English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Contest

 
 
Thread Tools
Old Today, 00:02   #1481
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,717
Quote:
This adf writes nothing to POTGO, it therefore works with my SEGA pad as button C.

If I then plug in my Monster Joystick which is compatible with Amigas it registers the button press once and then sticks (probably due to lack of bits 15 and 14 pulled up on POTGO).

This is really odd behaviour.

Yep exactly the same happens here using my Sega 6 button pad and the Tecno Plus.

edit: But i've seen this specific before in B.C. Kid.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; Today at 00:08.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old Today, 00:13   #1482
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 1,366
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Yep exactly the same happens here using my Sega 6 button pad and the Tecno Plus.

edit: But i've seen this specific before in B.C. Kid.
But you have amiga games that are none whdload modified that work with these sticks with two buttons?

I’m now starting to think that these sticks are not compatible with the amiga.
mcgeezer is online now  
Old Today, 00:17   #1483
ross
Per aspera ad astra

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 49
Posts: 1,991
Or simply need different setup.
You should look inside as they are wired.

In the mean time I've found an absolutely strange behavior from WinUAE:
Debugger doesn't see this write to $0:
Code:
		suba.l	a0,a0
		move.l	#$01800000,(a0)+


EDIT: ok, 040/060+MMU problem, all ok on 000-030+MMU, I've to warn Toni

Last edited by ross; Today at 01:24.
ross is offline  
Old Today, 00:23   #1484
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,717
Quote:
But you have amiga games that are none whdload modified that work with these sticks with two buttons?

Yes, none modified games. There are games which have official 2-button support. Some of these games indeed work out of the box with a specific 2-button stick/pad, others just with the Mega Drive pad (C-Button). It's confusing. And WHDLoad patched games behavior is sometimes completely different.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; Today at 02:31.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old Today, 00:44   #1485
ross
Per aspera ad astra

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 49
Posts: 1,991
Ok sorry for the delay but the WinUAE strangeness distracted me..

Bootblock contain this code:

Code:
potgo	movea.l	$4.w,a6
		lea	pot(pc),a1
		jsr	-498(a6)	;OpenResource()
		tst.l	d0
		beq.b	.ex
		movea.l	d0,a6
		moveq	#-1,d0
		move.w	#$ff00,d1
		jsr	-18(a6)		;WritePotgo()

.ex		suba.l	a0,a0
		move.w	#$7fff,d0
		moveq	#-2,d1
		lea	$dff000,a6
		move.w	d0,$9a(a6)
;		move.w	d0,$9c(a6)
		move.w	d0,$96(a6)
		move.l	a0,$80(a6)
		move.l	#$01800000,(a0)+
		move.l	d1,(a0)
		move.w	d1,$88(a6)
		subq.l	#2,a0
		move.w	#$8280,$96(a6)

.ll		moveq	#0,d0
		btst	#7,$bfe001     ;1st
		seq	d0
		lsl.w	#4,d0
		btst	#14-8,$16(a6)  ;2nd
		seq	d0
;		btst	#12-8,$16(a6)  ;3rd
;		seq	d0
		move.w	d0,(a0)
		bra.b	.ll
		
pot	dc.b	'potgo.resource',0
So you can see a default setup for POTGO via potgo.resource (not necessary in this case, but system compliant) and then a buttons test.

Screen:
Code:
- black -> no button
- red   -> button1
- cyan  -> button2
- white -> both
Attached Files
File Type: zip button.bootblock.zip (1.2 KB, 4 views)
ross is offline  
Old Today, 01:04   #1486
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,717
Code:
- black -> no button
- red   -> button1
- cyan  -> button2
- white -> both

Yep, works exactly like that with the Tecno Plus pad.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old Today, 01:14   #1487
jvdw007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: London
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retroplay View Post


WHDLoad patch by JOTD complains about damaged or unsupported files when installed from rygar_aga_final.adf
My and other people's issues are to do with the above. Sorry for not spelling it out more.
jvdw007 is offline  
Old Today, 01:26   #1488
ross
Per aspera ad astra

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 49
Posts: 1,991
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Code:
- black -> no button
- red   -> button1
- cyan  -> button2
- white -> both

Yep, works exactly like that with the Tecno Plus pad.
Ok thanks, waiting Graeme for investigating
ross is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 5 (2 members and 3 guests)
mcgeezer, jotd
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Entry: Rygar AGA Edition mcgeezer Coders. Entries 75 28 February 2019 20:41
On the Ball - World Cup Edition AGA djcasey request.Old Rare Games 4 25 January 2013 12:39
On The Ball League Edition AGA , Player Manager 2 StarEye Games images which need to be WHDified 11 22 January 2010 18:21
The Vague #1 AGA-RTG edition is released ! kas1e Amiga scene 12 30 October 2007 00:27
On The Ball: World Cup Edition AGA CodyJarrett request.Old Rare Games 11 27 May 2003 06:14

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11397 seconds with 15 queries