English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 March 2020, 21:45   #81
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 1,769
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steril707 View Post
I really don't expect anyone to really port any of those huge games (except McGeezer, he is crazy enough to attempt that kind of stuff )
.... and all someone has to say is that I bet mcgeezer couldn't do it and then I'll prove them wrong.
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 05 March 2020, 22:15   #82
Retro1234
Banned

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,643
id like to see you try!

I mean I really would

I think every Amiga user would like to see what could have been, am I wrong?

Last edited by lilalurl; 05 March 2020 at 22:26.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 05 March 2020, 22:46   #83
buzzybee
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Landsberg / Germany
Posts: 358
Funny, how every now and then a thread called "Can there be a perfect port of SF to Amiga" comes up and always unleashes the same discussions.

I think the way to go would be to have some crazy Amiga-fanatic billionaire sponsor that development adventure (aka a team of two or three for one year) and then release the AGA-conversion (OCS or ECS is out of the question) bundled with a 6-button-pad.
buzzybee is offline  
Old 06 March 2020, 00:42   #84
saimon69
J.M.D - Bedroom Musician

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 1,362
For OCS/ECS w are still waiting for the Discovery Software Street Fighter 1 US version...* ^^

























* an april fool of the italian The Games Machine magazine
saimon69 is offline  
Old 06 March 2020, 08:53   #85
Steril707
Tigerskunk!

Steril707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Amiga Island
Posts: 1,461
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzybee View Post
Funny, how every now and then a thread called "Can there be a perfect port of SF to Amiga" comes up and always unleashes the same discussion
I think "can" is not the right question. On AGA, off course it can be. On OCS I'd say no.

The thing is, I don't see the problem in the graphics department here. Master484 has already shown that this is possible.

The biggest amount of work lies in implementing the gameplay with all its nuances.

And since we don't have access to the source code, this will never happen.
Steril707 is offline  
Old 06 March 2020, 09:06   #86
aros-sg
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Italy
Posts: 44
Just hack/patch the existing Amiga SF game(s).
aros-sg is offline  
Old 06 March 2020, 16:43   #87
LongLifeA1200
Registered User

LongLifeA1200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Amiga Kingdom
Posts: 236
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreadnought View Post
make a turn-based Street Fighter game. Don't laugh, I'd play the hell out of it


A Japanese style RPG? That sounds like a much more interesting project to do than an arcade-perfect port.
LongLifeA1200 is offline  
Old 06 March 2020, 20:35   #88
saimon69
J.M.D - Bedroom Musician

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 1,362
Yup, i can imagine something like:

CHUN LI uses spinning kick on KEN
is super effective!
KEN fainted
saimon69 is offline  
Old 06 March 2020, 21:20   #89
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 4,092
cfou! already used VGA graphics on an originally ECS game to produce an AGA game. But that was a RPG, not a fighting game, but it proves it's possible.

I agree that hacking the original amiga game with AGA graphics would be the "easiest". The code isn't the most technical feat, probably Atari ST port: even easier to understand

Then increase the number of planes, use blitter, replace graphics. That won't be a perfect port because of the controls and probably a lot of missing frames, but at least it's doable and would not take forever. At worst, the visuals will look like s**t until fully debugged. Not the worst bugs to have.

"just" match the frames with AGA frames of the exact same type & size, and forget parallax scrolling. Use copper effect for sky if necessary.

And use whdload to easily patch the game, load extra files, etc... like I did to add levels to Magic Pockets or change AAOW graphics.
jotd is offline  
Old 06 March 2020, 21:26   #90
Amigajay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: >
Posts: 2,257
Why not try and improve SF2 New Challengers instead?

Its easily the most playable SF game on the Amiga, already has the 7 button pad support, the only bad part is the 12-bit looking graphics, best basis of a SF game on the Amiga.

The other two ports are like trying to polish a turd imo.
Amigajay is offline  
Old 06 March 2020, 21:46   #91
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 4,092
Quote:
Why not try and improve SF2 New Challengers instead?
I think it has already been discussed somewhere here at EAB. Bigger game means bigger effort, and it will be difficult to improve that without adding the extra missing frames that some people noted that were removed from the animations. https://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=93999&page=2

But that doesn't seem too desperate, according to some experts talking in this thread. I wonder if the game uses chipmem only or can use fastmem for instance, which speeds up things A LOT. Check Ultimate Body Blows whdload where I relocated chipmem code to fast: the game is super fast now. Seems that it has been done too for that game: http://whdload.de/games/SuperStreetFighter2Turbo.html


Adding more animations would mean fully understanding the game mechanics. But yes, the base is the best.

