English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 October 2020, 04:22   #1
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 41
Posts: 1,454
Joystick autodetection don't remember CD32 JoyPad mode

Joystick autodetection don't remember in what mode the controller should be used (for me, is CD32 JoyPad preferentially) when I start WinUAE without the controller plugged in the computer, and plug it again.

Strangely, WinUAE will only remember that the controller should work as a CD32 JoyPad if I start WinUAE with the controller plugged, and unplug it to plug it again.

Last edited by Leandro Jardim; 27 October 2020 at 04:41.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 27 October 2020, 20:15   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,564
There is no saved state that would make it possible to "remember" previous mode in this situation.

I guess it would be possible to use registry/ini for state storage.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 27 October 2020, 22:58   #3
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 41
Posts: 1,454
Why you don't want to use the .UAE file that contains the configuration?

For example in my config I have a similar line like:

Code:
joyport1=joy0
joyport1autofire=none
joyport1mode=cd32joy
joyportfriendlyname1=Controller (XBOX 360 For Windows)
joyportname1=\\?\HID#VID_040E&PID_027E&IG_00#8&752373a&0&0000#{4d1e55b2-f16f-11cf-88cb-001111000030}
...
input.autoswitch=1
By looking on those lines I would expect that WinUAE could automatically detect that I want to use the controller like a CD32 JoyPad by looking at the line marked with BOLD.

For example, this is what is see in WinUAE when I start it with the controller unplugged and plug it afterwards:



See? The data is in the configuration file, but WinUAE changed back to Default.

What prevents WinUAE from doing that?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Input.png
Views:	119
Size:	9.0 KB
ID:	69520  
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 27 October 2020, 23:06   #4
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 19,212
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leandro Jardim View Post
What prevents WinUAE from doing that?
It simply changes back to "Default" as the controller isn't plugged in.

"Controller (XBOX 360 For Windows)" should also revert back to "Keyboard Layout A" when it's not connected...

This is normal behavior.

When you load a configuration and WinUAE reads all settings contained within; if the joystick / joypad isn't present then this and any joystick / joypad options switch back to default...

I really don't see what the big deal is Leandro; if you know you want to play games with your joystick / joypad then connect it before loading the config FFS; instead of moaning at Toni in such a rude manner.

Last edited by DamienD; 27 October 2020 at 23:12.
DamienD is offline  
Old 27 October 2020, 23:38   #5
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 41
Posts: 1,454
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
...instead of moaning at Toni in such a rude manner.
I wasn't trying to be rude with Toni. Absolutely no! It was not by intention.

I was trying to understand the reason why Toni says WinUAE needs an extra state for storing the data. And advising him that this can not be necessary.

In the picture, DamienD, you see "Controller (XBOX 360 For Windows)" like you reported.

When I started WinUAE with the controller not connected, it appeared "Keyboard Layout A" like you reported, but immediately after I plugged the controller, it changed automatically to what you see in the picture after I pressed the A button.

But (!) with the controller mode is different -- it is not remembered. It reverts back to "Default" like you reported.

So, WinUAE detected "Controller (XBOX 360 For Windows)" and the extra state was not necessary for it, but why an extra state is needed to detect the controller mode?

I really don't want to blame Toni, if this is generating discussion I can terminate this report here.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 28 October 2020, 10:25   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leandro Jardim View Post
Why you don't want to use the .UAE file that contains the configuration?
You should have included this very important detail in first post.

Your first post sounded like winuae should magically remember you used CD32 pad in previous session, not that you had configured it in config file.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 28 October 2020, 20:25   #7
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,564
Fixed. And crap posts deleted.
Toni Wilen is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Competition Pro CD32 joypad falls back to single-button joystick wairnair support.Hardware 12 27 July 2019 00:37
CD32 joypad blue button vs standard 2 button joystick jotd Coders. Asm / Hardware 6 08 May 2018 10:56
Joypad that's 100% compatible with CD32 Joypad? ancalimon Retrogaming General Discussion 26 15 September 2015 09:49
CD32 Joypad/joystick help JumpinJackSon support.Hardware 16 06 May 2015 10:36
don't remember the name turrican3 request.Apps 3 20 June 2007 14:29

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10514 seconds with 16 queries