English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 August 2006, 23:04   #1
georgie_o
 
Posts: n/a
Problems getting everything running ok

Hey,
Well I've d'loaded Winuae and got my kickstart roms and some nice old games I used to play when I was a kid... I open it up, put the Rom in the Rom bit, load the game into the quickstart bit, click ok then....
I get a black screen, which flickers between green and red too, at the top it says Mouse connected and something about either hitting the middle mouse button or clicking crlt and tab. That's it, if I do that nothing.
I get no game loading up.
What am I doing wrong??
Help, please
 
Old 24 August 2006, 05:36   #2
InTheSand
Registered User
InTheSand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Nelson, New Zealand
Posts: 43
Hi,

Try:
  1. Launch WinUAE
  2. Select the "Quickstart" option on the left-hand list
  3. Select A500/A2000 from the drop-down list at the top of the window
  4. If you see a message about having the correct ROM, click "OK"
  5. Click on the "ROM" option on the left-hand list
  6. Next to "Main ROM file", click on the browse button "...." (four dots) and locate your Amiga ROM file
  7. Click on the "Floppy drives" option on the left-hand list
  8. Use the browse button "...." next to "DF0:" and locate your game/app disk image
  9. Next to "DF1:", click on the drop-down list and select "Disabled"
  10. Click on "Start"
The emulated Amiga will then start and boot from the selected disk image.

- Ali
InTheSand is offline  
Old 24 August 2006, 11:27   #3
georgie_o
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks,
I'll give it a try when I get home.
Your step-by-step outline is really helpful
 
Old 25 August 2006, 20:23   #4
georgie_o
 
Posts: n/a
ARGHHHHHHHHHHHHH It's still not working.
Just flashing betweeen a plain black screen and a plain red screen
My kick-starts are adf files is this right??
It's so frustrating!! Help please......
 
Old 25 August 2006, 20:43   #5
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,485
Your kickstarts are adf files? This is definitely wrong. The flashing between red/black sounds like you are using a wrong Kickstart though. Like for example a Kickstart that was made for 68020+ but you only emulate a 68000 CPU. Your Kickstart is definitely loaded else UAE would pop up a MessageBox that the Kickstart-Rom is missing. So, I'd say just check your CPU settings. If you just want to emulate an A500, just select 68000 and a Kickstart 1.3 Rom and everything should work fine.
StingRay is offline  
Old 25 August 2006, 21:02   #6
georgie_o
 
Posts: n/a
So what should the correct extension for the Kickstarts be??
 
Old 25 August 2006, 21:34   #7
lopos2000
Zone Friend
lopos2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cider is best In The West
Posts: 1,238
The correct extension is *.rom. Somethink like 'Kickstart_v3.1_40.70.rom'.
lopos2000 is offline  
Old 25 August 2006, 22:35   #8
InTheSand
Registered User
InTheSand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Nelson, New Zealand
Posts: 43
If you can't find the correct ROM, and don't own a real Amiga, the legal way to get what you need (Kickstart 1.3 for an Amiga A500) would be to buy Amiga Forever - this will let you run in all sorts of Amiga configurations and the bonus video and software content is worth having too.

- Ali
InTheSand is offline  
Old 29 August 2006, 00:40   #9
georgie_o
 
Posts: n/a
Hey, I got the games to load up finally, thanks for the help.
I've d'loaded a load from planetemu and the only one I can get to work properly is Ghostbusters.
The others start loading then just jam up??? Torvak's music starts jumping then goes off completely after saying something about phoning boards.... Zool...nothing, James Ponds...nothing.
I don't think that all the games I've d'loaded can all be corrupt so does anyone have any suggestions?
Also Flowers Of Crystal says something about volume not being compatible and something about FOC.....
My head hurts
 
Old 29 August 2006, 11:18   #10
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
Have a look at my two new guides:
Install and setup WinUAE
How to run a basic ADF game with A500 config via the 'Quickstart' feature
Paul is offline  
Old 29 August 2006, 11:42   #11
Basquemactee1
Old Fart New WinUAE user
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Sebastian, Spain
Age: 55
Posts: 175
Georgie, you'll find that to run some of the games will require different setups (eg: ECS chipset or AGA chipset, amount of RAM, processor etc), and basically the best way is to either search the net for setup ideas for the different games, or just experiment, changing one thing at a time then restarting WinUAE, until such time as the games work. It took me a while to get various settings sorted out, but once done, save the configurations, and add the name of the game that works to the description box. That way you'll know at a glance which setting works with which game. Also make sure you're using the correct rom with the correct workbench/chipset/processor (eg: using games that require AGA, don't use the rom for 1.3 etc.)
Basquemactee1 is offline  
Old 29 August 2006, 13:26   #12
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,485
Check your memory settings. Maybe you forgot to enable Fake Fast (the "Slow" slider in the UAE Ram settings) and thus most of the games refuse to start. So, since I think most of the games you want to try are A500 games, just use 512K Chip and 512k Slow and the games should work fine.
StingRay is offline  
Old 29 August 2006, 18:24   #13
georgie_o
 
Posts: n/a
Okies will give it all a try
 
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems running Alien Breed 3D trydowave support.WinUAE 8 05 September 2011 20:32
Problems running some WHDLoad games Basquemactee1 support.Other 27 21 May 2010 13:06
Problems running extras (Instructions) starglider project.MAGE 9 29 May 2007 15:27
Problems running Superfrog .adf RokChild support.WinUAE 7 03 May 2003 11:48
Problems running WinUAE on Win2k bdoe support.WinUAE 0 26 December 2002 14:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10575 seconds with 13 queries