English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 June 2015, 19:25   #1
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Black Amiga Mice

I've just discovered that the original A600 mouse has the same PCB as the CDTV mouse, only difference is it's wired for A600/A1200's.

I've swapped the boards over and I now have a fully functioning black Amiga Mouse. The only white bit is the lead which I will be changing to black when my e-bay order arrives from China (probably just before X-mas).
Arnie is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 04 June 2015, 19:27   #2
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,316
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
What kind of cable did you find?
Jope is offline  
Old 04 June 2015, 19:29   #3
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
It's the extension cable for Amiga/Atari etc...
Arnie is offline  
Old 04 June 2015, 19:58   #4
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,316
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Ah yes, I was eyeing those. Too thick to be nice for mouse use, but perfect for resurrecting joysticks.

It'd be lovely if someone made really thin 8 conductor shielded cable, but this has proved a bit difficult to find.
Jope is offline  
Old 04 June 2015, 20:06   #5
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Well if it's no good I was thinking of buying a mega drive controller and salvaging the lead from that. There are some really cheap knock off ones from China, only a couple of 's.

EDIT: Looking at the mouse cable, it measures 4mm dia, I've seen some 8 core at 5.4mm dia, too thick?

EDIT: What about mini din 8 cable? These were used by apple and sun McroSystems.

Last edited by Arnie; 04 June 2015 at 21:04.
Arnie is offline  
Old 04 June 2015, 21:30   #6
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,316
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Yeh, some existing cable with the ends cut off would also work.
Jope is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Huge price drop on wireless optical Amiga mice now only 14.99 Mounty MarketPlace 20 17 January 2014 23:42
Amiga games with mice/rats s2325 Retrogaming General Discussion 31 03 April 2013 15:52
Selling : Amiga 500/2000 Tank Mice NEW Amiga-Digital MarketPlace 4 23 March 2010 14:25
Modding modern mice for Amiga Techx support.Hardware 9 13 August 2005 01:46
Amiga Mouse or Mice sarek2k MarketPlace 5 28 October 2004 16:17

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14145 seconds with 13 queries