English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.WHDLoad

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 December 2015, 01:58   #1
earok
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,842
List of WHDLoad slaves with enhanced joystick/joypad support

(Apologies, this list is unfinished, I'll try to tidy it up and finish it off over the next few days)


Here's an attempt to compile a list of all WHDLoad slaves that have added second button support (CD32 or Mega Drive pad etc), or have been updated in some way to be less keyboard dependant (eg Jaguar XJ220 has the ability to skip the language selection screen). Please let me know what's missing or incorrect on the list.

Thanks to everyone who pointed out missing entries!
  1. 1943 Bomb and menu controls
  2. Aaargh (Arcadia) Second button support, keyboard still required for arcade actions?
  3. Action Fighter Pause, abort and quit controls
  4. After the War Full joystick control for CD32
  5. Agony 2-button joystick support (displays spells like spacebar)
  6. Aladdin Extensive CD32 pad support
  7. Alien 3 Space bar weapon change has been remapped to CD32/Megadrive Joypads
  8. Alien Breed Extensive CD32 pad support
  9. Alien Storm Support for smart bomb, pause, quit, abort and skip level
  10. Anarchy Support for smart bomb, pause, quit and abort
  11. Another World 2nd/blue joystick button can be used alongside to "C" to enter a code
  12. Aquanaut Cycle weapons, quit, pause and abort
  13. Astro Marine Corps Support for second fire button (grenades)
  14. Baal Display, refuel, weapons modes, quit, pause and abort
  15. Ballistix Second button support to access to option screens
  16. Bart Vs The World Trainer options, pause, quit and abort
  17. Battle Squadron Menu options
  18. Blastaball (Arcadia) Two button joystick control (keyboard still required for arcade controls)
  19. Bloodwych General CD32 pad support
  20. Car Vup Special weapon, pause, brake, quit
  21. Cavemania Blue button for jump
  22. Chuck Rock Jump, pause, quit, trainer options
  23. Commando Pause, quit, trainer options
  24. Cosmic Spacehead Selecting command
  25. Creatures Pause, quit, trainer options
  26. Count Duckula Quit, pause, abort options
  27. Crackdown Quit, pause, super bomb, abort, center
  28. Cybernoid
  29. Cybernoid 2
  30. Damage
  31. Defenders of the Earth Extensive CD32 pad support
  32. Demon Blue
  33. Dennis
  34. Desert Strike
  35. Dizzy Panic
  36. Dyna Blaster Extensive pad support, including remote bomb and trainer
  37. Elf
  38. Gauntlet 2
  39. Ghosts 'n' Goblins 2nd button for jump, added throwing back while jumping abitity
  40. Giana Sisters
  41. Golden Axe
  42. Gold of the Aztecs
  43. Fighting Soccer Extensive CD32 pad support
  44. Fire and Brimstone
  45. Flashback
  46. Harlequin
  47. Heroes of the Lance
  48. Hong Kong Phooey
  49. Horror Zombies from the Crypt
  50. Hybris
  51. Immortal Second button controls
  52. Jaguar XJ220
  53. Kid Gloves 2
  54. Killing Game Show
  55. Legacy
  56. Lionheart
  57. Lionheart Demo
  58. Mega Lo Mania
  59. Mega Twins
  60. Menace
  61. Midnight Resistance
  62. New Zealand Story
  63. Ninja Mission (Arcadia) 2nd button support for sword attack
  64. North and South
  65. Ork
  66. Pegasus
  67. Project X Special Edition
  68. Rainbow Islands
  69. Road Wars (Arcadia)
  70. Ruff N Tumble
  71. RVF Honda
  72. Satan Second button support
  73. Shadow of the Beast 3 Extensive CD32 pad support
  74. Shinobi
  75. Silkworm Two button control for Jeep
  76. Skull and Crossbones
  77. Slam Tilt
  78. Snow Bros
  79. Space Assault Extensive CD32 pad support, including smart bomb
  80. Storm Lord
  81. SWIV
  82. Teenage Mutant Hero Turtles (Mirrorsoft/Probe)
  83. Thexder Second button activates shield
  84. Time Soldier
  85. Toki
  86. Toobin
  87. Treasure Island Dizzy
  88. Virtual Karting 2
  89. Vixen
  90. Watchtower
  91. Xenon
  92. Yo Joe
  93. Zool
  94. Z-Out Extra pad controls for player 1

Last edited by earok; 24 June 2018 at 11:36.
earok is offline  
Old 10 December 2015, 10:29   #2
liviux76
Registered User

liviux76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: BO/Italy
Posts: 711
Great list, thanks.
I think that R-Type and R-Type 2 as well support 2 buttons.
liviux76 is offline  
Old 26 December 2015, 00:07   #3
Solo Kazuki
Registered User
Solo Kazuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 263
Ghosts 'n Goblins - 2nd button for jump, added throwing back while jumping abitity
Ninja Mission (Arcadia) - 2nd button support for sword attack
Solo Kazuki is offline  
Old 26 December 2015, 02:53   #4
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 35
Posts: 2,957
R-Type 2 had 2 button support without WHDLoad, it's built in the game.

