Has anyone tried a tape method install ? It's on my todo list.
Tape install worked for me using tape.index listed in post #63. I didn't test if installer expects files in original order (=index needed) or not. Tape drive configuration is in GUI, no need for manual config file editing anymore. Tape drive must be SCSI unit #4.

Better do official tape installation first before attempting to solve possibly non-existing bugs due to hacked installer.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 06 August 2013, 22:05   #75
Noth
Registered User
 
Noth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
Posts: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Tape install worked for me using tape.index listed in post #63. I didn't test if installer expects files in original order (=index needed) or not. Tape drive configuration is in GUI, no need for manual config file editing anymore. Tape drive must be SCSI unit #4.

Better do official tape installation first before attempting to solve possibly non-existing bugs due to hacked installer.
Yeah I'll give it a go once I've got a few more bits added to the toolchain. Thanks!
Noth is offline  
Old 08 August 2013, 19:14   #76
Noth
Registered User
 
Noth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
Posts: 184
Tried the tape install both as the directory method (with an index.tape in it) and a tape.tar that contained the contents of the directory but not the directory itself as the tape drive... no dice . This was for a 2.1 install. Not sure what I'm doing wrong, any ideas?
Noth is offline  
Old 08 August 2013, 19:36   #77
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 49
Posts: 26,502
No ideas without config file, logs and what exactly Amix says when it attempts to find the tape. Also does it see the tape drive in initial scsi detection?
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 08 August 2013, 20:31   #78
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 49
Posts: 26,502
I tested again, index is required, without index it only complains about errors.. (Note that index file is called index.tape, not original tape.index)

You should see something like this in the log:

Code:
27-090 [7 226-007]: WD33C93 in use
27-348 [19 225-283]: TAPEEMU: scsi command 0x12.00.00.00.FE.00
27-348 [19 226-288]: TAPEEMU INQUIRY
31-085 [5953 015-251]: 68030 MMU enabled. Page size = 2048
Following comes after harddrive selection:

Code:
2013-08-08 21:27:01
01-685 [16277 006=173]: TAPEEMU: scsi command 0x03.00.00.00.0E.00
01-686 [16277 001=195]: TAPEEMU: scsi command 0x15.00.00.00.0C.00
01-687 [16277 000=217]: TAPEEMU MODE SELECT BUFM=1 BDL=8 Density=15 NB=0 BL=512
05-335 [16460 002-031]: TAPEEMU: scsi command 0x08.01.00.00.04.00
05-335 [16460 007-036]: TAPEEMU READ 2048 (0, 4)
05-337 [16460 006-062]: TAPEEMU: File 'D:\amiga\hdf\amix\amix.zip\list.cpio'
05-338 [16460 003-071]: TAPEEMU: scsi command 0x08.01.00.00.04.00
05-338 [16460 001-077]: TAPEEMU READ 2048 (0, 4)
05-441 [16465 001=128]: TAPEEMU: File 'D:\amiga\hdf\amix\amix.zip\core.cpio'
05-442 [16465 006=133]: TAPEEMU READ FILE END, 1536 remaining
05-442 [16465 000=137]: TAPEEMU: scsi command 0x03.00.00.00.0E.00
Index is wrong if first TAPEEMU: File 'xx' is not list.cpio and second isn't core.cpio.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 08 August 2013, 23:18   #79
Noth
Registered User
 
Noth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
Posts: 184
Ok, it keeps failing when looking for file List... but the tape drive never seems to be detected despite being on SCSI4. Logs + screenshot attached.

EDIT: Can't see any TAPEEMU and I'm using WinUAE 2.7b6 :/ Maybe rename all the tape files to their "real" names with .cpio extension?

EDIT2: gotcha about the index.tape needing list.cpio and core.cpio as the two first entries in index.tape. Also winuaelog.txt DOES have TAPEEMU, sorry.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	tape.jpg
Views:	766
Size:	86.7 KB
ID:	36324   Click image for larger version

Name:	tapedrivelist.jpeg
Views:	765
Size:	219.2 KB
ID:	36328  
Attached Files
File Type: uae amix-test.uae (14.7 KB, 615 views)
File Type: txt winuaebootlog.txt (9.8 KB, 679 views)
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (10.7 KB, 621 views)

Last edited by Noth; 08 August 2013 at 23:34.
Noth is offline  
Old 08 August 2013, 23:58   #80
Noth
Registered User
 
Noth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
Posts: 184
Ok I managed to get it to read the tape... but it didn't get very far once I told it to install every package on the tape. I think you have to rename each blob to blob.cpio according to index.tape's entries if you want anything to happen ... and there's a few of those cpio files that appear to be corrupted (I did a manual cpio of the various blobs within an already working AMIX 2.1p2a install to check). Hopefully it's the non critical stuff, like gnu sources. Here goes... Thanks again Toni!

EDIT: Confirmed, the install completes although some packages are definitely corrupted somehow. Unfortunately amigasrc seems to be among them... I'll see what I can do now I've succeeded in doing a tape install. This is SO retro and cool!

Last edited by Noth; 09 August 2013 at 01:11.
Noth is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amix on WinUAE: Access to USB? bigbod support.WinUAE 3 06 August 2013 20:46
A godd bbs prog except amix Wiking67 request.Apps 8 24 January 2010 02:36
AMIX an an emulator? swampcretin support.Apps 16 09 September 2005 23:01
Amix Disk 1 on A1200/030 redblade support.Apps 0 25 November 2004 08:36
WinUAE 0817r3-GUI dissappears/ WinUAE freezes. 7-Zark-7 support.WinUAE 2 23 December 2001 14:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:05.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10655 seconds with 14 queries