English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 April 2018, 13:41   #361
katarakt
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeteAU View Post
I populated the real time clock and with a bit of minimal testing, it appears to work The clock is completely optional of course, you don't need to bother with it if you don't want one.

The parts list for RTC:
U5 or U6: RTC62421/RTC72421/RTC62423/RTC72423
C10 or R7: 47K-100K 0805 resistor (yes a resistor!)
C12: 100nF 0805 capacitor
C13 or C19: >=2.2μF >=10V 0805 or 1206 tantalum
R1, R2, R3: 10K 0805 resistor
R4, R5: 220-470 0805 resistor
D1: BAT721C or BAT54C diode
Battery Holder: Some cheap ebay one.
I see you have used a quartz at Y1 and somewhere here i've read that this is not necessary, so i haven't paid much attention to it...is it better to use a quartz anyway if using RTC 62421A ? All ramexpansions i see are using a quartz
katarakt is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 30 April 2018, 10:53   #362
PeteAU
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by katarakt View Post
I see you have used a quartz at Y1 and somewhere here i've read that this is not necessary, so i haven't paid much attention to it...is it better to use a quartz anyway if using RTC 62421A ? All ramexpansions i see are using a quartz
Nope! RTC 62421A has a quartz crystal built-in.
PeteAU is offline  
Old 01 May 2018, 22:14   #363
8 Bit Dreams
Retro maniac

8 Bit Dreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: near Munich / Germany
Posts: 278
have built 68030 TK accelerator designed by Matze, also done Pete's Trapdoor expansion with GARY adapter.
Was very exited to test it, and here we are:








As You can see - memory is recognised correctly, works very nice! Really like it! Good job, PeteAU!! This setup allows to run a LOT of games!

Last edited by 8 Bit Dreams; 01 May 2018 at 22:40.
8 Bit Dreams is offline  
Old 04 May 2018, 13:41   #364
Mathesar
Registered User

Mathesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 132
Nice machine you have there!
Mathesar is offline  
Old 04 May 2018, 15:57   #365
sampedenawa
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: IT
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8 Bit Dreams View Post
have built 68030 TK accelerator designed by Matze, also done Pete's Trapdoor expansion with GARY adapter.
Where did you buy the 68030 and the FPU ?
Ain't easy to get ones for me
sampedenawa is offline  
Old 04 May 2018, 16:18   #366
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,530
Quote:
Originally Posted by sampedenawa View Post
Where did you buy the 68030 and the FPU ?
Ain't easy to get ones for me
You could buy one of these and pull the CPU from it:
https://icomp.de/shop-icomp/en/shop/...t/ACA12xx.html
demolition is offline  
Old 04 May 2018, 16:24   #367
alenppc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Age: 38
Posts: 732
You can buy them easily on ebay.
alenppc is offline  
Old 04 May 2018, 16:45   #368
sampedenawa
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: IT
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by alenppc View Post
You can buy them easily on ebay.
Humm, not so easily for me:

https://www.ebay.it/sch/i.html?_odkw...030RC&_sacat=0

Lots of craps, fakes, untested .... can't afford 30-40€ each try ....

Any known reliable source ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
You could buy one of these and pull the CPU from it:
https://icomp.de/shop-icomp/en/shop/...t/ACA12xx.html
Could be a cheaper solution, indeed.
sampedenawa is offline  
Old 05 May 2018, 20:58   #369
8 Bit Dreams
Retro maniac

8 Bit Dreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: near Munich / Germany
Posts: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathesar View Post
Nice machine you have there!
Thanks Mathesar!
It is possible because of Your GARY adapter and PeteAU's board.. Really great job !
I am very pleased how this setup works. Thank You very much guy's!
Quote:
Originally Posted by sampedenawa View Post
Where did you buy the 68030 and the FPU ?
Ain't easy to get ones for me
Yes, indeed, prices are risen since TF530 was released, but this setup allows me to play WHDLoad and i can forget about floppy's, so i am ready to pay 35€ for CPU...
8 Bit Dreams is offline  
Old 14 May 2018, 14:33   #370
MalleB
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Berlin Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 4
Hello,

I have equipped my first memory board with a memory chip IS41C16100S-50K.
Unfortunately, I always get a green screen on all mainboard variants.
The memory chip will probably not be the right type.
I thought 1M x 16 (16MBIT) DYNAMIC RAM WITH EDO PAGE MODE is OK.

Here is the datasheet:
http://www.alldatasheet.com/datashee...6100S-50K.html




Last edited by MalleB; 14 May 2018 at 14:47.
MalleB is offline  
Old 14 May 2018, 14:39   #371
Mq
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Poznan/Poland
Posts: 73
Check pins 4,6,10,17, they looks like not soldered properly, but it's not good visible on the picture. Green screen apears when there is bad soldering on one or more lines or when there are short circuits between two or more lines. Use magnifying glass, and take a look on every pins soldering carefuly.
Mq is offline  
Old 14 May 2018, 14:54   #372
MalleB
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Berlin Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 4
Can I measure short circuits between the PINs with a multimeter?
MalleB is offline  
Old 14 May 2018, 15:30   #373
Mq
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Poznan/Poland
Posts: 73
Yes, short circuits between the pins can be checked with a multimeter. But there are often bad soldering too, so use magnifying glass. Sometimes everything looks good, but soldering is not good.

About the pins numbers I previously recommend You to check: on the previous picture it looks like no soldering was on them, but on the second picture I see it was light reflexes.

Last edited by Mq; 14 May 2018 at 15:35.
Mq is offline  
Old 14 May 2018, 20:34   #374
MalleB
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Berlin Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 4
Pin 22 and 23 had a short circuit (GND and A4)
Now it works as slowram.

@ Mq, thank you for the hint.
Visually, the solder joints looked good to me.
But the measurement with the multimeter showed the short circuit.

NC on pin 11 and 12 had me confused, but the data sheet brought the resolution.
MalleB is offline  
Old 14 May 2018, 22:25   #375
Mq
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Poznan/Poland
Posts: 73
No problem:-) I'm glad I could help You:-)
I built seven such extensions for myself and my friends, and one board with sockets for memory chips testing:-)
At the beginning I did many mistakes, but last three or four extensions I could soldering with closed eyes:-)
Mq is offline  
Old 15 May 2018, 22:42   #376
watman
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Poland
Posts: 10
AS an owner of Mq-made board I can tell that it's perfect, so he knows what he's talking about
watman is offline  
Old 17 May 2018, 21:03   #377
katarakt
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 49
I've done a mega-test with some different drives with Flood. It's very strange, mybe my amiga has a problem or there's really something strange going on. All drives are reworked to amiga-compatible:

Flood works with:

Samsung SFD-321B /MACT Rev. M2

Flood doesn't work with:

Samsung SFD-321B /EZ Rev. S2

Now, you can verify with exactly the same drives. Both drives have a real ready signal but one is working with Flood and the other one not.
katarakt is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Modern Trapdoor RAM killed my A500 Silwuff New to Emulation or Amiga scene 10 15 August 2016 09:29
Homemade A500 trapdoor expansion? cabal Hardware mods 5 01 December 2014 21:44
WTB: two(2) A500 trapdoor slot covers papa_november MarketPlace 0 25 December 2008 09:17
Trapdoor expansion options for A500 Impakt support.Hardware 7 20 March 2008 06:05
A500 Plus Trapdoor Expansion TheCorfiot support.Hardware 10 14 March 2008 16:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09104 seconds with 15 queries