For some reason none of my Mega-Drive pads work with WHDLoad, the 2nd button doesn't work. Even with games that ORIGINALLY supported 2 button pads like R-Type 2 and Apidya. (Though R-Type 2 sometimes work, sometimes doesn't, I dunno why. Apidya I could never make work )
Shatterhand is offline  
Old 26 December 2015, 07:25   #5
earok
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solo Kazuki View Post
Ghosts 'n Goblins - 2nd button for jump, added throwing back while jumping abitity
Ninja Mission (Arcadia) - 2nd button support for sword attack
Thanks mate
earok is offline  
Old 26 December 2015, 13:26   #6
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,190
Aladdin

- CD32 joypad buttons supported. Now fighting, jump and throw apples is mapped to the joypad. Plus the typical quit/some trainer options via pad.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 26 December 2015, 13:44   #7
earok
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Aladdin

- CD32 joypad buttons supported. Now fighting, jump and throw apples is mapped to the joypad. Plus the typical quit/some trainer options via pad.
Whoops. Stupid of me to neglect that one
earok is offline  
Old 26 December 2015, 15:58   #8
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,645
This 2-button thing has no end: it seems to depend on the joystick. The code to read the 2nd button is also mysteriously randomly working/not working.
Same thing goes for CD32 pad / honeybeed and the infamous "tst.b $bfee01" routine that works mostly on CD32 but not on all amigas. Been fighting a while with this, and kind of gave it up.

If you want to see some other slaves with 2nd button support submit a mantis bug (please tag it with "2nd button")
ATM 9 items in the base:

FirstSamurai
SecondSamurai
Ziriax
ChuckRock2
Stardust
MoonshineRacers
GhoulsNGhosts
UniversalWarrior
Silkworm
jotd is offline  
Old 27 December 2015, 00:40   #9
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 35
Posts: 2,957
The real weird thing is when it doesn't work with games that need no WHDLoad to support 2 button. R-Type 2 and Apidya both worked with my 2 button stick back in 1992 on my A600 with no WHDload or anything, and they aren't working with WHDLoad.

Quote:
Ghosts 'n Goblins - 2nd button for jump, added throwing back while jumping abitity
Throwing back while jumping make the amiga version near arcade-perfect. Whoever did this deserves a medal
Shatterhand is offline  
Old 27 December 2015, 11:55   #10
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,645
Have you tried with NOVBRMOVE?
Could be an interrupt problem. If it works like this, would be worth telling Bert
jotd is offline  
Old 27 December 2015, 13:17   #11
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 35
Posts: 2,957
No, don't even know what "NOVBRMOVE" is
Shatterhand is offline  
Old 27 December 2015, 13:40   #12
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,645
A tooltype/switch for whdload.
It prevents WHDLoad to install a relocated VBR which monitors/redirects to original vector table.
Without it, no debugkey, sometimes no quitkey, no monitoring, but also less interferences.

ex command line

whdload rtype.slave PRELOAD NOVBRMOVE

Ghost n Goblins jump&turn: that would be me
jotd is offline  
Old 27 December 2015, 14:31   #13
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 35
Posts: 2,957
I'll try that later.

For now, here is your medal:


Shatterhand is offline  
Old 28 December 2015, 15:54   #14
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 35
Posts: 2,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post

If you want to see some other slaves with 2nd button support submit a mantis bug (please tag it with "2nd button")
Is this ok ?

http://mantis.whdload.de/view.php?id=3344
Shatterhand is offline  
Old 28 December 2015, 18:18   #15
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 35
Posts: 2,957
I formatted my CF and installed the new version of WHDLoad.

It seems like the 2nd button is working OK with this new version.

In the other hand, R-Type 2, Mortal Kombat and Apidya which used to work is not working (Apidya gave me a lot of static instead of the great music in the title, then crashed before loading the 1st level. Mortal Kombat crashed before showing up anything, R-Type 2 showed me 3 fading in-fading out white screens, then crashed).

I still have to find out if I did something wrong when installing stuff (I put all the Kickstarts files I used to have on the devs:kickstart folder), or if this new version is more troublesome for my setup indeed.
Shatterhand is offline  
Old 28 December 2015, 18:20   #16
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,190
A lot of games needs Fastram. So get a turbocard or at least a small memory expansion. Mortal Kombat e.g. needs 1 MB Chipram and additional 2 MB for preload.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 28 December 2015, 18:24   #17
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 35
Posts: 2,957
This is new? Because it used to work on my old version of WHDLoad. All those games were working on the previous version I had (which I believe was very old)
Shatterhand is offline  
Old 28 December 2015, 18:25   #18
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,190
Mortal Kombat too?
Quote:
REQUIREMENTS: - Slave requires WHDLoad V10+. - Disk game requires 1Mb chip mem (+1.95Mb other memory for preload option)

Quote:
I formatted my CF and installed the new version of WHDLoad.
Have you set the proper Max Transfer value of 1fe00 after the format? Otherwise you get corrupted files and most games won't work anymore.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 28 December 2015 at 18:33.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 28 December 2015, 18:33   #19
Retro1234
Bo Bo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 3,988
I wouldn't use your MD pad anymore get a known working pad and check and make sure your not shorting anything.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 28 December 2015, 18:39   #20
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 35
Posts: 2,957
Yeah, I loaded Mortal Kombat before. But I didn't use the preload option.

No, don't even know what Max Transfer is or how I do setup it up. Do I need to copy the games again after I change this setting ?
Shatterhand is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Providing 2 fire button support / cd32 joypad support amigapd request.Other 0 13 July 2015 18:20
CD32 WHDLoad-slaves and mp3? thanius project.WHDLoad 2 07 February 2011 08:49
Running WHDLoad slaves under Opus 4.x plankton support.Apps 1 28 November 2009 01:07
Idea for a new feature in whdload/slaves JohnnyBeGood project.WHDLoad 11 29 July 2009 19:48
Problematic slaves list keropi project.Killergorilla's WHD packs 44 28 November 2008 13:46

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09647 seconds with 13 queries