English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 July 2020, 00:32   #1
squirminator2k
Dream17 / PortsCenter guy
squirminator2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Age: 34
Posts: 251
Graphic issue playing Worms: The Director's Cut in FS-UAE

I'm having a bit of a time trying to iron out a wrinkle when playing WormsDC in FS-UAE - there's some sheering that occurs in any area with a moving sprite - a worm, the turn-time countdown, even parts of the lower HUD.


I've uploaded a video demonstrating the issue here:

[ Show youtube player ]


Any idea what could be causing this, and how I might go about fixing it? I'm sure there's a setting somewhere that I've overlooked but I can't for the life of me figure out what. It should be noted, this issue does not occur in WinUAE.
squirminator2k is offline  
Old 22 July 2020, 10:12   #2
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,856
That looks like subpixel rendering isn't working or emulated properly. It's particularly complex with Worms: DC because it uses dual playfield and sprites, all of which can have their own superhighres position on screen, even though the screen itself is low res. I know that WinUAE a while back didn't support this fully, but it may have been added since. What you might be seeing there is the fractional pixel shift made to accommodate the sprite affecting the entire screen instead of just the sprite, or the rest of the screen is off by a fraction of a pixel and only the area with the sprite is positioned correctly. Or maybe neither is fully correct, and there's a rounding disparity between the two areas, resulting in a pixel shift.

A quick scan through the FS-UAE options doesn't show any setting for subpixel emulation, so maybe it simply doesn't have that option yet. Emulation of quarter-pixel screens like this will take a lot more horsepower than the standard low-resolution emulation (due to emulating a 1280x256 screen instead of 320x256).
Daedalus is offline  
Old 13 August 2020, 23:58   #3
squirminator2k
Dream17 / PortsCenter guy
squirminator2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Age: 34
Posts: 251
I need to check to see if this has been fixed in more recent builds...
squirminator2k is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New update on Worms: The Director's Cut ???? Shatterhand Amiga scene 42 13 August 2020 04:26
Worms: The Director's Cut on FS-UAE squirminator2k support.Games 0 16 June 2018 06:31
Worms: Director's Cut map mania Shoonay Nostalgia & memories 0 08 August 2011 11:55
Worms The Director's Cut 1.05 Update Disk daxb request.Old Rare Games 6 20 June 2010 13:37
Worms - The Director's Cut error kkgarbod support.WinUAE 10 13 May 2010 06:28

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08375 seconds with 15 queries