English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 February 2017, 07:51   #101
Retro1234
Bo Bo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 3,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anakirob View Post
I recall reading about this in Amiga Power (in more than one issue of the magazine too I think). They wanted to do the parallax backdrops, and were planning on using the same data the SNES version used. But it came down to a choice of dual-playfield or 50Hz screen update. And after much debate they opted for the higher framerate over the extra graphics as the developers felt it was a better game that way.
This issue http://amr.abime.net/review_18239 they talk about two versions one with a larger screen and one with a smaller screen and parallax........
Retro1234 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 14 March 2018, 00:24   #102
AmigaBoy
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: 19 Jump Street
Posts: 227
I've gotta bump this thread to say this is unreal. I love the Amiga version of The Addams Family, so the notion of possibly seeing the backgrounds added in is exciting. Probably won't happen, but exciting
AmigaBoy is offline  
Old 14 March 2018, 04:52   #103
albino
Registered User
albino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: france
Age: 39
Posts: 121
The amiga version is rush super famicom port...that's why they scrapped the background.

Once the nintendo game was done they came back at the amiga and rewrote the game

from the scratch with the snes version as model. They must had issues troughout the

devellopement and decided to cover the background for matter of time..

Like peter thierolf said about turrican 3 : The game would have been better if designed for the amiga not ported from the megadrive.

Last edited by albino; 14 March 2018 at 05:00.
albino is offline  
Old 22 July 2018, 02:34   #104
squirminator2k
Dream17 / PortsCenter guy
squirminator2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Age: 32
Posts: 225
Hello! I did a lot of research on this when I did the Addams Family episode of PortsCenter. Anikrob is correct - it came down to wanting the smoother graphics, but also because the background layer didn't actually scroll - i.e. it was a fixed, static layer - players of an early demo build that featured the backdrops complained that it was difficult to figure out where Gomez was visually when he was in freefall. For these reasons, the backdrop layer was nix'd and we got a solid backdrop.

The Amiga version also doesn't include the fencing sword or bouncy ball power-ups, IIRC.
squirminator2k is offline  
Old 22 July 2018, 13:55   #105
Retro1234
Bo Bo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 3,933
Even the developers talk about a version with parallax and when I put the background on the selection screen there was no problem seeing Gomez, I think it's more lack of resources it would have taken time to do special static backgrounds and mix with foreground just for the Amiga version, plus it would of increased the file size of the maps maybe to double.

....but who cares let's play Call of Duty.

Last edited by Retro1234; 22 July 2018 at 14:04.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 22 July 2018, 15:11   #106
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,564
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Seriously, they did the effort on the ST version, and not the amiga version.

Why ? Amiga 512kb, when all the other games at the same time used 1mb of ram.

The Amiga version is a pork and lazy job.

Just for the 2 cts, the SNES use a planar display, exactly like the Amiga..... And This game is not as complicated as a game like lionheart for example.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 22 July 2018, 19:59   #107
squirminator2k
Dream17 / PortsCenter guy
squirminator2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Age: 32
Posts: 225
I mean, the question has already been answered. It's been answered in this thread at least twice.

If you've ever actually played the ST version, you'll know that the backgrounds there don't actually scroll at all. They're fixed. They're also way too bright - backgrounds should ideally be darker so you don't lose your foreground characters.
squirminator2k is offline  
Old 23 July 2018, 03:00   #108
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,538
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
Just for the 2 cts, the SNES use a planar display, exactly like the Amiga..... And This game is not as complicated as a game like lionheart for example.
Not at all like the Amiga, you mean.

To begin with, the SNES has two graphics enabling free dual playfield.
idrougge is online now  
Old 23 July 2018, 07:14   #109
squirminator2k
Dream17 / PortsCenter guy
squirminator2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Age: 32
Posts: 225
Yeah, I'll never understand the "lazy port" arguments when the game is slick and smooth - certainly slicker and smoother than some other console ports (looking at you, TMNT). People get too hung up on those backdrops.
squirminator2k is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Addams Family Demo Kitty request.Demos 6 05 April 2011 05:54
Addams Family Graphics glitches MethodGit project.WHDLoad 8 16 April 2007 08:52
Flood II & Addams Family V1 7-Zark-7 project.aGTW 0 18 September 2005 17:30
Addams Family - Full Version Request jcmoorehead request.Old Rare Games 7 14 August 2003 13:02
English version of Addams Family dreamkatcha request.Old Rare Games 14 17 March 2002 13:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07207 seconds with 15 queries