Last edited by jotd; 06 March 2020 at 21:52.
jotd is offline  
Old 06 March 2020, 21:55   #92
Retro1234
Banned

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,643
Amiga Super Street Fighter 2(New Challengers) not turbo has the gameplay best version, I guess and its a very big guess someone could make the background Bigger and the Bobs bigger but it would require more processing power to run.

and another big guess the Data in this version will be the easiest to find.

World Warriors and Super Turbo are garbage really, makes the Amiga look shit and the graphics on Super(New Challengers) are Shit. So all versions that exist are shit really.

Edit: Sorry! World Warriors= Shit, New Challenger = Good Gameplay

Last edited by Retro1234; 06 March 2020 at 22:06.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 06 March 2020, 22:39   #93
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 4,092
I'd go for the easiest improvement: where the code/playability is okay and there's "just" the graphics to replace (maybe sounds too?), using AGA seems to be a requirement.
jotd is offline  
Old 06 March 2020, 23:04   #94
Retro1234
Banned

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,643
it's true but the graphics are too small, it can be improved but we all know the Amiga should of had better.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 07 March 2020, 09:12   #95
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 4,092
yeah, but I always wanted a horse and ended up with a poney. I'd go with the "easiest" route. We all have jobs, everyone can run the real SF on any cheap Windoze PC at 50/60 fps, so let's not spend too much time on this just to prove that the amiga could have done it.
jotd is offline  
Old 07 March 2020, 11:21   #96
Retro1234
Banned

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,643
For that route can you find the dimensions for Raw graphics of the Character Sprites because I've wanted to do it before but I couldn't figure out the dimensions. Ryu and Ken are the worst Sprites on that whole version just terrible.

There's also some info I think from dlfrsilver that Super SF2 Turbo has some kind of FPS skipper enabled crippling the game.

Last edited by Retro1234; 07 March 2020 at 13:54.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 07 March 2020, 11:55   #97
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 1,769
As I mentioned a few posts ago going down the route of creating your own hitboxes would be the easiest way to do this I think.

Basically, get the sprites... add a few extra bitplanes for the different hit box types, then write a small program to extrapolate the coordinates from each of the frames.

That way you can use a paint program to easily create the hit boxes.

Simples.
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 07 March 2020, 13:52   #98
Retro1234
Banned

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,643
Yeah JOTD was just saying hack Existing Amiga Versions if possible, because they already exist and building from Scratch would take so long.

Anyway in theory How many collision checks do think would be needed to be done per collision
each Character in the Arcade has 6 boxes so each box you can If Box 1 Between > Xa and < Xb
and > Ya and < Yb .etc but

Checking each 6 Boxes against 6 opposite boxes is probably too many, although not that many, a balance to keep the speed but keep the accuracy.

can probably cut the amount of boxes down if Kicking you don't need a box for the fist this can become part of the body

Last edited by Retro1234; 07 March 2020 at 14:34.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 07 March 2020, 14:55   #99
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,425
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Then why not starting by Street Fighter 1 arcade ? the program is 384kb.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 07 March 2020, 15:23   #100
aros-sg
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Italy
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro1234 View Post
it's true but the graphics are too small
It's no problem to replace with bigger graphics/backgrounds. You only need to know game state:

background size WxH with scroll position X,Y and showing figther character A at position x1,y1 in animation frame f1 and fighter character B at position x2,y2 in animation frame f2 etc.

Then you can just scale up the coordinates for your bigger gfx in patched sprite blit routines, etc.
aros-sg is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Super street fighter Turbo Amiga-CD32 Akuma? seiyaps5 support.Games 1 12 February 2020 03:54
Super Street Fighter 2 Turbo - The Greatest Amiga Gaming Casualty? CU_AMiGA support.Games 103 27 May 2019 17:54
Super Street Fighter 2 Amiga Cd32 GurjSagoo request.Old Rare Games 6 31 October 2009 13:13
street fighter stuntpup project.WHDLoad 5 30 August 2007 20:45
Street Fighter 2 Poster from Amiga Force Issue March 93 grape Retrogaming General Discussion 11 08 November 2005 22:25

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09908 seconds with 16 queries