English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 May 2012, 05:58   #61
rampartsagain
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Porto/Portugal
Posts: 387
if you put an 4 way ide on it i buy that for a dollar
hehe excellent work guys i contacted several months ago the main author of this project he is very kind he could also provide me the cpld but the problem is to get the compatible ram for it ,and my lack of time didnīt helped me ,and that 4 way ide is killing me i canīt get one even on amigakit if i could put my hands on one of those i have an amiga 600 cdrom waiting well too actually
rampartsagain is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 13 May 2012, 16:19   #62
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 897
Kipper is a great guy and a terrific engineer. I have full confidence in all his projects
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 19 May 2012, 01:42   #63
duga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
I mirrored the socket, I have put one of my 68 pin sockets over the cpu and checked clearance, if i have to create a daughter board then so be it. I have mapped the pins to allow for the socket being upside down/back to front. I can post a pic of the socket sitting nice and snug
So... any news?
duga is offline  
Old 19 May 2012, 02:04   #64
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,590
Work in progress

http://www.kipper2k.com/4mbboard.pdf
kipper2k is offline  
Old 19 May 2012, 08:35   #65
SleepyMan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Harderwijk/Netherlands
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
Cool...
SleepyMan is offline  
Old 19 May 2012, 14:18   #66
Stedy
Registered User

Stedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 40
Posts: 578
@Kipper2K

Looking good. Can I make a few PCB improvement suggestions?

Add some high frequency decoupling (100nF ceramic) capacitors by every logic device and the RAM. Ideally 1 capacitor per power pin. When the DRAM initiates a refresh, there is a current surge your board may have issues with.

At the bottom of the PCB image, the tracks in the red layer, near the socket, are too close together. You should try and keep track spacing to 2x track width as a minimum to reduce crosstalk.

I might be tempted to purchase one of these

Ian
Stedy is offline  
Old 19 May 2012, 15:24   #67
cpiac64
Registered User
cpiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 861
i tempted for 10 pcb only

Last edited by cpiac64; 19 May 2012 at 22:28.
cpiac64 is offline  
Old 20 May 2012, 06:24   #68
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,590
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stedy View Post
@Kipper2K

Looking good. Can I make a few PCB improvement suggestions?

Add some high frequency decoupling (100nF ceramic) capacitors by every logic device and the RAM. Ideally 1 capacitor per power pin. When the DRAM initiates a refresh, there is a current surge your board may have issues with.

At the bottom of the PCB image, the tracks in the red layer, near the socket, are too close together. You should try and keep track spacing to 2x track width as a minimum to reduce crosstalk.

I might be tempted to purchase one of these
Ian
Hi Ian,

Thanks for the tips, i haven't finished the design yet, there are 4 more 100nf caps to go on plus the programming header. I'll move the tracks apart a little farther apart and add some decoupling caps like you suggested. i'll send you my schem once (i think) i have it done so you can take a peek at it.

The schematic is a lot more tidier than the previous one i asked you to look at
kipper2k is offline  
Old 20 May 2012, 15:12   #69
Kehil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Prague/CZ
Posts: 67
Don't know if it is not a silly question... Is possible to make internal memory expansion, simmilar to this, for A1200? I know that there are ACAs and plenty of other old cards, but with +-40€ pricing it would be a nice alternative.
Kehil is offline  
Old 20 May 2012, 15:35   #70
duga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kehil View Post
Don't know if it is not a silly question... Is possible to make internal memory expansion, simmilar to this, for A1200? I know that there are ACAs and plenty of other old cards, but with +-40€ pricing it would be a nice alternative.
I guess it will be at least $10-20 more expensive because of the trapdoor port and as it should have a RTC. But it's not a silly suggestion. It should too have 4 MB memory to be compatible with PCMCIA.
duga is offline  
Old 20 May 2012, 21:08   #71
Kehil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Prague/CZ
Posts: 67
I ment expansion connected directly to CPU with this clip socket. Without edge connector to keep price as low as possible.
Kehil is offline  
Old 20 May 2012, 21:12   #72
duga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kehil View Post
I ment expansion connected directly to CPU with this clip socket. Without edge connector to keep price as low as possible.
That seems unnecessary in an A1200.
duga is offline  
Old 20 May 2012, 21:29   #73
keitha1200
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Tayside
Posts: 181
I would def be interested in 'at least' one board, and would be willing to give a small deposit (if needed).

On a slightly different note! I've seen ancient 8mg ram expansion boards (A1200) selling for Ģ60+ on ebay, simple because the end user wants to use WHDload!!

Boards for anything less than the 'going' price of 'old and brittle' A1200 ram expansions, are very good value in my opinion.
keitha1200 is offline  
Old 20 May 2012, 21:43   #74
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,590
Quote:
Originally Posted by keitha1200 View Post
I would def be interested in 'at least' one board, and would be willing to give a small deposit (if needed).

On a slightly different note! I've seen ancient 8mg ram expansion boards (A1200) selling for Ģ60+ on ebay, simple because the end user wants to use WHDload!!

Boards for anything less than the 'going' price of 'old and brittle' A1200 ram expansions, are very good value in my opinion.
Hi,

I won't ask for any deposits, its too messy in the event i give up or someone else finds a more popular solution so i normally just buy enough parts for myself to build a few boards and then if its good i will sell more. I will probably buy quite a few ram chips though as the shipping and customs are a pain. All the other parts are easily sourced.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 20 May 2012, 21:55   #75
keitha1200
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Tayside
Posts: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
Hi,

I won't ask for any deposits, its too messy in the event i give up or someone else finds a more popular solution so i normally just buy enough parts for myself to build a few boards and then if its good i will sell more. I will probably buy quite a few ram chips though as the shipping and customs are a pain. All the other parts are easily sourced.
No problem

Anything is better than 'auld' over priced brittle A1200 ram expansions
keitha1200 is offline  
Old 09 June 2012, 00:00   #76
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,590
I have all the parts, just need a few finishing touches to the board and hopefully this project can get started
kipper2k is offline  
Old 09 June 2012, 09:38   #77
spock-79
Registered User
spock-79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bremen
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
I have all the parts, just need a few finishing touches to the board and hopefully this project can get started
When the design is ready and tested, is it possible to order only empty PCBs from you?
spock-79 is offline  
Old 09 June 2012, 13:47   #78
storhemulen
 
Posts: n/a
Very interesting project!
 
Old 09 June 2012, 14:11   #79
keitha1200
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Tayside
Posts: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
I have all the parts, just need a few finishing touches to the board and hopefully this project can get started
keitha1200 is offline  
Old 09 June 2012, 14:34   #80
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,590
Quote:
Originally Posted by spock-79 View Post
When the design is ready and tested, is it possible to order only empty PCBs from you?
.

Hi, i can sell the bits separately. Trying to buy just one part instead of a few can become costly especially if you have to order them online with no local dealer available like here. If you have all the other bits kicking around and just need the board then you are all set.
kipper2k is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A500 4mb-8mb fast ram expansion kipper2k Hardware mods 125 20 September 2013 02:24
8MB Ram Upgrade Card Question Slyder1980 Hardware mods 7 03 February 2012 01:03
A608 Amiga 600 - 4mb Fast Ram Upgrade fitzsteve MarketPlace 0 18 October 2010 00:23
Wanted: 4MB or 8MB A1200 RAM expansion! 8bitbubsy MarketPlace 0 12 September 2010 21:45
A1200 8mb ram expansion only 4mb Nipedley support.Hardware 13 16 February 2009 02:01

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.38897 seconds with 13 queries