English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 November 2015, 22:19   #1
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 46
Posts: 2,372
how to maximize memory

Hi,

I'm trying to simulate a 2MB chipmem amiga with hard drive.

With kick 1.3 or kick 2.04, without startup-sequence, the system eats more than 250Kb leaving 1.8Mb.

Is it possible to free more memory? (for instance by deleting some libs, running some magic commands...)
jotd is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 27 November 2015, 22:29   #2
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,445
Removing bitplanes like http://aminet.net/util/misc/add36k.readme
zipper is offline  
Old 27 November 2015, 22:31   #3
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,623
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
Hi,

I'm trying to simulate a 2MB chipmem amiga with hard drive.

With kick 1.3 or kick 2.04, without startup-sequence, the system eats more than 250Kb leaving 1.8Mb.

Is it possible to free more memory? (for instance by deleting some libs, running some magic commands...)
Drop the buffers lower in rdb. Think they default as 30.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zipper View Post
I never got this to work in any situation. Always gave me guru.
FOL is offline  
Old 27 November 2015, 22:41   #4
Asman
68k

Asman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 642
Hi,

Of course that is possible but everything depends. Mostly depends on two things. How many partitions you have on hard drive and what filesystem is used.
So first tip is simple, decrease hard drive buffers.
Second one, change filesystem to FFS, perhaps OFS takes less but I don't remember
Third one remove some partitions from hard drive.

You can decrease buffers for DF0, disable drives in bootmenu. And of course use some magic proggy from aminet like add21k or something.
Asman is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Virtual Memory or Memory Compactor Leandro Jardim support.Apps 2 29 May 2012 23:12
Blizzard Turbo Memory - SMD memory chips doesn't work sanjyuubi Hardware mods 5 26 May 2010 15:40
[68000 ASM] Move memory to memory AmigaBoy Coders. General 7 08 December 2009 08:16
DMA memory to memory copy BlueAchenar Coders. General 14 22 January 2009 23:29
Old cache memory as a "base" for GVP memory rkauer Hardware pics 4 22 November 2008 06:23

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.05963 seconds with 13 queries