English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Language > Coders. Blitz Basic

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 July 2020, 13:55   #41
AmiNju
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Duesseldorf / Germany
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Honitos View Post
I patched the memlib to use simple AllocMem/FreeMem-routines.
That should work on kick1.x-machines again.

But it is not a solution as the more modern memory pooling should be used when the os makes it available. Maybe I could add an os-checking and let the lib use both technologies.

Please try the patched AcidLibs first, and tell my if your common sources still work on kick1/kick2/kick3.

This would be very nice, when AB3 will produce Games/Apps for 68K OCS v1.3 too, so I could move from BB2 to AB3.
AmiNju is offline  
Old 03 July 2020, 13:58   #42
fabbroz
Registered User

fabbroz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Italy
Age: 45
Posts: 33
nope with patched AcdiLibs
How can i help you?



Quote:
Originally Posted by Honitos View Post
I patched the memlib to use simple AllocMem/FreeMem-routines.
That should work on kick1.x-machines again.

But it is not a solution as the more modern memory pooling should be used when the os makes it available. Maybe I could add an os-checking and let the lib use both technologies.

Please try the patched AcidLibs first, and tell my if your common sources still work on kick1/kick2/kick3.
fabbroz is offline  
Old 03 July 2020, 15:05   #43
Honitos
Registered User

Honitos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Celle / Germany
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by fabbroz View Post
nope with patched AcdiLibs
How can i help you?

Maybe there are other problems with kick1.3 in other libs.


For now, I just patched the memlib (internal use) and the bitmaplib.
If your game is still crashing, it may be due to a bug in another lib.


Does the game crash with the UAE-CPU-Setting "More compatible" ?

Does it work with Kick2.0?
Honitos is offline  
Old 03 July 2020, 15:08   #44
Honitos
Registered User

Honitos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Celle / Germany
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmiNju View Post
This would be very nice, when AB3 will produce Games/Apps for 68K OCS v1.3 too, so I could move from BB2 to AB3.
I am on my way to solve this problem. You could help by investigating the roots of your crashes.


If the program crashes right at startup before executing the first sourceline, it is something in the initcode of a lib.


If it crashes while running, try to check with command/function let the machine crash.
Honitos is offline  
Old 03 July 2020, 15:27   #45
fabbroz
Registered User

fabbroz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Italy
Age: 45
Posts: 33
yes it crash in both cases..
and crash on Real Amiga500 KS1.3


on real A1200 with KS3.1 it works fine.
can't have an real KS2.0 machine..




Quote:
Originally Posted by Honitos View Post
Maybe there are other problems with kick1.3 in other libs.


For now, I just patched the memlib (internal use) and the bitmaplib.
If your game is still crashing, it may be due to a bug in another lib.


Does the game crash with the UAE-CPU-Setting "More compatible" ?

Does it work with Kick2.0?
fabbroz is offline  
Old 03 July 2020, 15:29   #46
fabbroz
Registered User

fabbroz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Italy
Age: 45
Posts: 33
it crash on startup...
i try to understand it too, writing an AD HOC program..



Quote:
Originally Posted by Honitos View Post
I am on my way to solve this problem. You could help by investigating the roots of your crashes.


If the program crashes right at startup before executing the first sourceline, it is something in the initcode of a lib.


If it crashes while running, try to check with command/function let the machine crash.
fabbroz is offline  
Old 03 July 2020, 15:56   #47
fabbroz
Registered User

fabbroz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Italy
Age: 45
Posts: 33
Ok mate i've found *one* problem (mine)


Code:
BitMap 0,320,200,3
InitCopList 0,44,256,$03,8,8,0
DisplayBitMap 0,0
PalRGB 0,0,0,0,0
DisplayPalette 0,0



;CRASH only HERE ON KS1.3
;the rest (without this) works fine on KS1.3!!!


If LoadTrackerModule(0,"assets/mod.stage1")
  ;GetPatternPosition %1100
EndIf

If StartTracker(0)
 ; ModuleSampleName$ 0,2
EndIf
;END CRASH

BLITZ
CreateDisplay 0

While Joyb(0)=0
    VWait
    BitMapOutput 0
    Locate 2,2:Print "BITMAP TEST OK..."
Wend
End

Quote:
Originally Posted by fabbroz View Post
yes it crash in both cases..
and crash on Real Amiga500 KS1.3


on real A1200 with KS3.1 it works fine.
can't have an real KS2.0 machine..

Last edited by fabbroz; 03 July 2020 at 16:15.
fabbroz is offline  
Old 03 July 2020, 16:27   #48
Honitos
Registered User

Honitos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Celle / Germany
Posts: 65
Ok thanks for that info, I am going to look into the trackerlib this weekend. Maybe I find out, what the problem is with kick1.3!
Honitos is offline  
Old 03 July 2020, 17:53   #49
fabbroz
Registered User

fabbroz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Italy
Age: 45
Posts: 33
maybe i found the problem...
on my game, i've make a LUT of SIN/COS/ATAN etc...

when i use that on my testcode, it crash...
so, i think it could be SIN/COS/ATAN etc routines that use yet FPU.


could be?



hope to help you.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Honitos View Post
Ok thanks for that info, I am going to look into the trackerlib this weekend. Maybe I find out, what the problem is with kick1.3!
fabbroz is offline  
Old 05 July 2020, 12:22   #50
Honitos
Registered User

Honitos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Celle / Germany
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by fabbroz View Post
maybe i found the problem...
on my game, i've make a LUT of SIN/COS/ATAN etc...

when i use that on my testcode, it crash...
so, i think it could be SIN/COS/ATAN etc routines that use yet FPU.


could be?



hope to help you.

