English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 July 2019, 20:33   #1
amipal
Registered User

amipal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Saltdean, United Kingdom
Posts: 27
Tower plugged in after a decade in storage, no CDROM drive

Hello all,


I've recently reactivated some of my Amiga systems after they've been stored away for a while - this particular tower has been in between two lofts over the last ten years.


I've plugged it in, and it boots on the original hard drives thankfully without any issue. The Zip drive (yes, one of those!) reads fine as well.


But the CDROM drive isn't. CD0 is in Devs, and the drive has power as I can insert/eject a disk - it just never spins up.
Any ideas what could be causing this? Because my next step will be to open up the drive...


(All IDE drives are plugged into an Elbox FastATA interface, and all show up as mounted.)
amipal is offline  
Old 08 July 2019, 21:33   #2
Vypr
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: East Kilbride, Scotland
Posts: 114
If you put a CD in the drive then boot it up, does it see the disk?
Vypr is offline  
Old 09 July 2019, 00:29   #3
amipal
Registered User

amipal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Saltdean, United Kingdom
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vypr View Post
If you put a CD in the drive then boot it up, does it see the disk?
So far, I've only been booting to Workbench and then inserting the disc.


I'll give your suggestion a try, but that was never the case before.
amipal is offline  
Old 09 July 2019, 15:30   #4
amipal
Registered User

amipal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Saltdean, United Kingdom
Posts: 27
Okay, I've tried a disc in the drive and then rebooted the machine - no luck.

It doesn't spin-up at all.

I'm thinking the drive is knackered and needs replacing, though I'd be happy if someone had some advice on what else I could check to ensure that my software installation is fine (startup-sequence, Prefs, Devs etc.)
amipal is offline  
Old 09 July 2019, 16:06   #5
croupier
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Koper, Slovenia
Posts: 59
Is the CD unit one of those that has the Earphones output on the front (and a play/stop button)? Try playing a music CD....should play even if the IDE cable is not connected to the computer...this way you test if the mechanism and the laser are OK...
croupier is offline  
Old 09 July 2019, 16:11   #6
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard

indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 36
Posts: 717
If you download IDEFix from http://aminet.net/package/driver/media/IDEfix97 there is a tool in there called FindDevice. It's a good way to see what's sitting visible on your machine - I assume you'll want to ask it to look on scsi.device, and likely want to tick 'Show All Device Types'. In my tower I can then see my HDD, Zip Drive and CD-ROM drive.
indigolemon is offline  
Old 09 July 2019, 23:33   #7
amipal
Registered User

amipal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Saltdean, United Kingdom
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by croupier View Post
Is the CD unit one of those that has the Earphones output on the front (and a play/stop button)? Try playing a music CD....should play even if the IDE cable is not connected to the computer...this way you test if the mechanism and the laser are OK...
It does have an audio port at the front, but no means to play an audio CD without using controls via the computer.
amipal is offline  
Old 09 July 2019, 23:41   #8
amipal
Registered User

amipal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Saltdean, United Kingdom
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by indigolemon View Post
If you download IDEFix from http://aminet.net/package/driver/media/IDEfix97 there is a tool in there called FindDevice. It's a good way to see what's sitting visible on your machine - I assume you'll want to ask it to look on scsi.device, and likely want to tick 'Show All Device Types'. In my tower I can then see my HDD, Zip Drive and CD-ROM drive.
I'll see if I can load IDEfix and use the tool - I have a floppy of it with my IDE adapter that I currently I have in a desktop A1200.


If I open ATA3prefs, the Mitsumi CD-ROM drive is shown on the primary channel alongside the Fujitsu hard disk. It also appears in the Mounter application (though obviously can't be mounted).
amipal is offline  
Old 15 July 2019, 20:42   #9
amipal
Registered User

amipal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Saltdean, United Kingdom
Posts: 27
I put together a video of the CD issues. Contains ata3pref settings as well as startup-sequence.


[ Show youtube player ]
amipal is offline  
Old 16 July 2019, 16:11   #10
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard

indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 36
Posts: 717
What a familiar looking setup

Yes, that Mitsumi drive is likely dead, mine didn't survive storage either (I assume it's the same one from Power Computing). Swapped in a replacement and I was back in business.
indigolemon is offline  
Old 17 July 2019, 22:10   #11
TheMrKocour
Registered User
TheMrKocour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Posts: 11
Nice setup! Can you share your workbench, windows backdrops? Your OS 3.9 looks nice :-)
TheMrKocour is offline  
Old 19 July 2019, 20:19   #12
amipal
Registered User

amipal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Saltdean, United Kingdom
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by indigolemon View Post
What a familiar looking setup

Yes, that Mitsumi drive is likely dead, mine didn't survive storage either (I assume it's the same one from Power Computing). Swapped in a replacement and I was back in business.
I've swapped the Mitsumi device for a replacement BenQ drive, and I'm back up an running!


That old drive must have bit the dust in storage.
amipal is offline  
Old 20 July 2019, 01:23   #13
amipal
Registered User

amipal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Saltdean, United Kingdom
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMrKocour View Post
Nice setup! Can you share your workbench, windows backdrops? Your OS 3.9 looks nice :-)
I'll see what I can do! My A1200 Power Tower isn't online (yet) so I'll have to see how I can share images back from it...
amipal is offline  
Old 20 July 2019, 13:26   #14
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard

indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 36
Posts: 717
Quote:
Originally Posted by amipal View Post
I'll see what I can do! My A1200 Power Tower isn't online (yet) so I'll have to see how I can share images back from it...
You have a mediator, so you're a cheap PCI networking card away from being online
indigolemon is offline  
Old 23 July 2019, 00:41   #15
amipal
Registered User

amipal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Saltdean, United Kingdom
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by indigolemon View Post
You have a mediator, so you're a cheap PCI networking card away from being online
One thing at a time!
amipal is offline  
Old 26 July 2019, 16:44   #16
amipal
Registered User

amipal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Saltdean, United Kingdom
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by indigolemon View Post
You have a mediator, so you're a cheap PCI networking card away from being online
Just had a look on AmigaKit, and wow - I didn't quite appreciate how cheap a PCI network card is!

It'll be on the next order...
amipal is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Floppy Disk Drive Storage Retro-mania support.Hardware 8 11 September 2017 17:01
Gotek drive firmware for Amiga general USB mass storage solution Supamax Amiga scene 2 20 September 2014 08:35
How do you create Hard drive storage for WINUAE 2.3? Amiga Forever New to Emulation or Amiga scene 3 31 August 2011 10:55
Pointless Poll Poster of the DECADE BippyM project.EAB 24 16 December 2009 11:20
how to i d a cdrom drive Dave_wb support.Hardware 4 28 July 2006 11:32

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08002 seconds with 13 queries