English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.Old Rare Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 May 2012, 02:51   #1
brolly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lost
Posts: 435
Maelstrom

Is there any good dump of Maelstrom around (http://hol.abime.net/2376)?

Besides the TOSEC bad dumps can't find anything else, even a pre-installed HDF file would be great.

MasaelstromdddMaelstrom
brolly is offline  
Old 05 May 2012, 11:35   #2
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 62
Posts: 3,962
Have you tried these?

http://www.thegamearchives.com/?val=..._4_17_0_13_0_0
Arnie is offline  
Old 05 May 2012, 17:54   #3
mai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Federativnaya Respublika Germaniya
Posts: 4,989
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
...more than likely the same as in TOSEC.
mai is offline  
Old 05 May 2012, 19:33   #4
brolly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lost
Posts: 435
Yeah those are TOSEC.
brolly is offline  
Old 06 May 2012, 15:08   #5
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 43
Posts: 8,601
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Hello i have bought Maelstrom english release for amiga, just wait for it to arrive, and i'll image it as soon as i get it
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 06 May 2012, 18:03   #6
brolly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lost
Posts: 435
That would be great dlfrsilver, thanks!
I know there's something special needed about dumping them so here's hoping you'll be able to do it
brolly is offline  
Old 11 May 2012, 17:05   #7
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 43
Posts: 8,601
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
i got the game today, and i will upload the disk images tonight ^^
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 12 May 2012, 00:32   #8
brolly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lost
Posts: 435
Nice, will be waiting for it! Hope all goes well with the dumping process
brolly is offline  
Old 12 May 2012, 01:14   #9
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 43
Posts: 8,601
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
I have dumped the game for SPS / both RAW and Stream flux version, i'm currently uploading the dumps on their FTP.

Next, i'll upload the extended ADF, and the powercopy images.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 12 May 2012, 01:41   #10
brolly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lost
Posts: 435
Perfect just perfect. So awesome to finally see this game properly dumped.
brolly is offline  
Old 12 May 2012, 08:15   #11
brolly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lost
Posts: 435
Just saw you uploaded them, thanks a lot!
Did you try installing it on WinUAE? Because it's not recognizing disk 2 for me, it finishes the installation of the first disk and then it keeps asking for disk 2 and simply don't recognize it as being the correct disk.
brolly is offline  
Old 12 May 2012, 15:16   #12
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 43
Posts: 8,601
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Ok, so this means it doesn't use the sync $4489 :S I must redo them :'(
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 12 May 2012, 16:41   #13
brolly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lost
Posts: 435
Too bad, this game seems to be challenging to dump properly. Hope you can manage to do it.
brolly is offline  
Old 12 May 2012, 17:03   #14
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 43
Posts: 8,601
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
i think that i will need the help of someone able to check what the game wants when loading disk 2 (and all the others). The fact is that the game use an MFM format seen as Dos format (LOL !), and while i tried to create extended ADF with RAWREAD, the game complains when loading track 9 "seccum error" which mean sector checksum error.

i tried to create an 'index' copy, but it's not enough, and the game doesn't recognize the disk 2.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 12 May 2012, 17:32   #15
Whitesnake
Martin Shaw

Whitesnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 423
dlfrsilver you should take a picture of your game collection sometime.
Whitesnake is offline  
Old 12 May 2012, 18:05   #16
brolly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lost
Posts: 435
I'm sure there are some members here that can assist you with that, at least I hope so. I can't help you with that because I'm afraid it's beyond my knowledge. Maybe create a new thread asking for help with it?

Just out of curiosity, it has nothing to do with the adf dumping, but if you install the game on a real amiga and then copy the installation folder to your pc hard drive and run it through WinUAE do you think the game would at least work?
brolly is offline  
Old 12 May 2012, 19:03   #17
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 43
Posts: 8,601
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Yes the game works if i install it on hard drive, but we should have the game on extended ADF too.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 12 May 2012, 19:08   #18
brolly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lost
Posts: 435
Yeah I agree, I was just asking because worst case scenario you could make an hdf available, but I hope you manage to properly dump it to extended adfs.
Now lets hope someone can help you out
brolly is offline  
Old 12 May 2012, 23:49   #19
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 47
Posts: 7,911
I would imagine there is stuff hidden in the gap much like the protection track on Anco games and the John Twiddy games (Aladdin, Cool Spot etc) that is used by the games custom loader to check that its the original disk.

I suspect that the images for hard drive installation will be fine, will need someone to patch the ingame loader to stop it checking for the hidden gap stuff.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 13 May 2012, 20:30   #20
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 43
Posts: 8,601
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
the disks are not checked once installed on hard drive. Only loading from disk is a problem.
dlfrsilver is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maelstrom Amiga dlfrsilver HOL contributions 3 11 May 2012 22:06
Maelstrom - German TCD HOL data problems 9 14 January 2009 18:44
Maelstrom cooldude request.Old Rare Games 0 16 August 2006 08:52
Maelstrom CodyJarrett request.Old Rare Games 0 09 April 2005 19:47
Help for Spaceward Ho! and Maelstrom Beawolf support.Games 1 16 October 2003 21:20

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08911 seconds with 13 queries