English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 September 2001, 13:06   #1
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 50
Posts: 2,802
2 more games work now, on WinUAE

2 more games now work on the new WinUAE...
Kaiser, by Linel a pretty good strategy game in German,
and a strange Forgotten Worlds wanna be called Trained Assasain. Use BBTR Ecs 13 or A500 setup.
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 22 September 2001, 17:38   #2
7-Zark-7
Zone Friend
7-Zark-7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Brisbane/Australia
Posts: 1,241
Thumbs down

I know two titles I've never been able to get working on any version's of WinUAE.

1) Murder (U.S. Gold). I have yet to boot into the game from any version,(at least 3 or 4 I've downloaded), it always freezes after selecting the difficulty level, appearence of character etc.
The only thing that makes it weirder is the ONE time I had it working was from my own original version I turned into an ADF!!
Due to having only an old Celeron 266 I use WinUAE 08.8r8 for speed & no bugs/SFX issues, but have tried later versions to get this working but no luck so far.

2) Strip poker Pro/Hollywood poker pro. I've been able to get to the title screen but it always corrupts in game. I remember the music was a damm site better than the models were!!

For the curious WinUAE 08.17r1 works great on a Celeron 266 128MB Ram-if you also enjoy watching Titanic on frame advance on your VCR!!
7-Zark-7 is offline  
Old 23 September 2001, 02:19   #3
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Quote:
The only thing that makes it weirder is the ONE time I had it working was from my own original version I turned into an ADF!!
If you still have the ADF, I'd appreciate it very much if you uploaded it. Original versions rule! All cheats work, no intros are replaced by crack intros and there's no music cut away...
andreas is offline  
Old 23 September 2001, 17:16   #4
7-Zark-7
Zone Friend
7-Zark-7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Brisbane/Australia
Posts: 1,241
Hi Andreas! I'll have to have a look later to see if I've still got it on my hard drive, I might, but like I said earlier I've got a few different version's now, but I'll promise to help U out.
You forgot the one downside-manual-based copy protection!!
7-Zark-7 is offline  
Old 23 September 2001, 17:24   #5
Amigaboy
 
Posts: n/a
mmmmm. Manual based copy protections....My favourites

Haven't worked on 20000 leagues too much yet cause I've been busy, and will be for a few days....Hopefully I'll figure it out (but this one seems unlikely....but I shall keep trying) ..... If anyone was wondering
 
Old 23 September 2001, 18:17   #6
Amigaboy
 
Posts: n/a
Sweeeeet. It's been uploaded. Thanks 7-Zark-7!
 
Old 23 September 2001, 18:42   #7
7-Zark-7
Zone Friend
7-Zark-7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Brisbane/Australia
Posts: 1,241
Big grin

No prob's everyone-glad to be of service!! If anyone can get it to work,(again), on WinUAE 08.8r8 let me know,or a later version, post the config please!
My apologies to FredtGreat for this going slightly off topic, but anyone else with tips to get these old games working are always welcome!!
7-Zark-7 is offline  
Old 23 September 2001, 22:14   #8
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 50
Posts: 2,802
No apologies needed. I think this thread should be about ANY game that was unemulateable on WinUAE , but now works on the latest release.
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 23 September 2001, 22:27   #9
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Thanks VERY much, 7-Zark-7
Another precious original on my HD
andreas is offline  
Old 24 September 2001, 01:13   #10
Warlock99
Webmaster of AmigaRarities
Warlock99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Liverpool / UK
Age: 47
Posts: 222
Murder

Murder used to work on a really old version of winuae, so i'm surprised there's problems now.
Warlock99 is offline  
Old 24 September 2001, 04:38   #11
Amigaboy
 
Posts: n/a
bleh....Murder was also easy

Everything I say now will be done on a PC using the ADF 7-Zark-7 posted to the zone

Just get yourself a hex editor (if you're using an Amiga and an actual disk, get yourself a sector editor)

1) Open up hex editor
2) Load ADF file into hex editor
3) Do a hex search for $B011670000
4) Once this is found, change it to $B0006700
5) Save.....Done!

Enjoy it 7-Zark-7 (and anyone else that hates pulling out their manual everytime they want to play a game)
 
Old 26 September 2001, 15:57   #12
7-Zark-7
Zone Friend
7-Zark-7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Brisbane/Australia
Posts: 1,241
Murder is still proving to be a very difficult game to get working. I have managed to get it twice in the past few days to boot into the game itself under WinUAE 08.8r8 but it's being very erratic about how it's doing it.

It even difficult to get a rough idea of configs. It seems to need Approx A500 speed,512k chip, 512k Slow,& 1mb fast ram. But it won't work with the differing 1.3 kickstarts I've got, but has worked under my A600HD kickstart of 2.05,(or 2.04??). Ironic as it was never A600/ECS compatible!! Oh & you need to use double lines,not Scanlines.
Even with that jumble of settings I still only got it occasionally working, anyone with a config set??
7-Zark-7 is offline  
Old 26 September 2001, 16:00   #13
Amigaboy
 
Posts: n/a
I only tried it very quickly in WinUAE and it didn't worked

I tried it on WinFellow and it worked straight away though
 
Old 27 September 2001, 00:13   #14
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 50
Posts: 2,802
Thats what I say, Amigaboy...if it all else fails, try good ol' Winfellow. Although, many games that never worked in WinUAE before now do with the superb new release.
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 27 September 2001, 12:01   #15
MethodGit
Junior Member
MethodGit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Streets
Age: 34
Posts: 2,729
Quote:
Originally posted by Amigaboy
Just get yourself a hex editor (if you're using an Amiga and an actual disk, get yourself a sector editor)
Well, perhaps you could recommend a decent hex editor that does the job easily?
MethodGit is offline  
Old 27 September 2001, 12:14   #16
Amigaboy
 
Posts: n/a
I recommend ftp://de.aminet.net/pub/aminet/disk/moni/HexED.lha

But. If you want an easy approach, then forget it. All hex editors operate the same, so if you have trouble applying the patch, then don't bother. Stick to playing the games...not patching them

----

Btw - That's an Amiga Hex editor I pointed you to there. For a PC one, just do a search for "Hex Editor" at Google.
 
Old 27 September 2001, 19:07   #17
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
My fave PC hex editor is Cygnus HEX Editor. I think it has something to do with Amiga CygnusED (then again I could be completely wrong )
Akira is offline  
Old 28 September 2001, 03:17   #18
Amigaboy
 
Posts: n/a
My favourite PC Hex Editor is Hackers View (It absolutely rocks), but I didn't want to mention it for a couple of reasons:

1) It's DOS, so many will have no idea how to use it...No GUI for you!

2) Alot of people use it and think they're hackers. It's a freakin hex editor!
 
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why do some games work in WINUAE and not on real Amiga? Kenan support.Games 29 09 June 2013 00:00
Does WinUAE 2.5.1 Work? Sim085 support.WinUAE 16 05 May 2013 18:54
Win7 Ultimate x64 WinUAE 2.2 some games don't work dorfmopp support.WinUAE 9 14 September 2010 17:56
WinUAE: Games using "track 80" do not work?! Flachkoepper support.WinUAE 11 29 December 2004 21:28
Games, demos, programs what dont work with WinUAE trodas support.WinUAE 56 26 February 2003 00:51

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08725 seconds with 13 queries