English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 August 2019, 09:00   #1
buzzybee
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Landsberg / Germany
Posts: 238
Debug console / importing labels?

Hi guys!

I love the builtin console debugger of FS UAE, only wish I could somehow use symbols when disassembling, searching memory etc. Does anyone know a way to import and use symbols from a VASM-compiled source?

Cheers, Richard
buzzybee is offline  
Old 06 August 2019, 09:48   #2
Antiriad_UK
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 60
I use this with visual studio code and VASM. Can be tricky to setup with to start with (download the helper starter pack). But when it’s working you can run stuff, stop at breakpoints defined in the source code and single step etc. Proper source level debugging.
https://marketplace.visualstudio.com...amiga-assembly

You don’t have to use the compiling directly from visual studio code. I use a batch/make file to compile all my source files and link them. Then I run the debugger from inside visual studio code to run the exe in a mini fs uae session. As long as you’ve built with the VASM linedebug option then it can work out the symbols.

It uses an extended version of fs uae that is supplied which has the magic to make remote debugging work.
Antiriad_UK is offline  
Old 06 August 2019, 10:02   #3
buzzybee
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Landsberg / Germany
Posts: 238
@Antiriad: I´ve already setup a complete devkit which runs very smooth, comparable to your setup with external call to VASM etc. It´s based on Xcode rather than Visual Studio though, and I´d very much love to keep it this way.

Wonder how I could get hold of the Mac-version of the modified FS UAE you mention ... that might be it!
buzzybee is offline  
Old 06 August 2019, 10:34   #4
Antiriad_UK
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 60
The modified fs-uae is in one of the bin-osx/bin-windows files here https://github.com/prb28/vscode-amiga-assembly/releases

But I've no idea what magic the author of the visual studio code extension had to do to enable it to talk to fs uae so don't see it working with xcode easily.
Antiriad_UK is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Importing into Imagine 4.0's Spline Editor? StrangeVoyager support.Apps 0 18 May 2019 07:08
Configuration files does not transfer when importing whdload into Launchbox Emu Amiga support.FS-UAE 1 25 October 2017 22:35
loadwb -debug TroyWilkins Amiga scene 22 19 March 2017 11:08
Exporting, edit and importing fonts tooki41 request.Other 7 14 January 2017 16:22
Debug ? mtb support.WinUAE 8 19 December 2002 12:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06388 seconds with 13 queries