English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 May 2012, 12:05   #1
diablothe2nd
Registered User

diablothe2nd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northampton, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 1,232
Troubleshooting - FastATA with Indivision

Lets continue the discussion and problem solving here

as i've said on the indivision thread, I think the solution is to angle your FastATA in such a way that it clears the indi and it's connector but still misses the keyboard.

pics attached:








my solution is to remove conflicting pins of the ATA around the indi connector and to use rom sockets with an extra "row" of sockets to the rear.

other potential solutions involve long legged sockets but it's been discovered that these are square pins and too big for the mainboard rom sockets. EDIT i've discovered that square pin sockets do fit, they are just a tight squeeze. the tight squeeze has the benefit of not needing zip-ties and making a better connection for higher PIO modes. read on for further info

when i get mine (should arrive today) i shall see what's needed to make them fit.

Last edited by diablothe2nd; 15 May 2012 at 22:45. Reason: added pics and a little more info
diablothe2nd is offline  
Old 15 May 2012, 13:45   #2
diablothe2nd
Registered User

diablothe2nd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northampton, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 1,232
OK package from Spiratronics on ebay recieved.

I've just tested the long legged sockets in the mainboard and they do actually fit. it's snug but that's great for contact. they literally just need cutting to size. obviously if you've changed your mainboard sockets to round pin, this wont work

Diablo 3 also just arrived so i'm not sure i'll be around for a while
diablothe2nd is offline  
Old 15 May 2012, 14:22   #3
diablothe2nd
Registered User

diablothe2nd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northampton, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 1,232
OK i decided to cut the pins and test before delving into Diablo 3 as i know some of you are relying on my results.

the results are, it's PERFECT! and the connection is so solid there's no need for zip ties.

i'll take some pics and measurements so you can duplicate my results if you wish.
diablothe2nd is offline  
Old 15 May 2012, 14:30   #4
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 50
Posts: 2,824
have you got a link to the sockets you used?
roy bates is offline  
Old 15 May 2012, 14:34   #5
diablothe2nd
Registered User

diablothe2nd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northampton, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 1,232
yes but they've only got one left, you'll have to add the seller to your watchlist to see when they come back in stock as the link wont update when this ones expired:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/ws/eBayISA...E:L:OU:GB:1123

uploading piccies now
diablothe2nd is offline  
Old 15 May 2012, 14:43   #6
diablothe2nd
Registered User

diablothe2nd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northampton, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 1,232
here's the piccies

Installed and tested working:



view of the angle






Shortest leg measurement:





Longest leg measurement:

diablothe2nd is offline  
Old 15 May 2012, 15:51   #7
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 43
Posts: 1,024
great mate will have a proper look when at home

thanks for sharing
johnim is offline  
Old 15 May 2012, 16:06   #8
diablothe2nd
Registered User

diablothe2nd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northampton, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 1,232
one thing to note, you MUST attach the sockets to the ata FIRST when installing this mod. i broke one of the supporting cross brackets of the long legged socket when pushing it into the mainboard first. superglue fixed the break but i thought i'd save others the headache.

So basically, after cutting the pins, mount the sockets on the ATA... then to insert the ATA into the mainboard push the longest pins in first, making sure they go into the mainboard correctly (one pin tried to go the wrong side of the clips in the socket first time around for me), then work your way back to the shortest pins, checking and double checking as you go.

it will require some force so make sure you've got lots of firm support under the mainboard.

once you get this baby in and seated, you wont be getting it out in a hurry LOL i bent a few pins while prising it from the mainboard for the photos after testing the ata first.

the great news is, a CF card that refused to run in anything faster than PIO3 (would crash the whole system on anything higher just by opening a folder) now works in PIO4... it worked also in PIO5 without a crash until i tried to copy a large file... so i think the square pins actually give WAY better contact than the round pins.

as a side note it's sort of ironic that the square pins are better, having fried my last mainboard when trying to change to roundpin. i'd have only have had to change back again for this mod. LOL
diablothe2nd is offline  
Old 15 May 2012, 16:17   #9
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 50
Posts: 2,824
you could try bending the pins on the socket (at an angle from the base of the socket)as well as shortening them,only a suggestion mind you.
roy bates is offline  
Old 15 May 2012, 16:21   #10
diablothe2nd
Registered User

diablothe2nd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northampton, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 1,232
Quote:
Originally Posted by roy bates View Post
you could try bending the pins on the socket (at an angle from the base of the socket)as well as shortening them,only a suggestion mind you.
sort of.

if you bend the pins so they all point down, they are effectively closer together because of the angle which makes fitting the unit a little more troublesome.

you can see where the middle two rows bent outwards because they are slightly closer together from the angle they come from.
diablothe2nd is offline  
Old 15 May 2012, 16:36   #11
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 50
Posts: 2,824
ah yes,i see
roy bates is offline  
Old 15 May 2012, 21:53   #12
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 6,001
I've tried with my pair of sockets and it wasn't working, so I'm going to cut the square ones.

So, the measures to cut the files of pins are 5mm, 6,5mm, 7,5mm and 9mm ?
Retrofan is offline  
Old 15 May 2012, 22:13   #13
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 43
Posts: 1,024
hi guys my square ones do fit but need extra force
johnim is offline  
Old 15 May 2012, 22:24   #14
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 6,001
Do fit? I'm with mines right now and it seems toooo much force. I think I'm going to file them a little.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 15 May 2012, 22:30   #15
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 43
Posts: 1,024
just a pain to get each row level
johnim is offline  
Old 15 May 2012, 22:32   #16
diablothe2nd
Registered User

diablothe2nd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northampton, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 1,232
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
So, the measures to cut the files of pins are 5mm, 6,5mm, 7,5mm and 9mm ?
just cut the 5mm and 9mm and then draw a line with a marker pen between the two points for the middle two rows to cut... much more accurate
diablothe2nd is offline  
Old 15 May 2012, 22:42   #17
DonAmiga
Registered User

DonAmiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 521
Well seen as we're close to a solution I ordered my first FastATA from Amigakit so hopefully will be here soon
DonAmiga is offline  
Old 15 May 2012, 22:52   #18
diablothe2nd
Registered User

diablothe2nd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northampton, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 1,232
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonAmiga View Post
Well seen as we're close to a solution I ordered my first FastATA from Amigakit so hopefully will be here soon



they are tempramental buggers with the media you feed them, but once you hit the butter zone they are awesome
diablothe2nd is offline  
Old 15 May 2012, 22:57   #19
DonAmiga
Registered User

DonAmiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 521
Cheers, looking forward to it and your thread will be great for support
DonAmiga is offline  
Old 15 May 2012, 23:52   #20
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 43
Posts: 1,024
yay got mine working but slightly to high a few mm will do adjustment tmoz
johnim is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] Indivision AGA (for CD32/4000) + Indivision ECS Seaside MarketPlace 3 15 March 2012 23:03
Some OS 3.9 troubleshooting help needed runequester support.Apps 3 12 April 2011 15:53
Indivision AGA 1200 and FastATA 1200 - fitty or pity? 8bitbubsy support.Hardware 3 17 September 2009 05:20
need help troubleshooting kipper2k support.Hardware 0 06 March 2009 02:55
WinUAE troubleshooting! enigma support.WinUAE 3 06 February 2002 02:31

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09019 seconds with 13 queries