Would you mind to provide me a short source example, that uses the mentioned LUT so I can reproduce the problem?
Honitos is offline  
Old 05 July 2020, 14:50   #51
fabbroz
Registered User

fabbroz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Italy
Age: 45
Posts: 33
here




Quote:
Originally Posted by Honitos View Post
Would you mind to provide me a short source example, that uses the mentioned LUT so I can reproduce the problem?
Attached Files
File Type: zip test.zip (147.3 KB, 7 views)
fabbroz is offline  
Old 05 July 2020, 17:32   #52
Honitos
Registered User

Honitos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Celle / Germany
Posts: 65
Sorry, I need an source example from AB3 with just a short code example, that crashes on a 68000.

It would be very hard to debug your executable and find out with Basic routine affected the crash....
Honitos is offline  
Old 06 July 2020, 13:36   #53
Honitos
Registered User

Honitos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Celle / Germany
Posts: 65
I found the bug that let fabrizios test code crash on a 68000:
Code:
an=360
Dim _sin(an)
Dim _cos(an)
For i=0 To an-1
    _sin(i)=i
    _cos(i)=i
Next
The DIM command had been patched to allow more that 65535 entries in an array. But unfortunately it was patched by an asmcommand that is only available on 68020+.
So I added code to use different asm routines for arrays smaller than 65536 to use 68000-friendly code.

That means every use of DIM was a cause of an immediately crash on an A500!

That is fixed now.
Honitos is offline  
Old 06 July 2020, 13:43   #54
Honitos
Registered User

Honitos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Celle / Germany
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by fabbroz View Post
Ok mate i've found *one* problem (mine)


Code:
BitMap 0,320,200,3
InitCopList 0,44,256,$03,8,8,0
DisplayBitMap 0,0
PalRGB 0,0,0,0,0
DisplayPalette 0,0



;CRASH only HERE ON KS1.3
;the rest (without this) works fine on KS1.3!!!


If LoadTrackerModule(0,"assets/mod.stage1")
  ;GetPatternPosition %1100
EndIf

If StartTracker(0)
 ; ModuleSampleName$ 0,2
EndIf
;END CRASH

BLITZ
CreateDisplay 0

While Joyb(0)=0
    VWait
    BitMapOutput 0
    Locate 2,2:Print "BITMAP TEST OK..."
Wend
End

I found the reason for the crash here, too !
It is simple: the ciatrackerlib is limited to Kick2.0+ as it used os-functions only available with Kick2.0....
As I do not have the source of the lib (I found it here: http://aminet.net/package/dev/blitz/CIATrkrLib), I am not able to fix that :-( Maybe someone could ask the author to release the latest source.



Or maybe you could use another trackerlib?
Honitos is offline  
Old 07 July 2020, 09:54   #55
MickGyver
Registered User

MickGyver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 560
Quote:
Originally Posted by Honitos View Post
I found the reason for the crash here, too !
It is simple: the ciatrackerlib is limited to Kick2.0+ as it used os-functions only available with Kick2.0....
As I do not have the source of the lib (I found it here: http://aminet.net/package/dev/blitz/CIATrkrLib), I am not able to fix that :-( Maybe someone could ask the author to release the latest source.



Or maybe you could use another trackerlib?
Yes, don't bother trying to "fix" that library. There is a better library available now, the converted pt library by phx.

P.S. Thanks Honitos for all the splendid work you are doing with Amiblitz3!
MickGyver is offline  
Old 07 July 2020, 14:17   #56
Honitos
Registered User

Honitos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Celle / Germany
Posts: 65
Ok, but is the ptlib already part of the AB3-package?

Funny question from the maintainer itself, I know, but I am not familiar with all the libs, as I concentrated myself on the IDE for the past weeks...
Honitos is offline  
Old 07 July 2020, 16:40   #57
E-Penguin
Banana

E-Penguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Darmstadt
Posts: 942
phx's library certainly works on an A500
E-Penguin is offline  
Old 08 July 2020, 08:08   #58
MickGyver
Registered User

MickGyver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 560
Quote:
Originally Posted by Honitos View Post
Ok, but is the ptlib already part of the AB3-package?

Funny question from the maintainer itself, I know, but I am not familiar with all the libs, as I concentrated myself on the IDE for the past weeks...
Hmm, I converted a newer version of the phx library to Blitz but there might be some problems using it with Amiblitz 3.7. You can read more (and download the source) here: http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...9&postcount=64
MickGyver is offline  
Old 08 July 2020, 14:57   #59
Honitos
Registered User

Honitos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Celle / Germany
Posts: 65
I am going to check that lib, when I fixed the kick1.3 compatibility with

arraylib
linklistlib

I want to see FType on A500 compiled with AB3!
Honitos is offline  
Old 08 July 2020, 19:21   #60
fabbroz
Registered User

fabbroz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Italy
Age: 45
Posts: 33
Yeahhh!!!!!!



Quote:
Originally Posted by honitos View Post
i am going to check that lib, when i fixed the kick1.3 compatibility with

arraylib
linklistlib

i want to see ftype on a500 compiled with ab3!
fabbroz is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Port Wolfenstein on Amiga 500 / 1000 OCS Miggy4eva Retrogaming General Discussion 191 03 April 2019 18:51
Blanck buffer with VASM and dcb or blk on amiga 500 OCS prb28 Coders. Asm / Hardware 19 04 January 2019 18:48
Amiga 500 Rev.6A VS Amiga 500 Plus with 2MB chip and ACA 500 turrican9 support.Hardware 0 24 December 2016 02:16
Amiga 500. OCS or ECS? trydowave support.Hardware 10 25 May 2013 21:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09056 seconds with 15 queries